Customer Reviews


201 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Epic!
The nights dawn trilogy is a masterpiece. It combines some of the best science fiction I have ever read with a brilliant character, great space ships and space battles, good sex scenes and a plot that will keep you reading late into the night. Peter F Hamilton is one of the greats, and ranks alongside Issac Asimov, Frank Herbert, and Iain M Banks. In many ways Peter...
Published on 6 Mar 2011 by John

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Zombies really necessary?
I read the book whilst on holiday (Beach book) and, considering the 1200+ pages, it only took me 7 days and certainly kept me riveted.

Up until the point where we moved away from the well thought-out and, for me, plausible science fiction I absolutely loved the book and couldn't put it down. This 'point' arrives about half way through where we are suddenly...
Published 10 months ago by Thritham


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Epic!, 6 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The nights dawn trilogy is a masterpiece. It combines some of the best science fiction I have ever read with a brilliant character, great space ships and space battles, good sex scenes and a plot that will keep you reading late into the night. Peter F Hamilton is one of the greats, and ranks alongside Issac Asimov, Frank Herbert, and Iain M Banks. In many ways Peter Hamilton manages to combine some of the best traits for all of them, and while I wouldn't give every one of his books five stars, this trilogy is firmly my favorite. If you have already read this one make sure to follow up with the Commonwealth series and Fallen Dragon.

In response to criticisms by those who gave this book 1 star... A well written book or trilogy cannot possibly be too long. This trilogy is long, if you have the attention span of a monkey, then stick to Larry Niven. This trilogy had me completely addicted from start to finish. Yes it took me a while but in truth, that was part of epic nature of the story. Others point to specific details in the plot and characterization. When I read it I didn't really notice any issues. It reads well. Also, there are some who say this book is homophobic. It is NOT. The main evil character is twisted sure, but the way the other male characters respond to his advances gives the feel of a society accepting of homosexuality.

In summary, most critics of this brilliant and ground breaking trilogy haven't bothered to finish it or simply aren't sci-fi readers. If you love science fiction... READ THE NIGHTS DAWN trilogy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Zombies really necessary?, 13 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Reality Dysfunction: The Nights Dawn trilogy: Book One: 1 (Nights Dawn Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
I read the book whilst on holiday (Beach book) and, considering the 1200+ pages, it only took me 7 days and certainly kept me riveted.

Up until the point where we moved away from the well thought-out and, for me, plausible science fiction I absolutely loved the book and couldn't put it down. This 'point' arrives about half way through where we are suddenly confronted with zombies returning from the dead (probably purgatory?) where, sadly for me, the whole thing then started to fall apart...
Was it really necessary, for example, to introduce a zombie Irish character from the 1920s who was more like something out of the movie 'Brigadoon'? Perhaps we could have had a tap dancing reincarnation of Gene Kelly to accompany him?

After having read the reviews of the next two volumes I have decided not to continue - the thought of Al Capone coming back to run a planet just sounds too much like Monty Python for me. Although the thought of a portal opening up to allow passage for Hell's Grannies might have just kept me interested...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Delectable SF space opera with hard-to-swallow premises, 31 Mar 2014
By 
M-I-K-E 2theD "2theD" (The Big Mango, Thailand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Reality Dysfunction: The Nights Dawn trilogy: Book One: 1 (Nights Dawn Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
I've plowed through most of Hamilton's tomes, excluding the Greg Mandel trilogy (1993-1995) and The Night's Dawn trilogy (1997-2000). I'm not a big fan of series, so I've always held off reading these expansive sets of books. I haven't heard much about the Greg Mandel series but The Night's Dawn trilogy seems to be the stuff of legend, whispers passed about its length and depth. Considering I've liked everything else Hamilton has written, including the collection of Manhattan in Reverse (2011) and his most recent novel Great North Road (2012), I finally decided to procure the weighty volumes and delve into the first tome while on 2-week holiday. This turned out to be excellent timing as it ended up taking fifteen days to polish off the 1,094 pages.

One additional note, in case you weren't already aware, is that the original US edition of The Reality Dysfunction is split into two volumes: Emergence (1997) and Expansion (1997). The later edition combines them, thankfully, into one large volume... the same volume which is featured here.

Rear cover synopsis:
"In AD 2600 the human race is finally beginning to realize its full potential. Hundreds of colonized planets scattered across the galaxy host a multitude of prosperous and wildly diverse cultures. Genetic engineering has pushed evolution far beyond nature's boundaries, defeating disease and producing extraordinary space-born creatures. Huge fleets of sentient trader starships thrive on the wealth created by the industrialization of entire star systems. And throughout inhabited space, the Confederation Navy keeps the peace. A true golden age is within our grasp.

But now something has gone catastrophically wrong. On a primitive colony planet, a renegade criminal's chance encounter with an utterly alien entity unleashes the most primal of all our fears. An extinct race which inhabited the galaxy aeons ago called it "The Reality Dysfunction." It is the nightmare that has prowled beside us since the beginning of history."

------------

Joshua Calvert hopes to one day refurbish the inheritance of his father's starship--the Lady Macbeth. His intuition for discovery proves fruitful in the decimated ruins of an xenoc (alien) orbital. The resulting dust ring, which orbits a gas giant, is picked by scavengers and the finds sold to a nearby research facility. The most significant finds are often intact leaves, trees and daily objects. When Joshua is pressed by opportunistic scavengers, he retreats in a large piece to debris only to find the mother lode: a ice-encapsulated computer core. The sale of the core allows Joshua to become a local celebrity, upgrade his ship's systems, and even bed a few broads in the process.

One of his prized notches on his bedpost is bedding the Lord of Ruin, a title given to the bitek (organically grown) orbital's ruler, whose bloodline is shared with the regal Saldana family, of which Alastair II is the reigning king over the Kulu Kingdom. Though part of the royal bloodline, the Lord of Ruin, Ione, and her affinity-linked (mind/message-linked) named Tranquility operate outside the sphere of influence of the royal family. Tranquility was originally established as an outpost to research the Laymil artifacts.

The facility researching the Laymil artifacts also investigates what caused the catastrophic demise of the entire massive orbital body. The leading theories include suicide and attack, but with centuries having passed since their destruction, the only source of new information will come from the data core which Joshua found. The researchers discover that stores amid the data are sets of sensory recordings, memories of the extinct xenoc race.

One of these researchers is Dr. Alkad Mzu, one of the few survivors of her homeworld's utter destruction by antimatter by the hand of the Omuta navy. Her homeworld of Garissa is now but a memory, a memory which burns deeply with a sense of hate, revenge and justice that spans her 30-year confinement on Tranquility. Ione's father made it his prerogative to keep Mzu within Tranquility so that she is unable to seek out that revenge with her fabled Alchemist weapon of purported unimaginable power. The weapon is hidden relic of the navy from Garissa who once wanted to strike the genocidal blow to their enemy the Omuta, who have only now started to emerge from their own 30-year quarantine. The Confederation of human worlds welcomes the genocidal brutes back into the fold of human affairs but the allegorical sins of a father are carried as a burden by the son.

Nothing is as burdensome as settling a new colony, like on the newly opened EuroChristian-ethnic world Lalonde. Emigrating from Earth, fine families gamble with their lives to have new beginnings, but wasters from Earth's acrologies, the chaff of humanity, also tag along for hopes of a better future... or a darker non-future like Quinn Dexter hopes for. Gaining trust among the innocent villagers, Quinn establishes a separate house for the hard-working cons but Quinn is also gaining respect through fear by the other cons, who see him as a necessarily brutish leader. Quinn and his men's brutish sexual acts of shamelessness reflect their growing infatuation with releasing the Serpent from themselves, inviting the Light Bringer into their lives.

In the early days of the universe's formation, an intelligent race of energy being arose to sublime into the vacuum of space. Roaming the empty vacuum for the sake of study, the race of Ly-cilph visit star systems and study the interesting forms of life which are scattered among the stars. Rarely do these physical being interest the energy-patterned Ly-cilph, but some curious humans on Lalonde seem to welcome to energy, hungry for power. The resulting local influence of energy causes an unnatural rift in space-time, whereby the departed souls of mankind cross the gulf between the eternal yet painful observation and longing for physicality and that of our world.

The souls enter willing bodies in anguish. Once subsumed, the mind of the body cringes in the back of the brain while the transported soul becomes the dominant persona, and with it an incredible ability to manipulate matter and energy. White fire flies from their fingertips by their very wish, causing destruction where ever they tread. Not wasting the ability and sympathizing with the bodiless souls beyond, the possessed soon torture other people into begging for mercy, an opportunity which the sinister souls pounce upon and force themselves into the body. Their powers grow greater and more and more of them converge on the same city, manifesting historical wonders from yesteryears and forming an impenetrable red cloud which blocks out the horrible sight of the vastness of space. Happy with their corporal existence, they aim to expand the cloud, vanquish the world and transport the entire planet to a dimension where they can live in bodily form for eternity.

Meanwhile, Joshua is a captain of his own starship and proudly gallivanting about the Confederation looking for trade and tail, both of which he succeeds in snaring. His largest pull comes from collecting the hardest wood known to the Confederation, a special wood from Lalonde, and selling it to the pastoral planet named Norfolk. Norfolk is a planet constitutionally limiting their technology, so Joshua's gamble of transporting a starship full of wood (ridiculous to many) pays off big time, earning him prime access to two things: a shipload of the Confederation's finest alcohol called Norfolk Tears (made from a dying flower's sap) and the young, nave yet buxom beauty of a wealthy estate, Louise Kavanagh.

When hell breaks loose on Lalonde, the trickle of information from the budding colony eventually reaches the Confederation. Rumors are thrown around on the ground of Lalonde as much as they are across the stars, but an early solid report of the chaos cuts a new facet on the rumors: an infamous rogue Edenist who destroyed an entire habitat is found on Lalonde. Has he anything to do with the demonic possessions? If so, why did he warn secret Confederation agents about the emerging human plight of possession? And if he's so innocent, why did he send an intense word of warning via affinity when he killed himself? One thing is for certain: "on old Earth they used to say all roads led to Rome. Here on Lalonde, all the rivers lead to Durringham" (985), but the rivers of water aren't the only streams headed towards Durringham; heavily armed starships are headed to the planet to confront the threat with precise orbital bombardment or, if the threat warrants its usage, strategic nuclear bombs.

The Confederation, though composed of billions of humans and two xenoc species, has never been under such a threat: souls invading living human bodies; to kill the body would send two souls (one sinister, one innocent) back to the bodiless dimension. This is the crux of the problem the Confederation faces; here, there must consider:

"Our empathy means never hide from what we feel ... the balance is the penalty of being human: the danger of allowing yourself to feel. For this we walk a narrow path high above rocky ground. On one side we have the descent into animalism, on the other a godhead delusion. Both pulling of us, both tempting. But without these forces tugging of your psyche, stirring it into conflict, you can never love." (118)

For a more thorough, accurate plot synopsis for The Reality Dysfunction, see Wikipedia.

------------

One of the basic premises which I glanced over in my own synopsis was the classic division of the human race into two sects: the Adamists (baseline humans) and the Edenists (genetically engineered with the telepathic affinity gene). The Edenists include not only gene-linked humans, but also their massive bitek habitats, their starships named voidhawks, and menial laborers of animal origin. The basis for Edenism comes from the affinity gene, which as mentioned above, links all Edenists together more harmoniously than the baseline Adamists: "with their communal affinity there was no hiding emotions or truth" (24).

I've always been skeptical about the reality of telepathy, treating it as a pseudo-science or calling it outright bunk. I find it difficult to swallow the pill Hamilton gives us: telepathy by genetics... not only that, but a telepathy which is impossible to intercept (926). Not completely outside the boundaries of physics, affinity is limited by distance. Certainly, if distance is a limitation, there some sort of signal must travel through some sort of medium--this is the essence of a transmission. I'm baffled by why it's impossible to intercept its transmissions, as if human genes--little protein messengers--carry a mechanism which defeats the laws of the known universe.

Equally as hard to swallow is the other overarching premise: human souls exist (and are undetectable just like affinity) and reside outside of our normal space-time sphere, all in pain and all lusting for corporeal existence. Whether this is addressed in the remaining two books is unknown (now 75% of the way through The Neutronium Alchemist and something's been hinted, but nothing solid). I don't understand the ill intentions and evil motives of the returning dead; sure, some of them had been influenced by Quinn sadism and his lust for power and pain from the Light Bringer, but it seems like our kind human nature is vanquished once we return from the dead. However, this is not a certainty in 100% of the cases, as toward the end of The Reality Dysfunction was come across a noble spirit who assists in a rescue of children from the clutches the returning dead. Further, The Neutronium Alchemist (in at about the 75% point), sympathetic factions of the possessed arise.

One last piece of the plot annoyed me. While the Edenists' voidhawks and the Adamists' blackhawks can traverse space through wormholes, subjectively traveling faster than light, messages are unable to travel in a similar superluminal fashion. Crystal flecks (the standard unit of data exchange) are thereby loaded with information and send in a voidhawk or blackhawk, send across the gulf of stars to a far-off star system where they broadcast the message. For important news to travel around the entire system of the Confederation, great manpower and shiptime must be dedicated to the effort... which, conveniently, plays a part into the spread of the possessed.

Now come the uni-faceted characters: the protagonists of skirt-chasing Joshua and his skirt with a brain Ione; then the antagonist of hellbent Quinn. Aside from these prevalent characters, there's actually a number of more interesting people who form Joshua's entourage and some other crew members of other gallivanting ships which were left out of the already lengthy synopsis (again, see Wikipedia for that). For example, Father Horst Elwes emigrates to Lalonde because of his weak faith and when his faith is tested by the seeming resurrection of the dead, his kind god-fearing side comes to the surface. Lastly, Erick Thakrar (a Confederation Navy spy) and Captain André Duchamp (occasional smuggler) provide a great frisson which develops well into The Neutronium Alchemist.

Enough about the plot of this expansive space opera. Now, a word about consistency when using the English language; I'm sensitive to this kind of thing. For example, if you use the word "color" on one page then spell it "colour" on a different page, I'm going to notice... or if you "touchy" instead of "tetchy" then later swap their uses, I'm going to point it out. For Peter F. Hamilton, the one major inconsistency, which probably won't mar your reading of the book if it hadn't already been pointed out, is his use of the hyphen, which in this case is used to join words as compound nouns or adjectives (e.g. sun-dried tomatoes or sundried tomatoes, but not both). Consider:
a) "olive-green one-piece anti-projectile suit" (580) and "olive green one piece anti-projectile suits"(613)
b) "space-plane" (1091, line 4) and "spaceplane" (1091, line 6)
c) "thermodump panels" (9 and 108) while "thermo-dump" was more widely used
d) sometimes "combat wasp" is hyphenated, sometimes not as "combat-wasp".

Even less obvious and easier to miss are some typeface issues or proofreading issue with the lowercase letter-L, the capital letter-L and the lowercase letter-I; for example:
a) "Ione" instead of "lone" (973, line 4)
b) "vold" instead of "void" (1031, line 11)

Lastly, the fine-toothed comb found one additional inconsistency: the full stop with the abbreviation of mister. Consider: "Mr Wallace" (1040, line 31) and "Mr. Malin" (1040, line 33) with a number of other examples on the proceeding three pages.

------------

It's modern space opera; you should know what to expect: lots of transient characters, interweaving plot lines, untold pages going by without hearing from a character or two, loads of proper nouns (planets, ships, cities, etc.), and hints of things to come in a thousand pages or so within the sequel : The Neutronium Alchemist. In these regards, the beginning to the Night's Dawn trilogy does not disappoint, but I just find it hard to enjoy a plot which heavily relies on gene-linked, physics-defying telepathy and the irrational returning souls of the dead. Having bought all three volumes of the trilogy already (with the inclusion of the third volume, The Naked God), I'm dedicated to finishing this popular trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Reality Dysfunction..... Perhaps a slight editing dysfunction as well. (Warning, a few spoilers), 12 May 2014
This review is from: The Reality Dysfunction: The Nights Dawn trilogy: Book One: 1 (Nights Dawn Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
In this indisputably epic tale, a mosaic of different story lines set in the 2700s converge into one whole. A dozen families, including a priest and several exiled convicts leave earth and try to forge new lives in the steaming jungles of the newly settled colony world of Lalonde, two young starship captains from disparately different cultures come of age and leave their homes and set out to explore the galaxy, a young heiress works to uncover the secrets of an extinct alien civilisation, a naval intelligence operative joins on with a crew of pirates, an exiled scientist moves to end a 30 year vendetta to avenge a genocide and slay a star, a disposed drifter tries to avenge the death of a loved one, a criminal designated as an enemy of humanity hides in the jungle and plots.... but all are threatened, when in the jungles of Lalonde, something goes terribly, terribly wrong. As civilisation crumbles around them, now one thing becomes terribly clear... The dead have returned, and want the bodies of the living, and there is no act of violence to cruel, no amount of destruction that they are unwilling to wreak in order to get them.
As can be imagined, the massive amount of viewpoints means that the story can take quite a while to get going, but when it does, the reader sees the confederation in all it's glory, and it's rapid decline from civilisation into a home for the armies of undead souls returning from beyond. We see the individual tales of ordinary people caught up in this vast conflict, the struggles to survive and fight the possessed all alongside the already vast sea of human stories in this universe.
Whilst not as poetically written as Dan Simmons' Hyperion Cantos, Hamilton's prose is still excellent, conveying just the right mix of description and emotion, although personally I would prefer it to be a little more visual, (sorry Mr Hamilton, it's only a minor qualm). The construction of his universe is also fairly well done, although it is perhaps to much on a need to know basis, but again, minor qualms). If you wish me to elaborate on just how well it is done, please note that he has also written a handbook purely so that readers do not get lost in his narrative. That level of detail is very rare in a story, and it fits the overall complexity and epic scope of the story very well. The story works well as an epic, both from the sheer number of viewpoints and due to the vast complexity of the plot and general "epic-ness" of the storyline. I would almost compare it to a sci-fi game of thrones, (although with significantly less gratuitous sex scenes), and in honestyI believe that it would work well as a TV series (provided any TV series could muster the necessary special effects budget all of this space travel, lighting hurling, shapeshifting and aliens would merit. The sheer variety of settings alone would pose a massive challenge). His Characterisation and development are also very good, and he makes it very clear what each character is thinking, and why they think and act so, which is better than many sci-fi writers. (cough cough gary gibson)
In criticism however, the book could use a little more editing. There are far to many scenes in which a character walks into the jungle and is tricked and ambushed, they begin to lose the intended effect after the fifth time, and I can't help feeling that some of the detail could have seen left out to make a more cohesive story, and the fact that this, and the sequel are not self contained books also works slightly against them, as they both don't so much end as reach the 1250 page limit. the long length also means that characters can quite easily disappear for hundreds of pages with little notice, and pop up again with little time having passed for them, Which can get particularly annoying if your attention span isn't the longest... Syrinx disappears three quarters of the way through the book and doesn't appear until 300 pages into the sequel is one particularly jarring example, but again, the story isn't so much a trilogy as one really long novel, and it works well as such. If one is buying it, I wold recommend purchasing the sequels at the same time, as you are unlikely to be able to remember every single detail over the time it takes you to find the next story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not gripping enough to continue with, 23 Dec 2013
By 
I. J. Sloan "thegreyfox" (Rossendale, Lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
***** Spoiler alert ******

After reading the Void Trilogy, and the two books comprising Pandoras Star and Judas unchained, I fully intended to read the entire Nights Dawn trilogy and savour every moment, as I had done with each of those mammoth tomes. However, after enjoying Reality Dysfunction, I am in two minds whether to continue with the rest of the Trilogy. I feel I have read it all before, and there seems to be a somewhat worrying couple of trends in much of Hamiltons writing.

The first is a somewhat voyeuristic delectation of sex. Now I have no problem with sex in any way, but it seems like every book is padded out with sex simply because that's pretty much the limitation of Hamiltons imagination as far as social interaction is concerned. I am certain this is not the case based on his brilliant imagination in all other respects, but surely it is possible that two people of the opposite sex can meet without them ending up having sex? I know this is Hamiltons view of a liberated future where presumably sexual disease and unwanted pregnancy is a thing of the past, but it does seem that there is a somewhat leering and sordid element to his work when we have to have descriptions of a young girl with her "panties around her ankles" ...it all seems rather juvenile, and regrettably, that overarching feeling sours my enjoyment of the rest of the work.

The second issue is the over-use of British place names in his future vision. I just get the very lazy, and somewhat xenophobic, vision of Hamilton looking at a map of Britain for inspiration in place names. Its a minor point, but being British, it rankles a little.

However, the main issue with ND, is that the concept of the dead coming back to life is just not, to me, science fiction. As far as I am aware, apart from in Biblical tales, the dead have never come back to life, and the idea of it happening at some arbitrary point in the future is frankly, unbelievable. the whole premise of Science Fiction, if it works, is that it is "believable" .... otherwise stick it in the oft twinned "Fantasy" section; a genre where nothing is believable, and everything demands that you ditch all sense of "reality"

They say the difference between Fact and Fiction is that fiction has to make sense .... it is this core premise of the Nights Dawn Trilogy that makes me think twice about committing another few gigabytes of Kindle memory to the remaining two volumes. I may be wrong, it may be something else entirely, I may be being purposely mislead in "the Reality Dysfunction", but I fear the risk outweighs the rewards of another 2400 pages padded out with people having more sex than I am, on a premise that, when all is said and done, I cannot commit to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slow start but, with perseverance, it gets astoundingly brilliant!!, 26 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with the other reviews that state that the beginning of the book is slow starting, which might put some off and give up. However, I would strongly recommend that you persevere as it will be totally worth it! The trilogy, especially this specific novel, is quite possibly THE best piece of science fiction that I have read to date. (and I read a lot of science fiction!!) I got so caught up in the book itself that putting it down became a challenge on a continual basis. It really is amazing being so galaxy spanning and space opera. DON'T let the slow start put you off, read it for yourself and you'll soon have it overtake your life...well worth the money!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4/5, 20 Sep 2002
...So anyhow, 4/5. This is thrilling stuff, once you manage to get into it, which will take a while. The central horrific concept (which unlike some reviewers I won't spoil just now) is fantastically daring, the Adamist/Edenist conflict well thought out and realised, and the characters, while not perhaps as complex as those of Banks etc, are more than believable and suitably alluring/terrifying/comic even. The one complaint I feel is fairly valid is the ending- while the book as a nice conclusion for certain elements of the plot, it does feel (as does LOTR) more like the first part of a book rather than a distinct part of a trilogy. So, once I've finished the whole trilogy, I've no doubt that Night's Dawn as a whole will be worth 5, but I feel 4/5 for the first third of a book is still pretty special.
And for the prudes complaining about the (for me, both realistic and imaginative) sex scenes, don't be such an Adamist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but needs editing, 2 May 2000
By A Customer
There is a lot of hype about this book and a lot of it is deserved. It is one of the better contemporary scifi novels, but lacks a little bit of cohesion. Basically this would be a superb 600 page novel but it is a bit flabby. Some nice ideas in it though. The horror element works pretty well but a bit more scariness would have been welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uniquely scary SF, will become a classic, 23 Jun 1999
By A Customer
I've read lots of SF and this has carved it's own niche. It'sreally a cross between SF and horror, with the precision and detail of Dan Simmons, Iain M Banks and Asimov. The technology is believable (eventually - read the time lines at the end first), the scope is immense, the threat is utterly horrific... The characters are mostly unlovable but Hamilton does give a reasonable characterisation of the important ones.
Once you get into the style it's well written but you need to handle a lot of detail and threads. Perhaps it's too complex but that's the way all our existence is going. The sheer scale of this novel and its horror mark it out as the start of a new genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a class all of it's own, 25 May 1999
By A Customer
The sheer impact of this novel is hard to convey to someone who has not read it. The breadth of it's scope is astonishing; the many diverse characters are placed into an amazingly rendered universe. The plot is gripping, and utterly original, with the supernatural element sending you completely for six when it is introduced.
Reading it is better than any special effects blockbuster on the big screen - it literally leaves you stunned.
I have read many Space Operas, but as far as I'm concerned, this is IT. The Neutronium Alchamist is just as good, and I can't wait for the third one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Reality Dysfunction: The Nights Dawn trilogy: Book One: 1 (Nights Dawn Trilogy 1)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews