Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Inspiring and gutsy story of a woman who takes no nonsense from anyone. I would advise you to buy it
Published 17 months ago by El Hombre

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought second hand for first time and won't do it again.
Interesting book but too much detail about her life and not her business. Not what I thought it was going to be. Great women, take my hat off to her.
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 114 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bold as Brass - Hilary Devey, 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bold As Brass (Kindle Edition)
A really easy read which flows well. Hilary has lead a very varied life and describes traumatic events in her life. Not a business or inspirational book but just a plain old good read. Really enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Determination and self belief, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If ever you needed to be reminded that your own life was good...........then read this book.

Hilary Devey has allowed the reader into her life, warts and all!!! From her childhood to her present day, her tenacity and self belief are at times the only thing that kept her motivated, even when only having a few coins left in her purse, she never lost faith in her own decisions and beliefs. She has exhibited how hard work is always not enough to see immediate results, yet the determination to continue has seen her suceed.

It is only when faced with the fact her only beloved son is a drug addict does her aforementioned tenacity come into question. She tried to apply all that had made her successful into trying to stop her son from taking drugs. Not only was it a shock to her that love, determination and money could not initially help him, it left her grieving for her son that used to be.

Before I read her book, Hilary Devey had always interested me, since reading, I feel such admiration and praise for this wonderful woman who has not only succeeded where many thought she would not, she has faced and overcome too numerous to mention personal mountains.

Hilary Devey, thank you for allowing me into your world, for the three days it took me to read your book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book - better than I expected., 2 July 2012
By 
S. Butler (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book brilliant, better than I anticipated. It was easy to read and was almost like having Hilary in the room talking to you. It was funny in places which had me burst out laughing at times, however, it was also very sad in some places. This lady has come through some tough times and trials in her private life and in business, and even though she must be a tough hardworking businesswoman, she seems to have kept her roots and compassion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bold as brass, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bold As Brass (Kindle Edition)
Extremley entertaining read from such a successful woman while she also shows she has had many sad as well as happy times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not for happy people, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bold As Brass: My Story (Paperback)
it was the most boring, depressing book i have ever read. i expected it to be about her success in business not about her childhood and her problematic son. i normally pass books on to charities but this one is heading for the shredder!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 1 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bold As Brass (Kindle Edition)
I have read lots of auto biographies and this is the best ever it reads as if Hilary is talking to you.
I read this in 2 days I enjoyed it so much .
It made me like her even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Present for my Mother who had shown and interest in this book. Fast delivery thank you. Mum says it looks good but has not read it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 15 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bold As Brass (Kindle Edition)
Not quite finished ,about half way through,found it boring and certainly doubt if I shall carry on reading it through ,sounds a bit far fetched in some places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bold As Brass: My Story
Bold As Brass: My Story by Hilary Devey (Paperback - 20 Jun 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews