Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars santa baby.......
Another great Rod Campbell book! I have given it 5 stars even though it borrows heavily from "Dear Zoo" and "My Presents".
Colourful, clear illustrations to appeal to toddlers, and good sturdy construction to withstand their manhandling. My best Christmassy buy for my 15 month old daughter.
Published on 3 Dec 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same
Money for old rope is the expression that springs to mind. Rod Campbell has a real niche in the lift-the-flap book market. His books have generally been very popular in our house so I ordered this to add to the collection.

Each page has a gift-wrapped flap with a picture of a present underneath. There is a small amount of text describing the present. If it...
Published on 8 July 2007 by Dr. H. Payne


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars santa baby......., 3 Dec 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Santa (Board book)
Another great Rod Campbell book! I have given it 5 stars even though it borrows heavily from "Dear Zoo" and "My Presents".
Colourful, clear illustrations to appeal to toddlers, and good sturdy construction to withstand their manhandling. My best Christmassy buy for my 15 month old daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, 8 July 2007
By 
Dr. H. Payne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Santa (Hardcover)
Money for old rope is the expression that springs to mind. Rod Campbell has a real niche in the lift-the-flap book market. His books have generally been very popular in our house so I ordered this to add to the collection.

Each page has a gift-wrapped flap with a picture of a present underneath. There is a small amount of text describing the present. If it wasn't for the illustrations of Christmas wrapping paper I would have thought I was re-reading "My Presents" which is fairly tedious to begin with.

Still, the children like it. It adds a small amount of variety when it's brought out in December with the other Christmas stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT STARTER BOOK FOR YOUNG CHILDREN!, 8 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Santa (Board book)
The two little boys I bought these books for loved them. They were pre-Christmas presents to keep them occupied whilst their mummies were busy preparing for Christmas after the children's usual activities had finished for the holidays. Apparently, they love the other books by Rod Campbell, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Christmas time, loved by toddlers, 9 Dec 2014
By 
This review is from: Dear Santa (Board book)
Dear Santa is similar in concept and shape to Dear Zoo and My Presents by the same author but repetition is that well known thing that works great with toddlers and all three of my children loved this book (and the other two) when they were toddler age (the youngest still does/is). The only ones to complain about them being similar would probably be the parents ;-)

Santa wraps up present after present and changes his mind until he finds the perfect one. We go through a car (too small), a kite (too big), a ball (too bouncy), a tiger mask (too scary), finger paints (too messy), trumpet (too noisy). But what is the perfect present then? You will find out on the last page. Great vocabulary builder with adjectives describing each prestent yet brief descriptions to keep a toddler's attention (1-3 short sentences per page). Clear and colourful illustrations that are attractive to toddlers.

This edition is a sturdy board book with a flap to lift on each page. The final present has a touch and feel when you lift the flap.

If it's your first lift-the-flap book by Rod Campbell you will love it. You will also like it if you don't mind similarity between this book and the others. Great in your library beside other Christmas themed books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lift the flaps, christmas book, 13 Dec 2011
This review is from: Dear Santa (Board book)
My granddaughter loves this little hardback book.
the flaps are differnt sizes, one on every other page.
The flaps are thick and strong, and under the last flat
is a furry ....
great book, would recomend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son loves it!, 22 April 2011
This review is from: Dear Santa (Board book)
My son loves lift-the-flap books and already had Dear Zoo so we chose this to get him ready for Christmas. Along with Spot's first Christmas he read Dear Santa every day in December and beyond. After a few unsupervised reading sessions he has managed to pull off some of the flaps but they were strong enough to be repaired quite well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Christmas Gift, 15 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. S. POLLARD (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dear Santa (Board book)
You just can't beat a Rod Campbell book! My little girl loves 'Dear Zoo' and this is the same format. Children can predict and sneak a peak at what present is wrapped up. The repetition in the text is easy to join in with and there is a lovely ending. Illustrations are bright and inviting. A fantastic read for any young child (and adult). It will be a christmas treasure for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great!, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Santa (Board book)
a perfect little book! Our twins trully love it!
its a surprise in each page which makes them smile. love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book., 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Santa (Board book)
A favourite of my granddaughters. She loves opening the envelopes inside, although under supervision, otherwise she
would rip them off. She is only a year old but she loves us to read it to her. All Rod Campbell books are good and she has
Dear Zoo too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dear Santa book for toddlers, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Santa (Board book)
Great book, just right for toddlers who use their little fingers to open the cardboard pull downs! Fun and fascinating. We usually have to read the book at least three times after each other!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dear Santa
Dear Santa by Rod Campbell (Board book - 11 Oct 2012)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews