Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FAST MOVING ADVENTURE
THE LOST LIBRARY by A.M.Dean is a novel about the search for The Lost Library of Alexandria known to have been a major institution and source of knowledge in the ancient world. It was believed to have been destroyed by fire 2,000 years ago whether by accident or design clearly is not known.

In this story we have an old and very well respected professor who...
Published 23 months ago by BRIAN PLAYFAIR

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Passable - at best
Characterisation and authentic dialogue are sacrificed for plot and pace. Then again, this is always the case with this genre. Reading this novel I realised I was no longer a fan of such stories: when realism goes out the window and believability is stretched to breaking point (tastes change as you get older, I guess). I would probably enjoy this more if I had been on a...
Published 19 months ago by D. P. Mankin


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FAST MOVING ADVENTURE, 1 Jun. 2013
By 
BRIAN PLAYFAIR "SAQQARA" (CLELAND SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Library (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
THE LOST LIBRARY by A.M.Dean is a novel about the search for The Lost Library of Alexandria known to have been a major institution and source of knowledge in the ancient world. It was believed to have been destroyed by fire 2,000 years ago whether by accident or design clearly is not known.

In this story we have an old and very well respected professor who appears to be "The Keeper" of the knowledge about the library and a group of well placed people who seek details and will kill to obtain them. The professor is murdered but since he knows they are coming for him manages to pass some clues on to a colleague Emily Wess. Having some knowledge on the matter she sets out on an adventure tasked with finding and protecting his secrets. An unlikely heroine by way of her age and circumstances, she is smart enough to work through the clues and lead us though all the twists and turns of what develops into a fast moving adventure whist being followed by those determined gain the knowledge for themselves. There are cryptic clues, detective work and discoveries as she undertakes the task passed to her. Does she find the lost library ? .......why don't you give this book the chance to tell you. It is an ideal holiday read which will leave the feeling that finding out has been a pleasurable experience.

A.M.Dean is the pseudonym for a leading academic who knows what he is writing about. Some historical novels involving the ancient world however well researched don't hang together - this one does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great mystery adventure, 7 July 2013
By 
Beanie Luck (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Lost Library (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this ripping adventure yarn.

I really liked the fact that the hero of the story was female and she was the adventurer, it was great to read about her adventures and all the dangers she gets herself into.

In some instances it reminded me a lot of the famous five, now bear with me on this, but you know how they always had to solve mystery's, well this is kinda like that, searching out clues and deciphering cryptic texts.

A colleagues murder, a lost library, two secret societies, manipulation of world events involving those seated at the top of government, far fetched?

Emily Wess, has been picked as the chosen one to unravel the clues to what would be the biggest find in history, thrown in at the deep end, some things cannot be just given, they have to be discovered, how far would you go to protect a legacy, a centuries old drama steeped in deception, death and destruction, would you want to take a stand for a cause that went far beyond anything you could ever imagine. Travelling across continents, Emily follows the trail of clues, until she realises those close to her are in danger.

Fight or flight , well you`ll have to read it to find out more.

I really liked it and would definitely read another in the series if it was to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a ripping treasure hunt, 2 Oct. 2012
By 
David Spanswick (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Library (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Rather than comparing this book to Dan Brown and his plagiaristic output I was reminded so much of the excitement I felt when first I went on adventures with Enid Blyton. Books should be exciting, or, at least, some of them! Also I was taken back to those sojourns into the exotic and romantic East taken by the intrepid heroines of Agatha Christie in her books from the 1930s.

From the very first page of the mysterious A.M.Dean's book I was hooked and pursued Emily (such a jolly heroine's name)as she followed clue after impossible clue in her search, as in all good treasure hunts for an impossibility made reality. No holy grail here but something much more explosive and far reaching.

The action takes place within a few days and the pace is so fast I felt like I was clinging on for dear life at some points. Any reader of misdirectional fiction will probably be able to keep up and even overtake our lovely heroine as the book does unfortunately take a turn into a slight flabbiness ~ padding; exposition ~ but that does at least give you time to catch your breath.

The chapter headings give evidence to the speed the action is undergoing and it is best not to break your read for too long as there are a few plot holes you could fit a pyramid in, this is nonetheless a very exciting read and would make a tedious journey whizz past. If you enjoyed the "National Treasure" or "Indiana Jones" or "Mummy" films this one is definitely for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed thriller, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Library (Paperback)
A M Dean's powerful debut conspiracy thriller, The Lost Library, draws you in and sets you off on a dangerous and gripping journey full of mystery and suspense and a plot that weaves and interlinks adding depth and layers to the fast paced storyline.
After the keeper of the secret hiding place of the Library of Alexandria is murdered, the unlikely heroine of the story, Emily Wess sets out across the globe following clue after clue in the hope of discovering its whereabouts and saving and protecting the knowledge within it from falling into the corrupt hands of the Council. Meanwhile, in the USA, a political plot is set into motion with the Council once again the masterminds behind this subversive plan.
This for me was an excellent read and one I would certainly recommend. I am very much looking forward to the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book from a fascinating writer, new to fiction, 18 July 2012
By 
rhosymynydd "liz" (west wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Lost Library (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Reading on the cover that the author is a Professor of Theology and obviously the author of many non fiction texts was initially a little intimidating - would he be able to make the jump to fictionalise history? Simply - yes, and in such a way he has the reader believing that perhaps there is more to the book than simply fiction?
The writing style is fluid and entertaining. The subject of the lost library of Alexandria is one of the world's greatest mystery and in this book A M Dean (a clever pseudonym for such an author) certainly has us entranced with his thrilling novel when the Keeper is suddenly killed and an unusual heroine, a Professor of history Emily Weiss is thrown into the chase to not only find the library and protect its contents at the same time trying to stay alive and ahead of the game. This is a must read thriller and one I could not put down once started. My usual 4:00 am finish was worth the wasted sleep. The ingenuity of the conclusion was indeed a fantastic ending. Great book and so looking forward to the next one by "A M Dean" - hopefully not too long to wait - er, please! The Lost Library
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Library (Kindle Edition)
A thoroughly enjoyable read. The story is fast-paced and, in places, intriguing. I didn't want to put it down! Informative and intelligently written, it takes one of the world's great mysteries and turns it into an extremely entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Library, 18 Oct. 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lost Library (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The book starts with the murder of a university professor in the US and the bombing of a church in Oxford, England. Emily Wess - a professor at the same university as the murder victim - is about to take a few days break with her boyfriend over Thanksgiving when her plans are abruptly changed by a letter from the dead man and a plane ticket to the UK.

This complex thriller involves a political plot in the US and the ancient library at Alexandria which may or may not have been destroyed in ancient times. Knowledge is power and Emily finds herself taking part in a race against time to stop it falling into the wrong hands and putting the whole world at risk. At first glance this might seem a typical thriller in the mould of Dan Brown's Da Vinci Code - and this is what it is in many ways. However it does have an intriguing mystery at its heart - the possibility that the original library at Alexandria may still exist and may not have been destroyed.

I liked Emily and I though she showed a great deal of sense in the way she pursued her quest. Some of the political plotters were very two dimensional and not that convincing. I felt the first one hundred and fifty pages were a little too melodramatic and it was too much like a formulaic thriller but after that the historical aspects took me over and I became totally absorbed in the story. The political plot failed to convince me but the book is worth reading for the background of the Library at Alexandria. If you like a mixture of ancient and modern then try this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Library (Kindle Edition)
Still reading this but am absolutely intrigued by this mystery and trying to solve the puzzles along with the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast-paced!, 19 Feb. 2013
By 
Yve-anne Alexander (Cambridge, Lincs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Library (Paperback)
This is definitely a better read than Dan Brown and if you enjoy a fast-paced race to discover a secret with your enemies in hot pursuit, then this is the read for you. The short chapters, which some other reviewers have complained about, add to the pace of the novel as the reader is taken from one location/character to the other. The basic story is about a young woman, Dr Emily Wess, who is given the task of following clues to the whereabouts of the lost library of Alexandria. Given the task by the former Keeper of the Society, Emily soon discovers that she is not alone in her quest as the secret Council follow her, leaving death and destruction in their wake. And, of course, soon Emily herself is in mortal danger. Based on some real historical facts, A M Dean weaves this story through twists and turns towards the surprising conclusion. Easy to read, I found this book hard to put down. It is not intellectual or academic, but it is enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An old fashioned quest, 15 Nov. 2013
By 
Uncle Barbar (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lost Library (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is written, under pseudonym, by a leading academic authority on ancient cultures and history of religious belief. As you would expect, it is extremely well researched. It is a nice, fat tome to get your teeth into and will appeal to anyone who likes a good yarn, well told. It is an old-fashioned detective story where the fun is trying to see if you can pick up the clues along the way. It's an archetypal quest with a satisfying conclusion. Plus, I learned a bit of history about the library at Alexandria along the way. This would be a great gift for a relative who likes detective fiction that is a puzzle rather than a gorefest, which so many seem to be these days. As other readers have commented, this really did remind me of Indiana Jones meets The Mummy films - but more highbrow. A good, old-fashioned romp and thoroughly recommended. Looking forward to his next offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Library
The Lost Library by A.M. Dean (Paperback - 16 Aug. 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews