Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
43
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 October 2005
"F is for Fugitive" starts with the lovely Kinsey Millhorne being hired by motel owner Royce Fowler who lives in the nearby seaside town of Floral Beach. Royce wants Kinsey to come up to Floral Beach to work on the case of his son Bailey. Bailey was convicted after admitting the voluntary manslaughter of his ex-girlfriend Jean Timberlake 17 years ago. Bailey escaped from prison and for the next several years has been on the run. After a routine police enquiry he is captured again and now faces charges of being a fugitive and his original crime. Royce has always believed his son was innocent of the murder of Jean and wants Kinsey to come and investigate and clear his son's name.
This in many ways of a stroke for Kinsey as since the destruction of her garage apartment in the previous book she has been living with her landlord Henry Pitts and in a typical independent Kinsey way she has became increasingly infuriated with Henry's motherly ways.
So Kinsey becomes the guests of the Bailey family although a less than relaxing time is in store for Kinesy. The pretty town of Floral Beach is home to another motley crew of strange characters, whether it's the hypochondriac ramblings of Royce's wife Ori. Pearl the gruff owner of the local bar, or Shanna Timberlake the dead girl's depressed and alcoholic mother.
This is one of the strong points of this book, lacking any of the regular characters from the other Kinsey books; this one is littered with interesting, intriguing and in many cases diabolical characters for us to get our teeth into. As usual the actual mystery is full of twists and turns and dead ends and only the terrier like interrogations of the tenacious Kinsey can get the truth out.
An extremely enjoyable book and one of the high points of the alphabet series of books.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2011
Having discovered Kinsey Millhone just a few years ago and reading the odd book I find I've recently become hooked and started reading systematically through the series from A is for Alibi. Yes, Sue Grafton has an underlying formula but she weaves new plots around it so that (so far) every book is a delighted. Right from Kinsey's introspections, through her going for a run (which often forces me out too!) through to her plotting it's 5-star stuff. This book didn't disappoint either- like some others, she has this set in a small town setting where relationships run deep and often lead to unexpected twists in the plot. If you like a good read, you'll like this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
I fell in love with Kinsey Millhone about four years ago when I was given one o her books to read when I was in hospital.
I really should say I fell in love with Sue. Grafton.
I hope to read each and every one of the Alpherbet series before I go.
Although this is supposed to be about the above book, my review would be the same for all the Kinsey Millhone stories.
All I can say is that Sue Grafton has created one of the best private eyes I have ever read - she is fiesty, clever, her humour is wonderful and I love her! Long may she live and her landlord Henry.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
Kinsey continues to work her way through mysteries. Whilst living with her landlord after a bomb ruined her apartment she is keen to get away for a while so agrees to take on an out of town case.

The fugitive doesn't actually figure all that large in the story but how he got to become one does. It wasn't that hard to guess who the baddie was but an interesting process to get to finding out.

Not a classic but an entertaining way to spend time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
these books are always a safe bet for a good read, i hate reading books with spelling errors and a plot so improbable you have to put it down as it gets annoying, these are well crafted and always a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2016
A really enjoyable book, a witty likeable character. I've read all the books so far, although not necessarily in the right order! The crimes and plots are intricate, but there is nothing gory or sensational. A good holiday read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2006
I am the obsessive kind of reader that insists on reading a crime series in order, therefore I came to this novel knowing exactly what was in store for me, yet another Kinsey Millhone murder mystery. I presume that if you are reading this review and are planning on buying it then you will have read A,B,C,D and E. If you haven't read this novels then stop right there. You shouldn't be looking at 'F is for Fugitive' but 'A is for Alibi' so you can start the series at the start (which surely is the most logical thing to do).

'F is for Fugitive', the sixth in the series, is more of the same. Kinsey being employed to investigate a crime, lots of fantastic characters and interesting settings and the obligatory twists and turns. If you liked the other novels in the series you will like this one.

What I especially liked about this novel was the ending, it really did manage to be haunting whereas some of the denouments in the previous novels in the series have been a little bit of a let down.

Another thing I liked was the setting. I got a real feel for the location and there was a real sense of atmosphere.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I nearly put this book down several times in the first few chapters as it was slow to start, but persevere, it is well worth it. There is an excellent study of insanity and a nice thirties 'noirish' touch with the whole golf course scenario. It ends brilliantly.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
All the Kinsey Milhone books are sooooo enjoyable.
Great central character in KM and good characterisation throughout.
The books always allow time for a chuckle from time to time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
Enjoyed this. The books flow into one another which I like but they also stand alone well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse