Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars215
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2012
Fascinating no holds barred book documenting Hilary's life, her self determination led to the creation of Pall Ex. Hilary talks honestly about her son's battle with addiction and her fathers bankruptcy without trying to gloss over the details.

It's very inspirational to read how she recovered from a stroke and went on to join the line up of Dragons Den where her common sense is evident, the ups and downs that lifes thrown at her have just encouraged her to succeed.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
Inspiring and gutsy story of a woman who takes no nonsense from anyone. I would advise you to buy it
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2012
This book will make 'your hand itch' to read more about hilarys normadic childhood and her views on society. Best autobiography I've ever read Thanks Hils!
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
Determined, ruthless, simgle minded and supremely focused. Hilary Devey's book is testamount to the fact that hard work does pay, common sense is under-rated and a degree over-rated. From a very tough start Hilary paved the way to success with an incredible work ethics and drive. Her life was / is far from perfect but she had a dream and the way she wrote actually got me excited about logistics which in itself is a feat. Hats off to her - she deserves all the success in the world but her attitude towards her son's addiction needs applauce on it's own.. definitely worth a read...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2012
A triumph over adversity, Hilary tells of her journey through life encountering many hardships and personal tragedies before emerging triumphantly although always tinged with sadness the book is ultimately uplifting
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
Id read some reviews on this which were all good so decided to buy a used copy on Amazon. Well the reviews were not wrong! A riveting read that made me laugh and cry. What this women hasn't gone through isnt worth knowing! From a pretty tough-ish upbringing she never had too many friends at school as was always being moved by her parents who ran various pubs around the Bolton and near areas. She was running the afternoon shifts in one of the pubs at about 10/11 years old and was raped at 12! A workaholic she ended up starting Pall-ex and turning it into a multi million pound business. Whilst doing this she was married to a Turkish Cypriot who used to abuse her verbally and physically. She had a som by him who, by the time, he was about 14 was a heroin addict. After leaving her husband Hussein finally, her story of trying to get her son off of heroin is quite harrowing and heartbreaking. Following another 2 broken marriages a stroke that has left its mark on her today she continues to run Pall-ex as the sole shareholder. If you want to know how to become a multi millionaire the hard way then read this!! I got the impression that money hasnt bought her happiness and she freely admits this. Constant work probably doesnt leave too much time for much else! Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
I bought this book, as I had seen Hilary on Dragons Den and various other programmes and so thought it would be fascinating to read her story .
The first thing I particularly like about this book is that right from the start Hilary is very clear that this is very much her personal story , it isn't one of those books that the celebrity may say you too can start a business from nothing that will earn you millions overnight
I greatly admire Hilary, as this is extremely personal and at times during reading the book. I am finding myself crying at the very many times herself and her family had to move house and ever changing circumstance .. couldn't have been easy for her ..
I was also very shocked at things and saddened too .. You can honestly see why Hilary has so much strength and courage , and you have too when you have been through some very tough times. the fact that Hilary has fought back is admirable
this is a very moving emotional but unfortunately brutally real.book Hilary is very honest and very open and again I admire the fact that it takes a lot to put this all into the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
This is definitely not your how-did-I-become rich or I-did-so-you-can type of book. Be warned: It is heavy. Often you'll need to give a break, leave the book on sofa and take your time to digest what you have just read.

I bought this book for two reasons:
1- Like most of you, I knew her from the Dragons Den and find her attitude interesting so I thought the book cannot be boring: It was not!
2- She is a self-made millionaire so I thought I can probably be inspired or learn a few business tricks : I couldn't.

I knew even millionaires could have a though life. BUT Hilary's life... It is unbelievable. When I read some passages to my wife, her response was usually "She is exaggerating". Well you cannot exaggerate it really. It is either true or not. It is too much, too heavy for a woman. Or for a man. For anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
Some of this book was quite a difficult read for me, but the courage and strength Hilary has shown throughout her life is very encouraging. I'd be rubbish in business, but I do feel that anyone who is even THINKING about setting up should read this before they do,

A note to Hilary if she reads this: don't beat yourself up, wondering if you put work or anything else ahead if your son. The same thing happened to me and I was a stay at home single mum without any relationships. Addiction is not partial or selective in any way, and any family in any walk of life and from any financial background can be affected at any time. At the time you can only do what you think is right in such an alien environment. Thankfully, my outcome was good too. I'm sure you are an inspiration to many, in lots of different ways.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
I found this to be a fantastic book to read for several reasons. First of all it's a great story, albeit a familiar rags to riches theme similar to many other successful entrepreneurs. Hilary's story is different to most though. Secondly, it's a must read for anyone who is thinking of setting up a business as well as looking after a family. There are some serious issues to consider and Hilary is honest enough to admit that she didn't always get things right. Thirdly, I would recommend that anyone who has teenage children (or even older) and the very slightest concern about strange behaviour reads this. The signs were there and Hilary admits she didn't pick up on them. She is now honest enough to share them so that, hopefully a few more parents can spot them early and perhaps have a chance of helping.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)