Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars61
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2005
This book is the last book written by James Herriot - actually James Alfred Wight (1916-95). James, a native of Glasgow, Scotland, qualified as a veterinarian at 23 years of age, and quickly fell with his new location of Yorkshire. Beginning in 1970, James began to write books, reaching into his years of experience as a vet, and spinning out enthralling and entertaining stories of things that did happen and things that might have happened on the Yorkshire Dales.
As I said, this book was James's last, being published in 1992. In it, we read adventures of a country vet, doing battle against disease, hypochondriac pet-owners, uncooperative animals, the weather, other vets, and...just about everything. This is another great James Herriot - All Creatures book, one that I loved as much as the earlier books. If you like good storytelling, or are interested in veterinarians, then you will love this book. It is a gently humorous story that is sure to entertain all. I highly recommend it!
11 comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2002
James Herriot has not failed his reading public with these wonderful stories. There are the many familiar characters as well as new ones especially the veterinary assistants employed by the growing practice. I found it particularly interesting how he compares modern veterinary drugs and treatments with the ones he used when he was a young vet and how the farming world of even this quiet seemingly untouched part of Britain is changing. But all the best ingredients which have made his books loved throughout the world, the warmth, the concern for all living things and a quirky, British humour are to be found in this last book.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 June 2004
The late Alf Wight aka James Herriot left a legacy of books that excites readers to this day (and I presume will do so for decades more.) His gentle, self-deprecating style of humor and the portraits of the Yorkshire Dales farmers and country people are amusing and interesting.
The four books, named after a hymn "All Creatures Great and Small" are joined by this fifth volume with similar stories. James (as Alf called himself) now has his own practice in Skeldale House, is married with two kids. The stories are very similar to the first four, with goof-ups, miracles, and funny tales. Somehow, these stories are not quite as hilarious as the first set, possibly because Mr. Herriot had written up most of the good stuff, or to represent the seriousness of raising two kids and having his own practice and being a settled man rather than a raw youth just out on his own.
Nonetheless, if you lapped up all the "Creature" books, as I did, and you mourn the loss of Dr. Wight, who passed away in the 90's, then you will want to read these stories and vicariously enjoy more of the daily life of a country vet
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
Another brilliantly written book from James Herriot, with many very funny, sometimes sad tales of his life as a vet in the
Yorkshire Dales. His stories are so interesting and portray his love of animals in every chapter. This book is one of my
personal favourites, but all his books are timeless and I read them all over and over again.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
I'd never read a James Herriot novel before and, as this was on a 99p offer, thought I'd give it a try. I was not disappointed. He's one of those authors you immediately feel at home with, thanks to his almost conversational style. It's as if he's telling the story to the reader alone. A few words of description and you feel as if you're in the scene with the author. May have been my first James Herriot book but certainly won't be the last. Excellent.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
This is my second time of reading the 8 books in the James Herriot saga, and I found them just as amusing - sad and enthralling as the first time. I would recommend them to anyone. HOWEVER! The first time I read them in paperback and I would give them 5 stars anyday. This version on e-book form is given only 4 stars due to the appalling errors in basic proof reading. The spelling mistakes and bad grammar in ALL eight books was unbelievable, especially the spelling. Whoever transferred this series to e-books should be ashamed, especially as there is a wonderful gadget called spellchecker available.
It did spoil the read somewhat, but, don't be put off reading this series. You can't help but enjoy them - just have a laugh at the mistakes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
Yet another interesting and amusing book. Such great descriptions. A book that you can lift up and put down without being concerned about losing your place. Comfort reading!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
Not as good as I seem to remember other James Herriot books from a few years ago, but a pleasant enough read on a cold wet day.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
As all his books, not a disappointment in the whole book! Brilliant! Read it on the Eurostar to Paris, kept me entertained!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
The only drawback with PHinn's books I read them to fast fin it difficult to put down.I'ts time to order another one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)