Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Anglish man abroad
I really enjoyed Severin's Viking trilogy a few years ago, so when I saw this the first in a series seemingly about Saxons I jumped in. Only to find it really isn't about the saxons at all. Well it's about one of them, who within the first few pages finds himself in Charlemagne's Frankia! Bothered? No not really because it was a cracking little book!

What I...
Published on 12 Aug 2012 by Mr. A. I. Harrison

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read
Thoroughly enjoyable read. A little far fetched in some instances and reference to the Holy Grail is a little predictable, but still looking to see what happens to Sigwulf in the next instalment.
Published 18 months ago by PaulQ157


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug 2014
By 
S. Macartney "mac gael" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saxon: The Book of Dreams (Paperback)
great book Tim at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's Saxon but not as we know it, Jim ..., 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saxon: The Book of Dreams (Saxon 1)

A tedious story, poorly written. The basic history is fine but the story was not engaging (I read historical novels like other people breathe and this was a let-down). Why on earth would you give a Saxon prince the moniker "Patch"?? Could not get vision of either Robin Williams (Patch Adams) or Dudley Moore (Santa Claus the Movie), let alone a dog, out of my head - totally destroyed what little atmosphere the book might have engendered. Very disappointed and did not enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Come on make it believeable, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Terrible, I love historical fiction but something authors just churn out rubbish for profit . Not a chance I'll follow up the rest of the series. Totally unbelievable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars severin, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not up to the level of his previous stories- less action and a more rambling text but an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saxon: The Book of Dreams (Paperback)
good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly Mind-Numbing, 2 Mar 2013
By 
N. M. White (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read a lot of historical fiction by a number of different authors but this has to be one of the worst books I've ever read. It reads like it was written by a 14 year old although this could be the target audience. I will never read one of Severin's books again, no matter how strongly Amazon recommends it to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a book, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Shock, horror! I just have to write a few more words to get rid of this virtual demand for a review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea, 28 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantasy tale a bit far fetched. Too blob thirsty. A tale too far. Did not finish. Got bored with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars saxon 1, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did not find it an interesting read. I will not buy any more of the series. The characters were not very believable. For me too far back in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saxon: The Book of Dreams
Saxon: The Book of Dreams by Tim Severin (Paperback - 25 April 2013)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews