Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful version of the Nativity
I find this poem easy to read to grandchildren, this is a delightful, subtle re-telling of the story of the birth of Jesus
Published 10 months ago by Valerie Chapman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Christmas poem
Illustrations are very good but I was disappointed in the poem. It did not meet my expectations for a poem from the Poet Laureate. I thought the price of the book was too high for its content.
Published 8 months ago by Avril


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful version of the Nativity, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bethlehem: A Christmas Poem (Hardcover)
I find this poem easy to read to grandchildren, this is a delightful, subtle re-telling of the story of the birth of Jesus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas poem, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bethlehem: A Christmas Poem (Hardcover)
I bought 3 copies for both young and old. It is Beautifully written and illustrated.
A perfect Night before Christmas pressie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bethlehem: A Christmas Poem, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bethlehem: A Christmas Poem (Hardcover)
Heard this read at a Christmas Carol Service. It is a beautiful poem. The illustrations are lovely. It is a piece written for today but still captures the very essence of the Nativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great things in Little Packages, 11 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: Bethlehem: A Christmas Poem (Hardcover)
Some wonderful illustrations by Alice Stevenson, the little lights in the windows of the homes I loved. The poem itself touches the spirit of Christmas and the atmosphere of the night itself. I only held back a star as it was very expensive for the very little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful poem, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bethlehem: A Christmas Poem (Hardcover)
This is a great little book. The poem is in the form of a story. Wonderfully created and brilliantly illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is magical, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bethlehem: A Christmas Poem (Hardcover)
This little book is perfection.Carol Ann Duffy makes me cry with her ability to create such beauty with the way she touches language and makes it magical. Please read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Christmas poem, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bethlehem: A Christmas Poem (Hardcover)
Illustrations are very good but I was disappointed in the poem. It did not meet my expectations for a poem from the Poet Laureate. I thought the price of the book was too high for its content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bethlehem: A Christmas Poem (Hardcover)
Perfect for Christmas time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not For Kindle, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bethlehem (Kindle Edition)
Carol Ann Duffy's poem is everything you'd expect from her. No complaints there. The illustrations are probably pretty good too. The only problem is, I can hardly see them on my Kindle and, to add insult to injury, they're in black and white. That's especially disappointing given that this book is 95% illustration. I didn't actually count the number of lines of poetry but there can't be more than 30 or so and I read the whole thing in about three minutes. Not what I was expecting from a supposedly 48-page book, even for £0.99!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not rateable!, 31 Dec 2013
This review is from: Bethlehem (Kindle Edition)
Would love to be able to review this poem but my kindle says it is not compatible with my device! Troubleshooting page doesn't offer an option to do anything about it. Do I get a refund please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bethlehem: A Christmas Poem
Bethlehem: A Christmas Poem by Carol Ann Duffy (Hardcover - 24 Oct 2013)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews