Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Kinsey background material
There are some good red herrings in this book, which she handles much better here than in K is for Killer. This is the most personal novel about Kinsey to date and I enjoyed the chance to find out more about her past and what makes her tick. Deception and false impressions are a strong theme of the book and make for a satisfyingly complex tangle to unravel.
Published on 31 Dec 2000 by Mrs. K. A. Wheatley

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a long way from A to Z - too long?
When a writer of crime fiction runs out of ideas, he or she tends to let bad things happen to the detective or the detective's family. That's always a bad sign. So when Kinsey Millhone's ex-husband is killed, and she starts investigating out of sheer quriosity (and, perhaps, for old times 'sake), this should be a warning to the reader.
Sue Grafton sticks to her...
Published on 5 Oct 1999 by fam.backman@mailbox.swipnet.se


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Kinsey background material, 31 Dec 2000
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: O is for Outlaw (Paperback)
There are some good red herrings in this book, which she handles much better here than in K is for Killer. This is the most personal novel about Kinsey to date and I enjoyed the chance to find out more about her past and what makes her tick. Deception and false impressions are a strong theme of the book and make for a satisfyingly complex tangle to unravel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep Up The Good Work Sue!!, 16 Nov 2000
This review is from: O is for Outlaw (Paperback)
I have been an avid fan of the Sue Grafton series. I was give I is for Innocent as a pressie. Since then I have never looked back. A plucky female detective!!!! If you have never read an of her books before I can guarentee you will love it. If you have read any of the previous novels you will love this also, a lot of loose strings are ties, old and new character are there. So wait no longer, pick it up and have a jolly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a long way from A to Z - too long?, 5 Oct 1999
This review is from: O is for Outlaw (Paperback)
When a writer of crime fiction runs out of ideas, he or she tends to let bad things happen to the detective or the detective's family. That's always a bad sign. So when Kinsey Millhone's ex-husband is killed, and she starts investigating out of sheer quriosity (and, perhaps, for old times 'sake), this should be a warning to the reader.
Sue Grafton sticks to her well-known routine in the O-book. Her heroine Kinsey Millhone jogs her 4 miles, lifts weights, eats junk food and makes notes on cards as usual. She breaks into the sealed houses of victims and suspects, and gladly puts herself in life-threatening situations, as in every book. She makes friends among lower-class people in about the same unrealistic way as Enid Blyton's Famous Five.
The only new thing about this book is that it is more clearly fixed in time, in the early eighties. Not that Grafton makes much use of it.
However, Kinsey's charm, sense of humour and her self-irony go straight into the reader's heart. So does her honesty:"If the bad guys don't play by the rules, why should the good guys have to?" Sue Grafton knows how to create a good story; it's just entertainment, but good entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb! Kinsey Millhone continues to thrill, 22 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: O is for Outlaw (Paperback)
Another First for Sue Grafton. The central plot takes you into Grafton's PI, Kinsey Millhone's, past. With each novel we seem to learn more and more about the PI and her background. This is cleverly done, as it gives the author more scope for future novels. In the latest alphabet novel, Millhone investigates her first husband's involvement in a murder, which took pace some 15 years ago. At the time, she could have cleared his name, but chose to go her own way. Now she has to admit that she may have been wrong, and someone is after her Ex. For me, I enjoyed every page of this book. I look forward to each new alphabet novel, and I have not been disappointed yet! Please can she hurry up wiyh the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A. Puzzle, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: O is for Outlaw (Kindle Edition)
I always enjoy Sue Grafton
s books although I have to concentrate on what's going on they get a bit complicated with all the characters in them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars o for outlaw, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: O is for Outlaw (Kinsey Milhone 14) (Paperback)
a good boook got it for a friend and she loved it had a few otf them now very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My Wife enjoyed this book very much, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: O is for Outlaw (Kindle Edition)
If I want to write a review why should I have to write a certain minimum number of words ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sue Grafton ook, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pleased with item and found the dealing very satisfactory. I would be happy to use this provider again when needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars O is for...., 3 Nov 2013
This review is from: O is for Outlaw (Kindle Edition)
Another great Kinsey Millhone novel. The female gumshoe stuck in the eighties, no Internet or mobile phone. Real detective work, libraries and microfilm, intuition, hard yards and hard work. Familiar characters who have been developed through the stories. Believable and very readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: O is for Outlaw (Kindle Edition)
up to Sue Grafton's usual standard.
If you've read the other books in this series you will enjoy this.
Get it today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf2245b8)

This product

O is for Outlaw (Kinsey Milhone 14)
O is for Outlaw (Kinsey Milhone 14) by Sue Grafton (Paperback - 11 Oct 2012)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews