Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever, mysterious and exciting!
Last year's The Lost Library was the first thriller to introduce us to Emily Weiss, a young Professor of History and Religion with a talent for seeking out danger and a knack for putting right wrongs at great personal risk to herself. She is a brave and immensely likeable heroine who, in The Keystone, has a much more powerful motive for embarking on her next dangerous...
Published 13 months ago by Kate

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable
A good enjoyable read, which incorporates a dose of history with a modern adventure. A good follow-up to The Lost Library.
Published 11 months ago by Sharon Connolly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever, mysterious and exciting!, 15 Aug 2013
By 
Kate (Oxford, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Keystone (Paperback)
Last year's The Lost Library was the first thriller to introduce us to Emily Weiss, a young Professor of History and Religion with a talent for seeking out danger and a knack for putting right wrongs at great personal risk to herself. She is a brave and immensely likeable heroine who, in The Keystone, has a much more powerful motive for embarking on her next dangerous adventure - her cousin Andrew is murdered in her house, protecting her, by men looking for an old document in her care. It is, despite all appearances to the contrary, a map. With half of it stolen, Emily has no choice but to discover the object of the map before the killers can and then wreak vengeance on them for the slaughter of Andrew. By her side is her husband Michael, also an academic. The two of them, though, can have no idea of the nature of the threat they face - a Gnostic cult, its roots grounded centuries before and now interwoven into the fabric of society. It has a plan. Liberation is at hand. Only Emily and her husband stand in the way of their destiny as the race is on to find the mysterious and ancient keystone, where X marks the spot.

It is only fair to disclose that I have an undeserved but deeply appreciated acknowledgement in The Keystone for my reading of a very early version of the first part of the novel. I had not, though, read the rest and when I saw a copy of the book for sale in an English bookshop in Paris last week I snapped it up, eager to read the rest of the story and see how it turned out. While I'd enjoyed The Lost Library a great deal, I had had some issues with it. But I didn't have one with The Keystone. A.M. Dean has produced a polished and confident thriller that races along, shocking, alarming and puzzling, as all good thrillers should, and with characters that you really do care about and, above all else, a story or quest worthy of their bravery and courage. It is a roller coaster of a read.

The story is full of clues and warnings of danger, short chapters that spur us and Emily and Michael on, across the terrain of the Egyptian desert or through the cities of North America, hunting for something that through the centuries has changed in its nature culminating in these last few dangerous days. Supporting characters, such as Chris of the FBI, really add to the story, while the passing to and fro between different periods of history sets the chase in a rich and curious context.

As with many thrillers that involve secret organisations, you can expect red herrings, false names and hidden quests, but matched against that is the openness of Emily and Michael who work to come to terms with the death of Andrew through action. Obviously, I can't tell you any more about it. You must discover the truth of the quest, the fun of the chase, for yourself.

I really enjoyed The Keystone - clever, mysterious and exciting til the last page. It was the perfect holiday reading and I am so pleased to be able to recommend this to all thriller lovers. I would always suggest that you start with the first of a series but The Keystone would also succeed as a stand alone adventure. I look forward to many more in the company of Emily Weiss and A.M. Dean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Keystone by A.M.Dean, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Keystone (Kindle Edition)
Very good plot incorporating the 13 Nag Hammadi codice.
Also an excellent precis on Gnostic interpretation.
Story keeps you continually on the edge of your seat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must read, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Keystone (Paperback)
Couldn't put the book down and having shorter chapters was a real bonus. Thoroughly recommend it. kept me on the edge of my seat throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Keystone (Kindle Edition)
this was purchased on the off chance it would be good and it did not disappoint. so I bought the other book from this author too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just my cup of tea., 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Keystone (Paperback)
I love reading and this is just the kind of book I enjoy reading. I had not heard of this author before, but now look forward to reading more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Keystone (Kindle Edition)
A good enjoyable read, which incorporates a dose of history with a modern adventure. A good follow-up to The Lost Library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, keeps your interest from start to finish, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Keystone (Kindle Edition)
Well written. Great story, keeps your interest from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written., 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Keystone (Kindle Edition)
Well written enjoyable book, keeping a lookout for more titles by this author, bought this one after reading The Lost Library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Keystone (Paperback)
Its a good read but could have been better,but then again there are an awful lot of books of the genre out at the moment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Keystone (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed both books in this series. Can't wait for the next instalment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Keystone
The Keystone by A.M. Dean (Paperback - 15 Aug 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews