Customer Reviews


229 Reviews
5 star:
 (153)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far fetched in places
A good read from start to finish, but there were places where I wondered why I was still reading it. Two Westerners travelling through North Korea with a guide and not being noticed as different? An American helicopter flying off a warship through a heavily militarised country and no air alert either on the way in or way out? Other than that - fast paced and different...
Published 7 months ago by Avid reader

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Implausible but fun
A good action adventure with Will Robie and Jessica Reel although it is most implausible. I thought the political connotations were exaggerated and a bit too sugary where North Koreans have the impression that New Yorkers smile all the time as it is such a great place and evidently Utopia. This didn’t overly distract from the story which was fast flowing and...
Published 6 months ago by Clive


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Implausible but fun, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good action adventure with Will Robie and Jessica Reel although it is most implausible. I thought the political connotations were exaggerated and a bit too sugary where North Koreans have the impression that New Yorkers smile all the time as it is such a great place and evidently Utopia. This didn’t overly distract from the story which was fast flowing and thrilling, but it was far from a classic from Baldacci. I also predict a new hit-girl series with Julie Getty and Min, but hopefully Baldacci will resist the editors demands to churn this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far fetched in places, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read from start to finish, but there were places where I wondered why I was still reading it. Two Westerners travelling through North Korea with a guide and not being noticed as different? An American helicopter flying off a warship through a heavily militarised country and no air alert either on the way in or way out? Other than that - fast paced and different story lines running.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Liked it, but hang on to the seat of your pants!, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is Baldacci’s third Robie and Reel novel and, as they say, it’s good but not great. I liked it but found it a little disjointed – there are so many thrills and spills packed in here that it’s a little head-spinning. And it’s helpful to have read the previous novel in the series, The Hit.

There’s Reel and her father, the US president and North Korea, the CIA and Reel, Neo-Nazis, Robie and Reel …

However, there are some interesting themes: the increasing age of the main characters and the physicality of the job is becoming an issue for both of them; the paranoia in North Korea and the strains of blind loyalty to the Supreme Leader; the strains of loyalty in a ‘free’ society such as America where, however, the CIA agents must do as they are told …

Essentially the three plots resolve Reel and her father, her connections to Neo-Nazis, the president and CIA mucking around in North Korean politics, the CIA trying to break Reel and Robie, internal North Korean politics and society, and the very human cost of loyalty in North Korea.

And we meet someone even better at killing than Robie and Reel: Chung-Cha, a survivor of North Korea’s concentration camps who is a Ninja-style assassin par excellence. And, quite likeable, for her quiet internal revolution …

I liked the book… but the amount of action is along the lines of Mission Impossible…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What is David Baldacci doing.....?, 9 May 2014
By 
A. F. Prestwich (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Target (Will Robie Series) (Hardcover)
The first Robie book was an excellent start; the second had its moments but was pushing credibility too far which spoilt the emergence of Jessica Reel, now "The Target" does it all over again. Baldacci is an excellent author but at times you would think he is writing under pressure to deliver so many books in a given time frame and as a consequence the quality has diminished alarmingly. I enjoyed the book by blanking out sections which will sound strange but I think you have to or you wonder what is the author up to. The starting plot is excellent and well written; the move to North Korea equally good, even the side plot with the neo-Nazis was interesting until the outcome when once again the hero just seems to have access to anyone and everything to secure a result. It marginally got back on track with the original theme and then out of the blue they are off to a rescue mission deep inside North Korea with an ex-pat who just happened along and was willing to ‘help’; the whole episode was so poor it ruined the remainder of the book. I can accept a lot of literary licence but Baldacci is over doing it and ruining it for two potentially interesting characters. He did the same with his Maxwell and King and John Pullen books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Readable, but not Baldacci's finest work, 29 April 2014
By 
Peter Trebilcock (Salisbury) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book didn't really hang together for me; it seemed rather disjointed. There are two stories here (related only by commonality of the two principal characters, Will Robie and Jessica Reel) and a lot of padding. In my opinion, it would have worked better if it was cut down to a pair of novellas.

In spite of that, it's a perfectly readable book, and I had no problem reading through to the end. It's a decent enough way to pass a few hours, but just rather a long way from being the best book I've ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensitive and entertaining, 20 Oct 2014
By 
Roy Brocklebank (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First thing I would say is you should read Book 2 as much of this story refers back to characters from there.

Baldacci' s characterization is sensitive as he builds up the profile of both old and new characters. For those who want a well written, if somewhat implausible, thriller then this is it.

There is an underlying sexual tension that continues to develop but this never descends to the Mills and Boon genre; I will say no more to avoid spoiling the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cartoon rubbish, 17 May 2014
By 
A. W. Skinner (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Target (Will Robie Series) (Hardcover)
A paper-thin plot that does not stand up to any scrutiny, with paper-thin characters to go with it. Do not waste your money. Unutterable drivel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Did Baldacci really write this?, 25 Nov 2014
This review is from: The Target (Will Robie Series) (Hardcover)
I have to give this one star - there isn't an option for none.

It starts badly and then goes downhill.

Sadly, this was the worst book I have read for a long time. I enjoyed the first two Robies but this doesn't seem like a Baldacci at all. It gives me the impression that my favourite author has gone down the James Patterson route of lending his name to a ghost writer, in this case a first-time author.

It also seems that there has been no overall editing of this book which, at nearly 600 pages, is over-long and has no continuous plot-line, merely a number of them linked only by the two main protagonists who are barely believable superheroes. Sorry, I mean 'unbelievable'. Some bits of background information are repeated, for example the Korean killer's history of being brought up in a concentration camp, as if the author expects the reader to have no powers of retention.

The depiction of the President of the USA as a semi-moron and of the head of the CIA as a petty vengeful character has often been part of the opinion of the characters such as King and Maxwell in Baldacci books but in this one it is almost a given fact and is totally over-done. (I know many people think that, but that is just politics - no-one like these characters would reach such positions in the real world).

In past Baldaccis there has always been a good deal of exciting action and long such sequences. In this there is virtually none of it, in particular the 'rescue' from the concentration camp is laughably short and almost over before it has begun.

The other thing that is lacking is the humour - I for one (I know others don't) have always liked the humour and the debunking of pomposity in Baldacci books.

Finally, it's mis-named: there isn't one target but multiple ones and even then it's not clear who is the actual Target in each story (there are at least three or four separate stories herein).

I'm saddened to write this and just hope David Baldacci will disown this book and return to the humorous and exciting stories that have kept me enthralled over many years past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very poor storyline , not believable, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read all baldacchino books, this was the poorest. Poor storyline, not believable would almost think it was not written by david baldacci
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing..., 9 May 2014
By 
Robert J. Hutchings (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very disappointing read as I'm a big Baldacci fan & enjoyed the previous "Robie" books. I think these authors are pressured by their publishers to repeat a successful format & they rush out a story which went in different directions to stretch out the story & keep us interested. It failed..... Come on Mr Baldacci you can do far better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Target (Will Robie Series)
The Target (Will Robie Series) by David Baldacci (Hardcover - 24 April 2014)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews