Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A boy and his dog
Stanley is just fourteen in 1917 and when his relationship with his troubled father gets unbearable, he runs away to join the army and find his brother in France. Placed in the nascent dog messenger service, he is sent to the front-line and drawn into a battle which will test his endurance and that of his dogs to the limits.

This is being marketed as a...
Published on 27 July 2012 by Roman Clodia

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read.....
An interesting read. In places, very touching (especially the final few chapters) and was, to a degree, educational to read details about how dogs were used during WWI. However, this is also where I was a little disappointed, in that the story was too much about the war and not so much about the dogs.

Would I read the author again? Yes, there was enough in...
Published on 13 Sept. 2012 by Aremess


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving well written book, 18 April 2013
By 
Rob S "Rob S" (Conwy, North Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Soldier Dog (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Brought this for my boy who is 9 years old, he as been reading the younger type books such as Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Book 1), Spy Dogs Collection (8 Books). Paperback. Titles are: Spy Dog; Captured; Secret Santa; Superbrain; Rollercoaster; Teacher's Pet; Rocket Rider; Unleashed all of which he really enjoyed.

Soldiers Dog is his first what I would call proper book, which doesn't have illustrations and tells a proper story with real emotions.

He started off with the obvious I'm not going to enjoy this attitude and it did take a while for him to start enjoying it, I think he thought it was going to all be finished as quick as the other books he has read.

The story of Stanley who enlists in the army when he is 14 years old. It follows him through the war with his messenger dog Bones, there are is plenty of drama and some tearful moments, my little lad was horrified at times and was lost a few times in the heart ache of the book.

It's a well written book that would appeal to an adult as much as a young adult, my boy thought it was emotional and at times draining on his heart (his words), but want's to read another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canine War Adventure Starts Here, 5 Mar. 2013
By 
M. J. Saxton (Dewsbury, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soldier Dog (Paperback)
This is a feel-good book, though it takes the reader through some pretty rough territory.

Stanley loves dogs and when his father's thoroughbred accidentally gets pregnant he wants to choose where the pups go to. His dad has other ideas because the puppies will be mongrels.

Stanley chooses the only male to be his own and names him Soldier, but his father is determined to give the pups to the gypsies or drown them. Soldier manages to escape the gypsies, then one morning Da rides off with him in the cart before Stanley can get to them.

As a result Stanley runs off to join the army in the First World War because he thinks that if he can get to France he will find his brother Tom. Life is not so simple.

Stanley joins the Messenger Dogs section, though he has to lie about his age to get in, and is soon training a new dog for work in the trenches. From there it is on to France where his troubles really begin.

Sam Angus doesn't spare any details of the horror of that war and what the soldiers and animals had to go through. However, the book does come to a surprising and pleasant resolution. A great book for fans of War Horse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous, 24 Oct. 2012
By 
E. Ramshaw - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soldier Dog (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
i will be honest and start by saying i thought this would be a cheap rip off being sold using the fame of war horse to make money but how wrong can you be !??

This book held me from the very start and as a lover of books i couldnt wait to read it as soon as it arrived, by the end of day i was done and enjoyed it so much.the book has great emotion and and was a well written story, i was hard pushed to hand it over for my teenage daughter to read who also finished it in record time.

its a book written i would say aimed at ages 10 and up depending on your own childs reading styles etc but my teenage daughter of 15 loved it even if it was a quick read and even me at 37 loved it so its an all round pleaser.

its set around the early 1900's and is about a young boy enlisting in the army with his dog,how true his age is to history im not sure but im fairly sure this is quite true to life really which makes it even more emotional. i wont tell you anymore than that as i hate reviews that spoil the story too much. the emotions will run high when reading this but i still highly recommend this book to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expect to Weep., 30 Sept. 2012
By 
T. Walker (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soldier Dog (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's not widely known that many dogs were used in the First World War as message carriers. As such they became targets.
This is the story of a young soldier named Stanley and his loyal messenger dog. Stanley's not really old enough to be there but he lefy home under a cloud. This is a brutal war and no place for kids. Stanley's dog shows unswerving loyalty in crossing machine-gun torn no mans land.
If you liked Warhorse, you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loyal to the End, 26 Mar. 2013
By 
HJK (Gomersal UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Soldier Dog (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The book starts in 1917, Stanley is at home in Lancashire with his widowed father and his older brother is a soldier in France.

Stanley loves dogs and through a chain of events also finds himself in France as a dog handler.

The dogs are used to carry messages, as were runners (see the film Gallipoli) and pigeons. I had not known this about the dogs and this made the book very interesting indeed - there is a long note at the end about the British Messenger Dog Service and a Bibliography.

(It is hard in a world of: 24 hour TV news, e-mails and mobile phones to imagine life without instant communication!).

I have not read War Horse but have seen the film and I think that anyone who liked War horse will like Soldier Dog.

It says the book is for age 9+ but I certainly enjoyed reading it and I am MUCH OLDER !! I think however that 9 might be a bit young for reading the book - though a 9 year old might like this read to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale of the Great War., 12 Oct. 2012
By 
J. Mcdonald "Yelochre" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Soldier Dog (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a book aimed at young adults, "Soldier Dog" offers an interesting angle on the 1914-18 war; the role of the British Messenger Dog Service.
Stanley Ryder, the fourteen-year-old runaway who enlists in 1917 in order to find his brother, becomes the keeper of a War Messenger Dog; the emotional bonds created between the dog and handler and the realities of trench life and warfare are the backbone of this quite moving and well researched historical novel.
This is a fine little book, its storyline nicely pitched; it is, as one would expect, something of a tear-jerker; it also offers an unflinching view - through a boy's eyes - of the realities of battle, without being too upsetting, given the horrors of that war.
As an adult reader, I found a few inaccuracies and stretches of credibility, but it would be churlish of me to rate this impressive debut novel at anything less than five stars.
An easy recommendation for readers in their early teens and beyond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soldier Dog (Paperback)
This book is a modern masterpiece. It creates a very believable account of what life was like for many young men in the lead up to World War 1 and the ease with which the reader empathises with the lead character makes it an emotional roller coaster of a read I had to sneak a look at the end (something I have never done before) because I couldn't face an ending which I feared I might be reading. Even then I cried buckets at the end and felt exhausted, almost living the story. Sam Angus should be commended for writing such a superb novel which I really did feel I couldn't put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cant fail to compare to Morpurgo, 5 Nov. 2012
By 
This review is from: Soldier Dog (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I couldnt help but be drawn to the striking front cover which reminds me so much of War Horse, Michael Morpurgo.

Set against the backdrop of word war 1 I knew little of messenger dogs before this book. Older readers may remember the Lassie film where she becomes traumatised by the gunfire and bombing but sends for help for the whole company. Whether War horse or Lassie inspired there no dampening of enthisiasm for war based novels.

Involving the plight of the dog really works and Stanley, Bones and Pistol and others really capture the imagination in way children can cope with. However does contain scenes of bombng, gunfire and mild peril.

I think as the book suggest this is really aimed at older readers. 278 pages in three parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an absorbing read, great characters and excellent plot., 25 July 2013
By 
L. Thompson "mentorartemis" (UK, North West) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soldier Dog (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I liked this book, it's a dour subject, basically dogs being sent to the front line as messengers and many of them being killed. A wonderful tribute to brave handlers and their dogs who supported frontline troops in atrocious conditions.

The boy has an argument with his Father about a puppy and ends up joining the army, lies about his age and finds himself abroad with a large dog for company. The bond between the boy and dog is what keeps him going through horrendous circumstances. I found the characters engaging, I was keen for them both to get through. the horrors of war were well described, though I'd think it'd be a fine read for children given the age of the boy in the story. My son really enjoyed it, he is 13 (going on a 100!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving., 7 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soldier Dog (Kindle Edition)
I have read this so many times but each time it grips you as much as it did the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soldier Dog
Soldier Dog by Sam Angus (Paperback - 5 July 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews