Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grafton does it again !!
Grafton has an uncanny knack of grabbing your attention from the first page. 'S' is a gutsy novel which unlike 'R' does not centre around Kinsey's own life and very little takes place around Kinsey's own neighbourhood.
At the centre of the novel is an 1950's unsolved disappearance of a small town 'totty' and the story line...
Published on 23 Feb 2006 by Ms. M. Henderson

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nicely woven story but poor ending
I love Grafton's books, and think this one was nicely constructed, weaving the flashbacks in with the current narrative to fill out the story. Her investigation is gripping, and as the story comes to the close, her narrow escape was harrowing.

But why? Why was Violet murdered by the culprit? Did the babysitter get her man? Did the sanctimonious housewife get...
Published on 3 Aug 2007 by mivona


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grafton does it again !!, 23 Feb 2006
By 
Ms. M. Henderson "mirhen" (South West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: S is for Silence (Hardcover)
Grafton has an uncanny knack of grabbing your attention from the first page. 'S' is a gutsy novel which unlike 'R' does not centre around Kinsey's own life and very little takes place around Kinsey's own neighbourhood.
At the centre of the novel is an 1950's unsolved disappearance of a small town 'totty' and the story line dives in and out of peoples experiences around the time of the disappearance.
I found I got a bit confused at times as to what we were being told and what information Kinsey gleaned from her investigations, however you can't help but get involved in the comings and goings of the characters which gives this book the 'cant put it down' appeal. Some of the plot is a bit woolly and incredible however the only significant criticism I can give 'S' is that I felt Grafton almost hurried the ending, giving the impression that she was in a hurry to get it finished and this somewhat weakened the plot overall. Even though the alleged killer shows their hand eventually, you are still left with many unanswered questions which you know will never get referred to in the 'T' book. However I cannot wait for 'T' and hope that Grafton can churn it out quick enough that I can read them all before I leave for that great library in the sky !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cold Case Solution Is Unearthed, 3 Jan 2006
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: S is for Silence (Paperback)
Solving a cold case is extremely challenging for a detective. Writing about solving a cold case is even tougher. You can easily get so caught up in unraveling the tattered mystery that you bore your readers silly. A particularly tricky task is to make readers care.
Sue Grafton has written one of the most satisfying cold case stories that I've ever read. She makes the missing person, Violet Sullivan, both sympathetic and off-the-wall. At the same time, Ms. Grafton shows how an unsolved disappearance leaves everyone who cared about the person wounded to the core. They are victims too. In the case of S Is for Silence, some of the victims are more sympathetic than others . . . but they are all interesting.
The book mainly succeeds because Ms. Grafton creates an interesting series of characters and plot interactions both in her flashback chapters and in her development of Kinsey's investigation.
Ms. Grafton wisely keeps the investigation short. The mystery is unraveled in five days. To have strung the investigation out would have made the book boring, in my judgment. I was very impressed to find that the flashback information wasn't a direct hint as to how Kinsey would solve the mystery. She followed her own unique path.
Those who like to focus on Kinsey and her life as a single woman won't find this book very satisfying. The cold case is the story. Kinsey's friends and family have barely cameo roles in this book.
For those who like a classic missing person's story against the backdrop of volatile relationships in a small California town, this book will, however, be the right stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great Kinsey book, 21 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: S is for Silence (Paperback)
I have read all of the series of Sue Grafton books in the alphabet series and enjoyed most of them. This book did have some weaknesses for me , the constant flashbacks were annoying although they did fill in needed background. However I thought the ending was odd there didnt seem a motive for the murderer at least not one that was explained very well. I agree with other reviewers that i missed certain aspects of other books in the series, such as Henry, Dietz and her unique way of entering buildings. Overall a good read and not too much of a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 May 2006
By 
Marion Wilson (East Kilbride) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: S is for Silence (Paperback)
I bought this at the airport for a holiday read and I couldn't put it down. I loved the flashbacks and could visualise a young Elizabeth Taylor as Violet. I am eagerly awaiting the delivery of more Sue Grafton novels. Wish I had discovred her years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good thriller, and no need to read all the previous books, 13 Feb 2007
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: S is for Silence (Paperback)
With a long-running series like this one, it can be difficult for a newcomer to know whether you'll enjoy the most recent addition. If all the back story, regular characters and previous adventures play a prominent part in the new adventure then a first-time reader can feel a bit lost.

That's not the case with S is for Silence.

It's a great place to start if you haven't read any of the other books.

I have read all of Sue Grafton's alphabet series, and generally enjoy the adventures of private eye Kinsey Millhone. They tend to be medium-to-lightweight thrillers; almost like traditional whodunnits with a little spice of modern life. They aren't the sort which are packed full of sadistic psycho-murderers at every turn and a bodycount reaching into the dozens.

Instead, Kinsey normally has one or two crimes to resolve and while there is always a hint of personal danger (it would be dull if not!), the entertainment comes from following the clues and from the pleasant buzz of familiarity when Kinsey visits her regular haunts and meets familiar people.

Sue Grafton has changed her writing style for this book, and has veered away from the repetition of those familiar faces. So if you stopped reading the series because 'they all seemed the same' then this is a good one to pick up. The story revolves around the plot and the personalities involved in the crime -- it's much more of a whodunnit and a lot less of a soap-opera about Kinsey's personal life.

Overall, it has reinvigorated the series and leaves me much more likely to pick up T is for ??Trouble?? when it comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nicely woven story but poor ending, 3 Aug 2007
By 
mivona (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: S is for Silence (Paperback)
I love Grafton's books, and think this one was nicely constructed, weaving the flashbacks in with the current narrative to fill out the story. Her investigation is gripping, and as the story comes to the close, her narrow escape was harrowing.

But why? Why was Violet murdered by the culprit? Did the babysitter get her man? Did the sanctimonious housewife get her comeuppance?

A very unsatisfactory ending, abrupt and unfulfilling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just finished S is for Silence and really enjoyed it. I have read al the other Kinsey ..., 9 July 2014
By 
B. A. Bullivant (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just finished S is for Silence and really enjoyed it. I have read al the other Kinsey Millhone l and now need "T"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read the rest of the alphabet murders by Sue Grafton, if you, like me, enjoyed those, you'll love this book. It is different surroundings for Kinsey, but no less interesting or dangerous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
S. J. Mitchell "nurture" (Bowdon, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good story different from the usual Sue Grafton books but a good read nether the less
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy Ms Grafton's writing style and the fact that the story moves along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

S is for Silence (Kinsey Millhone Mystery 19)
S is for Silence (Kinsey Millhone Mystery 19) by Sue Grafton (Paperback - 6 Dec 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews