Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dreadful Murder
This is an interesting short read. It is based on a real murder which took place in Kent in the early nineteen hundreds and the author has written an imaginative reconstruction of it. Caroline Luard is found dead as she was walking home.

Her husband was the last person to see her alive and the person who discovered her body. He is a friend of the Chief...
Published 18 months ago by Damaskcat

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not what you'd call gripping !
This was a rather factual account of a murder which actually took place in Kent in the early nineteen hundreds. Not sure what Minette. Walters was trying to achieve as there was no real depth to the story, not much development of character - she simply related what happened with just a few embellishments. It was certainly not up to her usual standard and I found it a...
Published 15 months ago by LizA


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not what you'd call gripping !, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a rather factual account of a murder which actually took place in Kent in the early nineteen hundreds. Not sure what Minette. Walters was trying to achieve as there was no real depth to the story, not much development of character - she simply related what happened with just a few embellishments. It was certainly not up to her usual standard and I found it a generally unsatisfying read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Dreadful Murder, 16 July 2013
This review is from: A Dreadful Murder: The Mysterious Death of Caroline Luard (Quick Reads 2013) (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyed the book until I got to the end.

Having read a number of 'true crime' accounts as well as a lot of detective fiction I prefer to know if I am reading one or the other before I start. Not read a book believing it to be a true account only to find a significant element is fiction when you get to the last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What will you make of the evidence, 16 Mar 2013
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Dreadful Murder: The Mysterious Death of Caroline Luard (Quick Reads 2013) (Paperback)
This short story, is based on the truth . There was a Caroline Luard. She was murdered. Her killer was never convicted.

What Minette Walters does in this Quick Reads novel is to take some of the characters and fictionalise what may or may not have happened. She gives a voice to the main suspect, Caroline's husband Charles Luard and his respected position in society. This reflects the divisions between the classes and how the lower classes felt regarding matters being covered up by those with some sort of power.

Using the methods of the police of the time and the developing skills which are now used to catch and convict criminals, Walters takes us the reader through this mysterious death. Giving us clues, evidence and supposition and leads us to who we may think have killed Caroline Luard in mysterious circumstances.

A great novel to introduce a non or reluctant reader to the wonderful world of crime writing and in this case, historical crime writing. From here there is so much you can choose to discover if this novel captures you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dreadful Murder, 3 Feb 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an interesting short read. It is based on a real murder which took place in Kent in the early nineteen hundreds and the author has written an imaginative reconstruction of it. Caroline Luard is found dead as she was walking home.

Her husband was the last person to see her alive and the person who discovered her body. He is a friend of the Chief Constable who quite rightly calls in Scotland Yard to investigate. It is a story of animosity against Caroline's husband and anonymous letters falling thick as leaves in Vallombrosa.

Even though this book is written in simple language and designed to be read by people who may not read very much I still found enough in the story to keep me reading. It is an intriguing mystery and it is up to the reader to make up their own minds about who did it. If you want a quick read which is part fiction and part non-fiction then give this a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good horror very enjoyable to read and I look forward to reading more of minette's work. Would recommend to friends ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good for a quick read, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As its taken from a true crime you can't say much about the plot, although a disappointing end but as it's real life it can't all be the mystery is solved,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Murder of Mystery, 27 April 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Minette Walters has written a short and easy read of a real murder. Caroline Luard was murdered in the grounds of her home in 1908. Much of the dialogue is surmised and several characters are fictitious. Nevertheless, the police investigation of the times is well-documented. The chief suspect was Caroline's high-profile well-connected husband, the subject of gossip and rumour and receiver of poison-penned letters. The murder was never resolved. The author's own thoughts are included in the epilogue. A comfortable read lacking depth and an unsatisfactory conclusion. Worth a read at a knock-down price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly worth a 6-year wait, 26 Jan 2013
By 
RachelWalker "RachelW" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Dreadful Murder: The Mysterious Death of Caroline Luard (Quick Reads 2013) (Paperback)
It's fine. It's a bit slight. It's a bit... "so what?" at the end (indeed, the whole way through). There's not nearly as much passion or depth in it as she usually brings to her writing, even her other two short works (which were both deeper and more passionate). It's not often that a writer who so regularly publishes a novel a year just... stops, as seems to have happened with Minette Walters. Anyone with an imagination can speculate why so I won't bother, but I hope there's something longer a more... good, than this in the pipeline. This is ok for an afternoon's reading, and it certainly fits its easy, quick read brief, but it's very slight indeed. I didn't get much more from this than from reading the wikipedia article that she recommends referring to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Dreadful Murder - Disappointing, 10 April 2013
By 
Fred - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Based on a real-life crime that was never solved. Potentially this could have been good but failed to hit the mark.

If the book had been a total recounting of the case as it stood and any solutions the police came to, it would have been fine. If the facts had been taken and a different possible scenario suggested, that would have been interesting. Taking the bare bones of the crime and writing fiction loosely based on the murder would have been ok.

Instead, the book read as though it were a factual retelling of events but in actuality some of the characters and witness statements detailed were entirely fictional. I wasn't sure which facts were true and which weren't. Fact or Fiction. I found this a strange hybrid and in the end, a rather pointless book.

The writing was fine and I did become interested in the case itself. It's a shame it will never be solved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bring back Minette, 13 July 2014
By 
Mrs. S. R. Hines (N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Minette, rattled through these quickly. Her best skill is in longer plots, but these worked fine too. Wish she'd bring out a longer novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Dreadful Murder: The Mysterious Death of Caroline Luard (Quick Reads 2013)
1.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews