Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A diamond of a book
My first ever novel by Wilbur Smith, and I have to honest it was very enjoyable.

Johny Lance is the adopted son into a family run diamond finding business. Unfortunately things take a sinister turn after a childhood incident. Villified by all except his stepsister he continues to show loyalty to the company, even thinking he has gained acceptance when he is...
Published on 13 Sep 2011 by Bridgey

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Diamond Hunters.Don't make it your 1st Wilbur Smith read.
Having read about ten of Wilber Smiths books,I found Diamond Hunters a little bit run of the mill,it just seemed to lack the action imagination and unpredictability of most of his other brilliant books.
Published on 9 Oct 2008 by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Diamond Hunters.Don't make it your 1st Wilbur Smith read., 9 Oct 2008
This review is from: The Diamond Hunters (Paperback)
Having read about ten of Wilber Smiths books,I found Diamond Hunters a little bit run of the mill,it just seemed to lack the action imagination and unpredictability of most of his other brilliant books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A diamond of a book, 13 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Diamond Hunters (Paperback)
My first ever novel by Wilbur Smith, and I have to honest it was very enjoyable.

Johny Lance is the adopted son into a family run diamond finding business. Unfortunately things take a sinister turn after a childhood incident. Villified by all except his stepsister he continues to show loyalty to the company, even thinking he has gained acceptance when he is included in his stepfathers will. This turns out to be his stepfathers legacy that he be absolutely ruined.

His stepbrother, Benedict, makes it his lifes ambition to destroy Lance. This results in blackmail, smuggling and eventually even murder.

The only reason I give the book 4 instead of 5 was that I felt a bit too much of the plot was given away too early in the book.

Will def try this author again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of his best !!, 5 April 2001
This review is from: The Diamond Hunters (Paperback)
I found the story line to diamond hunters to be a little boring, the story line followed a predictable plot and the characters were not the strongests. It is an easy read and if you wnat to be entertained without having to use your brain to much this is a book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still to read, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Given full stars as I have enjoyed all the wilbur Smith books i have read and this is waiting on my kindle and is next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will not regret it !, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a Wilbur Smith fan, if not you soon will be !
It was all too short, and that is always a good sign. I settle down, in bed, with my Kindle for a 1 hour read. I realise that I have been reading for 2 hours, wow! Even worse if I am near the end, then I have to finish, however long it takes !
Only 1 criticism, no graphic description of his female characters, which was his previous modis operandi . Shame !
Mike O
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars diamonds means wealth or death, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
exiting story, unable to put down book until finished. smith as usual has provided a very interesting story for his readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good book, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again another good book from this author. Could not put it down but then I have read most of Wilbur Smith books and they never disappoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very intriguing story that kept my imagination working to the full. The twist and turns were very exiting /brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ok read, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Yvonne Brown (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diamond Hunters (Reissue) (Paperback)
Not one of Wilbur Smith's best novels, we were a little disappointed with the predictable story plot. It came in good time & well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The diamond hunters, 15 Sep 2013
WIlber Smith .not as good as others by wilber Smith .not much action until later on then it was a bit of a disappointment.ALso I am beginning to think these kindle books are a lot shorter than the paper back books .am I right or am I wrong?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Diamond Hunters (Reissue)
The Diamond Hunters (Reissue) by Wilbur Smith (Paperback - 12 April 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews