Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FAST MOVING ADVENTURE
THE LOST LIBRARY by A.M.Dean is a novel about the search for The Lost Library of Alexandria known to have been a major institution and source of knowledge in the ancient world. It was believed to have been destroyed by fire 2,000 years ago whether by accident or design clearly is not known.

In this story we have an old and very well respected professor who...
Published 15 months ago by BRIAN PLAYFAIR

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst book ever?
The Lost Library must surely be among the worst examples of this type of modern picaresque fiction. The plot is numbingly predictable - amazingly there are two groups of powerful men (not too many women make an appearance, other than the central character) one of which claims to control all the world's 'knowledge' while the other is out to gain absolute power at any cost...
Published 23 months ago by JTD


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FAST MOVING ADVENTURE, 1 Jun 2013
By 
BRIAN PLAYFAIR "SAQQARA" (CLELAND SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Library (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
THE LOST LIBRARY by A.M.Dean is a novel about the search for The Lost Library of Alexandria known to have been a major institution and source of knowledge in the ancient world. It was believed to have been destroyed by fire 2,000 years ago whether by accident or design clearly is not known.

In this story we have an old and very well respected professor who appears to be "The Keeper" of the knowledge about the library and a group of well placed people who seek details and will kill to obtain them. The professor is murdered but since he knows they are coming for him manages to pass some clues on to a colleague Emily Wess. Having some knowledge on the matter she sets out on an adventure tasked with finding and protecting his secrets. An unlikely heroine by way of her age and circumstances, she is smart enough to work through the clues and lead us though all the twists and turns of what develops into a fast moving adventure whist being followed by those determined gain the knowledge for themselves. There are cryptic clues, detective work and discoveries as she undertakes the task passed to her. Does she find the lost library ? .......why don't you give this book the chance to tell you. It is an ideal holiday read which will leave the feeling that finding out has been a pleasurable experience.

A.M.Dean is the pseudonym for a leading academic who knows what he is writing about. Some historical novels involving the ancient world however well researched don't hang together - this one does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a ripping treasure hunt, 2 Oct 2012
By 
David Spanswick (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Library (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Rather than comparing this book to Dan Brown and his plagiaristic output I was reminded so much of the excitement I felt when first I went on adventures with Enid Blyton. Books should be exciting, or, at least, some of them! Also I was taken back to those sojourns into the exotic and romantic East taken by the intrepid heroines of Agatha Christie in her books from the 1930s.

From the very first page of the mysterious A.M.Dean's book I was hooked and pursued Emily (such a jolly heroine's name)as she followed clue after impossible clue in her search, as in all good treasure hunts for an impossibility made reality. No holy grail here but something much more explosive and far reaching.

The action takes place within a few days and the pace is so fast I felt like I was clinging on for dear life at some points. Any reader of misdirectional fiction will probably be able to keep up and even overtake our lovely heroine as the book does unfortunately take a turn into a slight flabbiness ~ padding; exposition ~ but that does at least give you time to catch your breath.

The chapter headings give evidence to the speed the action is undergoing and it is best not to break your read for too long as there are a few plot holes you could fit a pyramid in, this is nonetheless a very exciting read and would make a tedious journey whizz past. If you enjoyed the "National Treasure" or "Indiana Jones" or "Mummy" films this one is definitely for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Library (Kindle Edition)
A thoroughly enjoyable read. The story is fast-paced and, in places, intriguing. I didn't want to put it down! Informative and intelligently written, it takes one of the world's great mysteries and turns it into an extremely entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed thriller, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Library (Paperback)
A M Dean's powerful debut conspiracy thriller, The Lost Library, draws you in and sets you off on a dangerous and gripping journey full of mystery and suspense and a plot that weaves and interlinks adding depth and layers to the fast paced storyline.
After the keeper of the secret hiding place of the Library of Alexandria is murdered, the unlikely heroine of the story, Emily Wess sets out across the globe following clue after clue in the hope of discovering its whereabouts and saving and protecting the knowledge within it from falling into the corrupt hands of the Council. Meanwhile, in the USA, a political plot is set into motion with the Council once again the masterminds behind this subversive plan.
This for me was an excellent read and one I would certainly recommend. I am very much looking forward to the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great mystery adventure, 7 July 2013
By 
Beanie Luck Spud (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Lost Library (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this ripping adventure yarn.

I really liked the fact that the hero of the story was female and she was the adventurer, it was great to read about her adventures and all the dangers she gets herself into.

In some instances it reminded me a lot of the famous five, now bear with me on this, but you know how they always had to solve mystery's, well this is kinda like that, searching out clues and deciphering cryptic texts.

A colleagues murder, a lost library, two secret societies, manipulation of world events involving those seated at the top of government, far fetched?

Emily Wess, has been picked as the chosen one to unravel the clues to what would be the biggest find in history, thrown in at the deep end, some things cannot be just given, they have to be discovered, how far would you go to protect a legacy, a centuries old drama steeped in deception, death and destruction, would you want to take a stand for a cause that went far beyond anything you could ever imagine. Travelling across continents, Emily follows the trail of clues, until she realises those close to her are in danger.

Fight or flight , well you`ll have to read it to find out more.

I really liked it and would definitely read another in the series if it was to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Library (Kindle Edition)
Still reading this but am absolutely intrigued by this mystery and trying to solve the puzzles along with the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Library (Kindle Edition)
I have to admit that after reading many historic fiction books I was very surprised at the outcome of this book. A blending of old and new with twists in every chapter.
I am now going to read his next book and I am sure that it will be just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true page turner - thoroughly enjoyable race against time, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Library (Kindle Edition)
A modern female heroine in a male dominated, archaic worked of scholars follows the breadcrumbs put down to open the secrets a world thought was lost! I was completely hooked from beginning to end - what a great first novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst book ever?, 24 Sep 2012
This review is from: Lost Library (Paperback)
The Lost Library must surely be among the worst examples of this type of modern picaresque fiction. The plot is numbingly predictable - amazingly there are two groups of powerful men (not too many women make an appearance, other than the central character) one of which claims to control all the world's 'knowledge' while the other is out to gain absolute power at any cost. The two groups play out their duel against an equally unsurprising background of political shennanigans in Washington while the hero character is sent to various locations as she is inducted into the 'good guys' and, via a series of cyptic clues is lead to attempt to thwart the intertwining plots.

The writing plods. The sentences are convoluted and strangulated to such an extent that the original meaning is often lost. The vocabulary is limited and where there is variety one suspects that the author simply clicked the 'Thesaurus' button on his lap-top.

The most depressing element is that the editorial errors and inconsistencies are grotesque. A few examples -

- the maps at he beginning of the book serve no purpose - they may as well be maps of Never, Never Land
- The main character manages her multi-national dashes between cities on only a few peanuts snatched during one of her flights.
-She boards a boat in Turkey at the last minute (the boat is actually moving as she does so) and then spots her 'pursuers' who were some way behind her, also made it onto the boat without her noticing.
- She manages to enter one of the key buildings and avoid detection as she wanders its corridors and offices (which are bizarrely referred to as the grounds) by the cunning ruse of using the washroom.
- One of her key allies flees his office at the Alexandrina Library only for his attackers to catch and shoot him yet he is found back in his own office with no explanation.
- The Alexandrina Library is closed on Fridays - as is normal practice in Muslim countries - and so how our hero even gained entry is a mystery
- the timings for jouneys between Heathrow and Oxford take no account of passport control, traffic etc..
- the British police save the day at the last moment, despite the fact that they are not routinely armed.

This book is so poor it makes one wonder whether it was researched (albeit very inadequately) from the comfort of the author's study via the internet. In any event, if, as it is claimed, AM Dean is a 'leading authority on ancient cultures', perhaps that is where he should direct his energies in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Library (Kindle Edition)
This book is really exciting and very much worth the read. I couldn't put it down until it was finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Library
The Lost Library by A.M. Dean (Paperback - 16 Aug 2012)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews