Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darn, That's the End
Herriot brings his series to a close with more of the same (wonderful) stuff. Included in this volume are accounts of not one but two trips abroad with cargoes of pedigreed livestock. The volume ends with Siegfried's pronouncement, "James, there are great days ahead!"
Published on 9 Nov 1998

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The intended finale to Herriot's work
Until the disappointing "Every Little Thing" appeared shortly before his death in 1995, this was the last book by Yorkshire vet to hit the bestseller lists, in 1981. With the assurance and style honed over his preceding novels, James Herriot takes us through some of the highlights of his post-war years, reflecting on new treatments and lifestyles gradually...
Published on 2 Nov 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Animal Magic, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another book by James Herriot that you just want to read over and over again, he explains his wonderful work as a vet,
in such detail, you almost feel as if your there with him. His everlasting love for all the animals in his care, and his love
for all the hard work he tells of in every chapter is a real pleasure to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great pick me up read, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
James Herriot books are great pick me ups. Laugh out loud tales that you can envisage as you read. Funny!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book !, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always loved the tv series and reading the book is just as good. Have read it many times and still love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my book of the week, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
one of the most interesting books i have ever read, good fun and keeps me amused for hours, would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just James, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
James Herriot ... says it all! Beautiful stories. Enjoyable read.

If you've read any of his books before you will enjoy this one. If you haven't - treat yourself!

UK readers. You might have read this compilation under different names.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Again, lovely stories that I love, they are so well written, this book takes me back to another age that I remember we'll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent read, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always loved James Herriot. An easy light hearted read. So glad I can get them on kindle. Never tire of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IT WAS A VET'S LIFE, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like many people I watched the series on tv. and theoughly enjoyed it. The book is really entertaining and easy to read. I would recommend it to anyone who watched the series. It brought back memories and I only wish it was on tv now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord God Made Them All, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another fabulous book from the master story teller. His love of animals and Yorkshire come out from every page. Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just a lovely book, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. James Pilgrim "Jimbo" (South Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We had a hard copy of this but as it was one of our favourites, we wanted it on our Kindle Paperwhite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews