Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A counting game with a difference!
From Julia Donaldson, author of The Gruffalo.

Large format paperback with 32 shiny high quality pages in the popular two-page spread format, with clear text.
Delightful illustrations throughout, from Anna Currey, further enhanced by meaningful facial expressions.

From the back cover:

'One ted falls out of bed.
How will he ever...
Published on 11 Feb 2008 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK!

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book!
My one-year old enjoyed my reading of it. But compared to Julia's other tittles
this one disappointed me a bit. It's an okay book to have when you want a
change from her classics "The Gruffalo", "Room on the Broom, etc.
Published 12 months ago by Vinicius S. De Carvalho


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A counting game with a difference!, 11 Feb 2008
From Julia Donaldson, author of The Gruffalo.

Large format paperback with 32 shiny high quality pages in the popular two-page spread format, with clear text.
Delightful illustrations throughout, from Anna Currey, further enhanced by meaningful facial expressions.

From the back cover:

'One ted falls out of bed.
How will he ever get back in?
Count with Ted from one to ten as he goes on an amazing night-time adventure.'

Examples of text:

'One ted falls out of bed.
He tugs and pulls the bedclothes BUT.......Two eyes are tight shut.
He jumps and shouts and makes a fuss,
Till three mice say, "Play with us!"........'

Oh dear - Ted is out of bed, and his owner is too fast asleep to notice.....but Ted finds himself taken on a great adventure as the pages count up to ten, and back again!
And..... all is well that ends well, as Ted is back where he started, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best bedtime books, 5 Aug 2008
By 
This is a lovely book and a favourite with my son since 18 months (he is now coming up to 2). The illustrations are endearing and the poem leads through the numbers in a simple but eloquent way. A lot of the vocabulary falls neatly into the 'first words' category (car, star, etc) so even at a very young age children can join in with the story and remember concepts. Although we have read this time and time again I am still enjoying it. Would highly recommend as a first birthday gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not too twee, 11 Oct 2011
I'm only sorry that we were given this book for my daughter's 2nd birthday, as I agree with the other commenst that it's more suited to a 1 - 2 year old. But it's lovely - a counting book with a story to it, fuelled by the idea that every child has about what happens to their toys when they go to sleep.

It builds up nicely, the illustrations really help to add a sense of energy, and it's old fashioned without being too twee.
I just hope my daughter lets me read it more often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book!, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Vinicius S. De Carvalho (Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Ted Falls Out of Bed (Board book)
My one-year old enjoyed my reading of it. But compared to Julia's other tittles
this one disappointed me a bit. It's an okay book to have when you want a
change from her classics "The Gruffalo", "Room on the Broom, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for counting but not as good as the gruffalo, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Ted Falls Out of Bed (Board book)
I know it's hard to beat the gruffalo but the drawings in this book are pretty but not a patch on the gruffalo. It's a sturdy book and will help with counting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product, 8 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Haven't read it myself but my neice loves it, nice quality print and paper. Very colourful and good value over all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous way to teach counting, 7 Jan 2012
A simply beautiful book; the text is extremely simple and is a good way of encouraging children to count, but what makes it a winner for me is the way it's illustrated. The illustrator has managed to create such a sense of fun, excitement and movement throughout that you can't help but smile your way through every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Ted Falls Out of Bed (Board book)
Sorry, but I was rather disappointed by this, as it does not come near the standards of her other stories. The wording is minimal, as if for a tiny baby, yet the pictures are too gentle and delicate as if for a one year old. My granddaughter was not interested in reading it again with me, which is almost unheard of
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute, 31 May 2009
I love this book and so does my son (nearly two). The illustrations are beautiful; the Ted is endearing and the mice are life-like and CUTE! Although it is a counting book it does not feel at all contrived and Ted manages to go on quite an adventure in quite a short poem. No gimmicks, just a lovely book that grows on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Julia Donaldsons best book by far, 24 Nov 2008
By 
Ms. C. M. Hough "ziggy1234" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If your child loves teddy bears this book will be a big hit. Written in the typical Julia Donaldson style with her brilliant rhyming this story is about a teddy bear who falls out of bed and about all the toys he meets along the way who help him to get back into bed. Brilliant, Brilliant Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Ted Falls Out of Bed
One Ted Falls Out of Bed by Julia Donaldson (Board book - 5 July 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews