Customer Reviews


710 Reviews
5 star:
 (533)
4 star:
 (136)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read
I was really looking forward to reading this book as I had read very good reviews. I wasn't disappointed. It is told from the perspective of the 2 main characters - Jane and Ivy. It is set in the 1960's in North Carolina. Jane is newly married and goes against her husband's wishes by wanting a career so becomes a social worker. Ivy is a young girl living with her family...
Published 12 months ago by Annette Bowstead

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An engaging book on an interesting subject
A good story with strong characters and an easy read as the book is broken down into accessible bite sized chapters. I had no idea about the Eugenics programme so I found that very interesting. I didn't feel the book was particularly well written which is why I have given it three stars. I found it a bit too simplistic but nonetheless it was an enjoyable read.
Published 11 months ago by Black Cat


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 471 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A book to share, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Necessary Lies (Paperback)
This book is beautifully written. It made me feel very emotionally involved in the story. I took it along as 1/10 books on my 2 week hols. I lent it to my husband unsure what he would think, as I incorrectly thought it was a more female read. He thought it was excellent too! This book came home with me and is being handed out to friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and thought provoking, 30 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Necessary Lies (Kindle Edition)
this book surprised me. I have not read anything by this author before and was hoping for at least an entertaining read. instead this book is beautifully written. it approaches a very difficult subject by showing the viewpoints of both sides without falling into stereotypes. Riveting. it should be made into a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Definitely the worst Diane Chamberlain I've tried, 10 Aug 2014
This review is from: Necessary Lies (Paperback)
I failed to get into this one at all. Usually even if I don't much like the plot her books are well written and entertaining. I struggled to get beyond the first 25% as the action swept between different characters and I struggled to keep up with who was who and what was what as it all seemed so disjointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *** re previous post be ellalee ***, 4 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Necessary Lies (Paperback)
Previous post by ellalee relates to Her Mother's Shadow, not The latest book Necessary Lies, which is a standalone book, not part of a trilogy, as stated by this reviewer.

Can highly rate all of Diane Chamberlain's books, as I have read every one. Her depth of research is why her books are so well written and the storylines so gripping. Can't wait for the next!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Necessary Lies (Kindle Edition)
As usual with Diane Chamberlain 's books I couldn't put it down, keeps you wanting more and desperate to get to the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading!, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Necessary Lies (Kindle Edition)
Takes a little while to get going, but when it does, it is brilliant and I couldn't put it down! Lots to think about with this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed it!, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Necessary Lies (Kindle Edition)
This book kept me interested the whole way through. Great writing style, easy read and a really good story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book could not put it down captured the essense ..., 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Necessary Lies (Kindle Edition)
Very good book could not put it down captured the essense o
Of the early sixties in the south of
America and the plight of the poorer families
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a great story, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Necessary Lies (Kindle Edition)
Really engages moral considerations and emotions in the reader.
About power and good intentions and the interface between them.
A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Necessary Lies (Kindle Edition)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 471 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Necessary Lies
Necessary Lies by Diane Chamberlain (Paperback - 1 Aug 2013)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews