Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars T Is for Tremendous Tale Telling
Sue Grafton is always exploring new subjects and new ways of writing for her readers. T is for Trespass continues that worthy heritage for this terrific series.

If you haven't read any books in this series, I suggest you go back and read them in alphabetical order beginning with A is for Alibi. You have a major treat ahead of you. The series develops over a...
Published on 5 Dec 2007 by Donald Mitchell

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars T is for too many coincidences - only okay
First Sentence: She had a real name, of course--the one she'd been given at birth and had used for much of her life--but now she had a new name.

When Kinsey's elderly neighbor, Gus, takes a fall and breaks his collarbone, Kinsey locates and summons his daughter from the East Coast. Too busy to stay and take care of her father, she hires a woman named Solana...
Published on 4 Jan 2010 by L. J. Roberts


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars T Is for Tremendous Tale Telling, 5 Dec 2007
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Sue Grafton is always exploring new subjects and new ways of writing for her readers. T is for Trespass continues that worthy heritage for this terrific series.

If you haven't read any books in this series, I suggest you go back and read them in alphabetical order beginning with A is for Alibi. You have a major treat ahead of you. The series develops over a number of years, and many references are clearer throughout if you've read the earlier books.

The writing innovation here is to have two narrators, Kinsey Millhone, and Kinsey's nemesis, named Solana Rojas, whom fate brings together in Kinsey's neighborhood to create a taut suspense story. You will see the future conflict clearly coming, but won't know what to expect. Sue Grafton does a wonderful job of filling the story with lots of surprises to heighten the suspense. The struggle between the two women is intensified by Solana being portrayed from the beginning as being the psychological opposite of Kinsey. You'll enjoy a heightened sense of tension by knowing what the two determined women are thinking about and planning to do.

The new topic is how some people prey on others in particularly chilling ways by taking advantage of the presumption we hold that we are surrounded by trustworthy people. It's a cautionary tale that will leave you wanting to do more to check out those with whom you and your family come into contact. The book is so powerful in this dimension that at times you'll feel like you are reading a nonfiction book about a tragedy.

As the book opens, Solana is looking for opportunity and Kinsey is looking for some work. Solana has just left her last job and explains what her objectives are in Chapter One. Kinsey picks up in Chapter Two to describe how detecting hasn't been very good lately. To make up for that, Kinsey has been serving summonses. Kinsey hears a sound while she's on her way to work, and that sound leads both women onto a collision course.

In the book, Kinsey works on several assignments . . . looking for evidence to clear a defendant in a car accident, assisting a landlord to remove deadbeat tenants, and checking out references for a new employee. She also finds that being a caring neighbor can be time consuming.

Kinsey's personal life is at a low ebb. She's not seeing anyone. She's stopped exercising, and her landlord Henry is her main source of company although he's increasingly taken up by a new woman.

As I started the book, I didn't expect much. After all, seeing that two characters are going to come into contact in unpleasant ways usually makes for good writing but weak plots. Well, I was wrong. The plot is even stronger than the excellent writing.

In typical Sue Grafton fashion, she brings in touches of the moment, winter 1987, to give the story a strong sense of time. In this case, she employs the fascination with old muscle cars that had developed by then to give a sense of two points in time. I was most impressed by this choice of a story-telling device.

Her sense of place is equally strong. I grew up not far from where "Santa Teresa" is set. In reading this book, I was called back into dark misty nights in that area when threat seemed to lurk in every shadow.

The story is so successful that it reminded me of the Greek tragedies, dressed up on modern circumstances. It's a remarkable accomplishment.

Brava, Ms. Grafton!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars T is for too many coincidences - only okay, 4 Jan 2010
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: T is for Trespass (Hardcover)
First Sentence: She had a real name, of course--the one she'd been given at birth and had used for much of her life--but now she had a new name.

When Kinsey's elderly neighbor, Gus, takes a fall and breaks his collarbone, Kinsey locates and summons his daughter from the East Coast. Too busy to stay and take care of her father, she hires a woman named Solana Rojas and has Kinsey do a cursory background check. This is a case of what Kinsey did not find; Solana is not who she says.

I hadn't read Grafton in awhile, and now I remember why. Set in the 1980s, in Kinsey's life we are only about 5 years ahead of the first book. However, in those 5 years, Kinsey really has not changed. It's not that just that her habits have not changed--she still quarter-cuts her sandwiches, loves McDonalds Quarter-Pounders with cheese, and small places; okay, she has a new car--but she hasn't grown emotionally.

I do love her sense of humor and her loyalty to her friends. Grafton, in general, has created a wonderful set of characters, both the traditional supporting characters and the new ones. The villain of the piece is wonderfully scary and diabolical.

I found the plot interesting and very much conducive to a one-sitting read. I actually liked that Kinsey was working more than one case, as it seemed more realistic, but there were times where she seemed a bit slow on the uptake.

The biggest problem I had with the book is Grafton's writing style. There were multiple, massive portents that then diminished the element of suspense, in many cases, the coincidences so numerous and large you could drive a truck through them. A couple of times, I found myself saying "Oh, please!".

The book wasn't awful; I did read it in one sitting. I shall read the next Grafton, but only because I already own it. Any more after that are doubtful.

T is for Trespass (PI, Kinsey Milhone, So. Cal, Cont (1980s) - Ok
Grafton, Sue - 20th in series
Putnam Adult, 2007, US Hardcover - ISBN: 9780399154485
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and gripping story, 13 July 2008
By 
This review is from: T is for Trespass (Hardcover)
This is a 4.75 star book, because I found it a little slow in the first pages. Other than that, I found it excellent.

Kinsey's elderly cantankerous neighbor, Gus Vronsky, needs some home nursing help. Enter Solana Rojas, a woman who systematically strips the old man of his confidence, dignity, his possessions and ultimately, potentially, his life. The book was sometimes written from Kinsey's and Solana's perspective, which worked very well.

As with all Sue Grafton's books, it is set in the 1980s, but is totally relevant to today.

Kinsey cannot get the authorities to act, and the frustration leaps from the page. Anyone who has ever dealt with bureaucracy in a similar situation will empathize.

There was one main storyline in this, unlike her earlier works which sometimes have multiple threads. I prefer the multiple storylines, yet this book was so strong it was impossible to put down. It was so plausible, and unlike the other books, could happen to someone we love, neighbor, or even ourselves.

I am a Sue Grafton fan, and I consider S for Silence her best S Is for Silence (Kinsey Millhone Mysteries). Maybe that is because I liked the little bit of romance in "S". T for Trespass is a very different book, and quite frightening as it is probably happening all around us, but as a book absolutely gripping once you get into it.

Kinsey is still a loner, living a solitary life. I find that aspect probably the least appealing. She doesn't have the complications of relationships, having ditched her boyfriend between S and T, which makes her a little one dimensional. Her closest relationship is still the friendship she has with her landlord and neighbor, the 80 something Henry, and Sue Grafton writes the older characters very well.

Definitely worth the cover price, and a story that will stay with you for a very long time. I'll never look at home nursing care in the same way again.

All the alibi series are good, starting with A Is for Alibi, and all stand on their own without the benefit of reading the earlier books, although I would recommend you read them.

I am really glad the price of this has just come down on Amazon UK, as I got it from the library and there was a huge waiting list. Had it been this price from the start I would have definitely bought the book in hardback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Mystery from an Outstanding Crime Writer, 2 Jan 2008
If you're a fan of Grafton's work, this novel will not disappoint. Grafton is a talented writer who keeps things interesting rather than relying on a formula. The style of this novel marks a real departure from earlier books in the series. The story is told from two perspectives--Kinsey's and the suspect's. It gives the reader new insight into Millhone's character and how others perceive her.

I don't want to give away any of the plot, but this is a great book. I could not put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of her best, so far., 8 Sep 2008
By 
S. Gornall "S. Gornall" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: T is for Trespass (Hardcover)
T Is for Trespass

I have read all Sue Graftons books and I think this is the best so far. I really enjoyed the story and it shows just how easy it is for someone to be a con-artist with very little effort. In a busy world people do not seem to check references as well as they should and do not want to interfere in other peoples lives even when they suspect something is not quite right. It kept me gripped all the way through and it had a great ending. I guess to enjoy Sue Grafton you should really start at A is for Alibi and work your way through to 'T' but maybe if you read this book and enjoy it you could go back. I can't wait for U if it's as good as T. is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kinsey on the wrong side of the law, 23 Nov 2008
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: T is for Trespass (Hardcover)
In this latest of the alphabet series, Sue Grafton uses T for Trespass to move her heroine Kinsey on emotionally as well as giving us the usual, tautly plotted crime story.

Quite often the stories are either hugely driven by the crime element and contain only a fragment of back story or vice versa, but here Grafton attempts to marry both in a story which eddies around the most important relationship in Kinsey's life, that with her landlord, Henry.

I felt that this book had a little too much going on in the crime department. The main story plots Kinsey's wits against an evil woman bent on preying on the elderly, a woman who is devious and sharp and seriously puts Kinsey on the back foot. This is a complex and fascinating story and I feel it would have been a better book if this had been the sole focus of the novel.

As it is, we have two sub plots, one involving a paedophile and one involving a fraudulent insurance claim. Grafton may well be trying to write in a more 'realistic' manner by weaving in multiple cases, but I felt cheated that these other cases didn't really develop properly.

The main gripe I had with this book was the ending, which I thought was a little rushed and too overdramatic and spoiled what in my view was a return to form after a few more experimental forays. Nevertheless, a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A confused Kinsey, 20 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: T is for Trespass (Paperback)
This being the 20th novel by Sue Grafton and her PI Kinsey Millhone and it is starting to wear a bit thin. Not the book which is thicker than ever, but the plot. It seems to be some trend that books shold be thick and if you do not have material enought just fill it with unrelated observations. In previous books it has been strictly from KM's angle but this time there are chapters soley focusing on the culprit. Just like having the reasoning for the crimes committed spred out all over the book.
The main focus is on the neighbour Gus (close to 90) who after an unfortunate fall needs someone helping him out with the daily chores. Needless to say the nurse employed is trying to rob him blind and this is the task for KM to prevent.
There are some sidetracks which could have been better explored and summed up better as the main plot could have been cut into half without loosing anything.
Anyway the language is as always in the SG books light and the reading is swift. But please make "U" shorter and more to the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars T Is for Tremendously Told Tale, 4 Jun 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: T is for Trespass (Hardcover)
Sue Grafton is always exploring new subjects and new ways of writing for her readers. T is for Trespass continues that worthy heritage for this terrific series.

If you haven't read any books in this series, I suggest you go back and read them in alphabetical order beginning with A is for Alibi. You have a major treat ahead of you. The series develops over a number of years, and many references are clearer throughout if you've read the earlier books.

The writing innovation here is to have two narrators, Kinsey Millhone, and Kinsey's nemesis, named Solana Rojas, whom fate brings together in Kinsey's neighborhood to create a taut suspense story. You will see the future conflict clearly coming, but won't know what to expect. Sue Grafton does a wonderful job of filling the story with lots of surprises to heighten the suspense. The struggle between the two women is intensified by Solana being portrayed from the beginning as being the psychological opposite of Kinsey. You'll enjoy a heightened sense of tension by knowing what the two determined women are thinking about and planning to do.

The new topic is how some people prey on others in particularly chilling ways by taking advantage of the presumption we hold that we are surrounded by trustworthy people. It's a cautionary tale that will leave you wanting to do more to check out those with whom you and your family come into contact. The book is so powerful in this dimension that at times you'll feel like you are reading a nonfiction book about a tragedy.

As the book opens, Solana is looking for opportunity and Kinsey is looking for some work. Solana has just left her last job and explains what her objectives are in Chapter One. Kinsey picks up in Chapter Two to describe how detecting hasn't been very good lately. To make up for that, Kinsey has been serving summonses. Kinsey hears a sound while she's on her way to work, and that sound leads both women onto a collision course.

In the book, Kinsey works on several assignments . . . looking for evidence to clear a defendant in a car accident, assisting a landlord to remove deadbeat tenants, and checking out references for a new employee. She also finds that being a caring neighbor can be time consuming.

Kinsey's personal life is at a low ebb. She's not seeing anyone. She's stopped exercising, and her landlord Henry is her main source of company although he's increasingly taken up by a new woman.

As I started the book, I didn't expect much. After all, seeing that two characters are going to come into contact in unpleasant ways usually makes for good writing but weak plots. Well, I was wrong. The plot is even stronger than the excellent writing.

In typical Sue Grafton fashion, she brings in touches of the moment, winter 1987, to give the story a strong sense of time. In this case, she employs the fascination with old muscle cars that had developed by then to give a sense of two points in time. I was most impressed by this choice of a story-telling device.

Her sense of place is equally strong. I grew up not far from where "Santa Teresa" is set. In reading this book, I was called back into dark misty nights in that area when threat seemed to lurk in every shadow.

The story is so successful that it reminded me of the Greek tragedies, dressed up on modern circumstances. It's a remarkable accomplishment.

Brava, Ms. Grafton!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars T Is for Tremendous Tale Telling, 5 Dec 2007
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Sue Grafton is always exploring new subjects and new ways of writing for her readers. T is for Trespass continues that worthy heritage for this terrific series.

If you haven't read any books in this series, I suggest you go back and read them in alphabetical order beginning with A is for Alibi. You have a major treat ahead of you. The series develops over a number of years, and many references are clearer throughout if you've read the earlier books.

The writing innovation here is to have two narrators, Kinsey Millhone, and Kinsey's nemesis, named Solana Rojas, whom fate brings together in Kinsey's neighborhood to create a taut suspense story. You will see the future conflict clearly coming, but won't know what to expect. Sue Grafton does a wonderful job of filling the story with lots of surprises to heighten the suspense. The struggle between the two women is intensified by Solana being portrayed from the beginning as being the psychological opposite of Kinsey. You'll enjoy a heightened sense of tension by knowing what the two determined women are thinking about and planning to do.

The new topic is how some people prey on others in particularly chilling ways by taking advantage of the presumption we hold that we are surrounded by trustworthy people. It's a cautionary tale that will leave you wanting to do more to check out those with whom you and your family come into contact. The book is so powerful in this dimension that at times you'll feel like you are reading a nonfiction book about a tragedy.

As the book opens, Solana is looking for opportunity and Kinsey is looking for some work. Solana has just left her last job and explains what her objectives are in Chapter One. Kinsey picks up in Chapter Two to describe how detecting hasn't been very good lately. To make up for that, Kinsey has been serving summonses. Kinsey hears a sound while she's on her way to work, and that sound leads both women onto a collision course.

In the book, Kinsey works on several assignments . . . looking for evidence to clear a defendant in a car accident, assisting a landlord to remove deadbeat tenants, and checking out references for a new employee. She also finds that being a caring neighbor can be time consuming.

Kinsey's personal life is at a low ebb. She's not seeing anyone. She's stopped exercising, and her landlord Henry is her main source of company although he's increasingly taken up by a new woman.

As I started the book, I didn't expect much. After all, seeing that two characters are going to come into contact in unpleasant ways usually makes for good writing but weak plots. Well, I was wrong. The plot is even stronger than the excellent writing.

In typical Sue Grafton fashion, she brings in touches of the moment, winter 1987, to give the story a strong sense of time. In this case, she employs the fascination with old muscle cars that had developed by then to give a sense of two points in time. I was most impressed by this choice of a story-telling device.

Her sense of place is equally strong. I grew up not far from where "Santa Teresa" is set. In reading this book, I was called back into dark misty nights in that area when threat seemed to lurk in every shadow.

The story is so successful that it reminded me of the Greek tragedies, dressed up on modern circumstances. It's a remarkable accomplishment.

Brava, Ms. Grafton!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A return to form, 28 Nov 2008
This review is from: T is for Trespass (Paperback)
I am a great Sue Grafton fan but thought her last two novels were not up to standard, particularly R is for Ricochet. However her latest book is simply great, hugely gripping and a real page turner. I loved the new style with chapters going back and forth between Kinsey and the evil "care provider". It was very gratifying that Ms Grafton brought Kinsey's landlord very much into the story as he has been neglected of late. I have always loved the contribution made by Henry and his siblings. This is a real return to form and I have bought the hardback as a Christmas present for my niece and hope to convert her to Sue Grafton. I would have no hesitation in recommending this novel to anyone who has not yet discovered Ms. Grafton. It is a true demonstration of Sue Grafton's writing skills as this is a much darker tone than her earlier novels and it truly works. This is my favourite so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

T is for Trespass (Kinsey Millhone Mystery 20)
T is for Trespass (Kinsey Millhone Mystery 20) by Sue Grafton (Paperback - 6 Dec 2012)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews