Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars D Is for Deadbeat
It's rather a bitter sweet novel over all, there's one scene at a funeral which is brilliantly funny and had me laughing out loud. On the other hand, the final scene of the book is tragically depressing and ends the book on a little bit of a downer.
The book has hardly a mention of the other regular characters Kinsey knows, so there is no appearance from Henry and...
Published on 24 Oct 2005 by Rich Milligan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of her best - yet still enjoyable
Even when the story lets you down, which I felt this one did, there is always plenty of interest in where Grafton takes her protagonist, Kinsey Millhone. I didn't find the characters very sympathetic in this book and it was hard for me to care what happened to them. Having said that it was still an interesting read.
Published on 16 Nov 2000 by Mrs. K. A. Wheatley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars D Is for Deadbeat, 24 Oct 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
It's rather a bitter sweet novel over all, there's one scene at a funeral which is brilliantly funny and had me laughing out loud. On the other hand, the final scene of the book is tragically depressing and ends the book on a little bit of a downer.
The book has hardly a mention of the other regular characters Kinsey knows, so there is no appearance from Henry and Rosie pops up only the once. That said, Kinsey finally cements her relationship with Jonah Robb whose wife, to both his and Kinsey's delight, as decided she wants an open relationship!
As I say this one isn't so light and "throwaway" as some of the other alphabet mysteries but is still very dramatic and very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sue Grafton is a very talented writer., 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All the books I have read from this author has gripped me right to the very end. The books although are different stories they seem to flow after one another by introducing people mentioned in the previous book, this I really enjoy as it just feels as the book goes on and on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D is for Deadbeat: A Kinsey Millhone Mystery (Kinsey Millhone Mystery 4) (Paperback)
was given a book in the series as a holiday read and decided to make my way through the series. really like the stories by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Distinctly not Deadbeat, 3 Jan 2014
This is the fourth book in the Kinsey Millhone series, and I feel that I'm really getting to know Kinsey, and how she reacts to situations. Sue Grafton writes some delicious descriptive prose which gives a real life sparkle to her words, and makes the story very real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another shocker from Sue, 18 Dec 2013
Didn't see that ending coming. As always with Sue Grafton a truly good read, she never fails to have me turning the pages with eager anticipation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another winner, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
she's a great writer, not only of plots, but her metaphors and descriptions, plus the really feisty, believable heroine private investigator, Kinsey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
all of sue grafton books are a really good read and very well written.if you have not read her books i really recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 5 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. M. H. Burns (Huntingdon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D Is for Deadbeat (Paperback)
As always, Sue Grafton grips your attention and yet lets you have a smile on your face, whilst wondering "who done it"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good thriller, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D is for Deadbeat: A Kinsey Millhone Mystery (Kinsey Millhone Mystery 4) (Paperback)
Don't usually like American thriller writers, but having been given one of the Kinsey Millhone mysterys, I found I liked it so have now read a few. They are fast moving and very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this lady's books!, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was my first read on my Kindle; and it did not disappoint. I've enjoyed all the books, that I have read so far, in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

D is for Deadbeat: A Kinsey Millhone Mystery (Kinsey Millhone Mystery 4)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews