Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1960s-set spy romp
A nuclear arms race kicks off in the Middle East in the late 1960s, as Israeli intelligence finds out that the Soviet Union is secretly funding atomic development in Egypt. To counterbalance this, Israel would need to make its own bomb, and with this in mind a top Israeli agent is detailed to come up with a plan to steal uranium.

Over the course of this, he...
Published 14 months ago by N. Young

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow to start but ended well
I'm a big Ken Follett fan and this isn't one of his best. I struggled to get into it, and the characters weren't gripping enough in the first half. Also, it was quite hard to keep up with the various male spy characters and remember who was who. In the second half the plot became clearer and I warmed up to the main characters. So, if you've read his best works, this one...
Published on 2 Nov. 2009 by Hannah Bourne


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow to start but ended well, 2 Nov. 2009
By 
Hannah Bourne (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Triple (Paperback)
I'm a big Ken Follett fan and this isn't one of his best. I struggled to get into it, and the characters weren't gripping enough in the first half. Also, it was quite hard to keep up with the various male spy characters and remember who was who. In the second half the plot became clearer and I warmed up to the main characters. So, if you've read his best works, this one is definately worth a read but I wouldn't start with this one if you are new to Follett.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1960s-set spy romp, 3 Jan. 2014
By 
N. Young (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Triple (Paperback)
A nuclear arms race kicks off in the Middle East in the late 1960s, as Israeli intelligence finds out that the Soviet Union is secretly funding atomic development in Egypt. To counterbalance this, Israel would need to make its own bomb, and with this in mind a top Israeli agent is detailed to come up with a plan to steal uranium.

Over the course of this, he encounters a couple of old acquaintances from his time at Oxford University in the 1940s - one of whom is now a top KGB agent, the other a Palestinian whose family lost everything when Israel was created, and who works for the Egyptian secret service (as you do). Both have vested interests in making sure that Israel doesn't get the uranium.

This is apparently based loosely on a true story. There are a few rather unlikely coincidences that keep the plot ticking along - the fact that the Israeli just happens to run into the Palestinian while carrying out part of his mission in Luxemburg, for example.

Read today, it does seem dated but it does convey a kind of period charm with its use of phoneboxes to aid the tailing of spies and the notion that stealing data from an international agency dedicated to the tracking of uranium involves blackmailing an employee to steal a paper file. Still, not a bad read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The writing style of Follett is unique and he produces great stories with awesome skill, 8 Dec. 2007
By 
This review is from: Triple (Paperback)
One of Follett's first spy-thrillers - Triple - is a typical cat and mouse spy novel, which is characterized by many dynamic characters all of which play a big and even role in the plot. From all ends of the political and religious spectrum - Follett introduces various characters right in the beginning of the novel with an unlikely meeting of future foes. The story begins at Oxford University in London England, where a group of students participate in political discussions. What they don't know is that their political differences will some day become more than just political differences. Eventually they'll all be at different ends of the race for nuclear weapons in the mid-East. I enjoyed the novel profoundly. It was a very good weekend page-turner, and I would suggest it to anyone who admires Follett's work!!! Also, if you missed reading Tino Georgiou's masterpiece--The Fates, go and read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book by Ken Follett,, 26 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triple (Kindle Edition)
Another excellent book by Ken Follett, Keeps you captivated from beginning to end, as do all his other books that I have read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable, but not one of his best, 11 Mar. 2011
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Triple (Paperback)
Quite a good page turning thriller set in 1968 when an Israeli agent is trying to steal a cargo of uranium so that his country can have the atomic bomb, to guard against Egypt getting the bomb with Soviet help. The Egyptians and a Palestinian terrorist group are trying to stop the Israelis succeeding. The number of betrayals and counter-betrayals gets confusing at times. Both sides use extreme violence to get their ends, not only against each other, but against innocent bystanders who get in their way. Quite good, but not one of Follett's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was like "Mastermind" I've started so I'll finish......., 24 Oct. 2014
By 
R. D. Mayles (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triple (Kindle Edition)
I have read quite a few of KF's books and enjoyed them. This was a struggle. The story was basically good but it was tooooo involved with tooo many characters. When the "boy's own stuff" kicked in it was wonderful but then it became like a Panorama lecture on the Politics of the Middle East. Serious peaks and troughs occurred and I was pleased to finish it and really ended up not even bothered who won or who lived or who died. Sorry Ken, perhaps it was me.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good storyteller and suspense artist from the start, 7 Aug. 2013
By 
P. Meulemeester (Sevilla, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triple (Paperback)
Even though Triple is not a recent work, the Follett style and plots are still very enjoyable. He leads you to a good pace in reading, but around the time the plot will be divulged the reader's curiosity is enticed and he needs to know the outcome a.s.a.p. Usually Reading more than expected by the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get stuck in, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triple (Kindle Edition)
I like Ken Follet and this book is another jolly good read evidenced by my disappointment when it came to an end. It was mared only by the perennial probl of other peoples underlinings which irritate me. Ah well, on to the next Follet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good yarn, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triple (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this - I remember 1948 and they were worrying times - the book conjures the tensions up well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good story, but not what I'm waiting for., 28 April 2014
By 
Graham Wadey (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triple (Kindle Edition)
I'm looking forward to the third book in the Century Trilogy.
Triple deals with the Arab/Israeli war and I haven't finished it yet. The characters are developing but not really involving me yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Triple
Triple by Ken Follett (Paperback - 23 Sept. 2013)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews