Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unforgettable
A poignant portrayal of the devastation caused to a relationship by a tragic accident. Ella and Aidan have a wonderful marriage until the dreadful moment when everything changes for ever. McInerney's sensitive description of the consequences for everyone is superbly written. I felt I knew each of the characters personally and shared in their anguish or guilt. Yet the...
Published on 9 Oct 2012 by una mar

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SAD BUT NOT MAUDLIN
"Grief is the price we pay for love." Pg. 188

Written in a tender flowing prose that takes you on the journey of a family in crisis trying to find their way; an exceptionally moving story of loss, grief, redemption and forgiveness.

Told from the perspective of each of the major characters it keenly portrays how one terrible accident resulting in the...
Published 9 months ago by little lady blue


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unforgettable, 9 Oct 2012
This review is from: The House of Memories (Paperback)
A poignant portrayal of the devastation caused to a relationship by a tragic accident. Ella and Aidan have a wonderful marriage until the dreadful moment when everything changes for ever. McInerney's sensitive description of the consequences for everyone is superbly written. I felt I knew each of the characters personally and shared in their anguish or guilt. Yet the writing never descends into sordid emotionalism but achieves just the right mood throughout.
And surely everyone would love to have a charming eccentric uncle like Lucas!
This was the first book I have read by this writer but certainly won't be the last. (Have already ordered another!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An emotional read, 25 Oct 2012
By 
Sharon (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The House of Memories (Paperback)
This book is the poignant tale of the devastating impact a tragic accident can have on a loving couple's relationship...

Ella was living the perfect live in Australia; happily married to husband Aidan, who she'd met through her English uncle Lucas, with a gorgeous baby son Felix who she idolised and a job she loved.

The one person she has always been able to rely on for love and support is her uncle Lucas; he's been there for her when her parents split up, when her mother, Meredith, married Walter and she gained step-brother Charlie, when her father died and when her half-sister Jess was born.

But then one day her whole world was turned upside down and the only way she could cope with her pain was to run away... from Aidan, her family, everyone.

During this time she'd take on meaningless jobs to keep herself busy to try and block her memories but nothing can stop the hurt and pain she's feeling. Although she does keep in sporadic email contact with Charlie, Lucas, Meredith and Walter, she cuts off contact completely with the two people she holds responsible... Aidan and Jess.

Eventually Ella takes up Lucas' offer to come to London to spend time with him and whilst there he slowly works on her to try and get her to talk through the events of the day to see that it truly was a terrible accident and that no-one was to blame. Will she ever be able to accept this though and forgive Aidan and Jess?

Although this story is told mainly from Ella's standpoint, we do also get to see how both Aidan and Jess are feeling. It's a very emotional story and one that could so easily happen in any loving family which is why it's feels so realistic.

Monica McInerney is a fairly new author to me as I'd never read any of her books before this year but she is definitely an author whose books I will be looking out for in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the house of memories, 13 Oct 2012
It made me laugh and cry. This book is a beautifully sensitive look of bereavement reaction with a deeply positive insight leading you into the personal growth of the characters.. Heart warming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SAD BUT NOT MAUDLIN, 2 Mar 2014
This review is from: The House of Memories (Paperback)
"Grief is the price we pay for love." Pg. 188

Written in a tender flowing prose that takes you on the journey of a family in crisis trying to find their way; an exceptionally moving story of loss, grief, redemption and forgiveness.

Told from the perspective of each of the major characters it keenly portrays how one terrible accident resulting in the death of a child can impact the people it touches in so many different ways and the varying ways people have of dealing with grief.

For some inexplicable reason I could not muster much of an affinity with any of the characters with the exception of Ella's uncle Lucas who seemed to take on the focal point of the story when in fact he was not the main character at all.

This is a well crafted story dealing with a very difficult subject matter, written with great sensitivity. At 473 pages maybe it was just too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great story, 1 May 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed this book, firs time I've read this author and definately will again. V sad but gripping story! Couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars House of memories., 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House of Memories (Paperback)
Some time ago since I purchased this, but I enjoyed it very much, as did my friend.Was good condition too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House of Memories (Paperback)
This book is beautifully and sensitively written and examines how grief affects different people differently. I can thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something different, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An unusual book. the story takes its time to build up and fill in the background, but is a very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfectly paced emotional "thriller", 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House of Memories (Paperback)
What I admire most about this rich, intelligent and wonderfully crafted book is the way I got dragged along, in real time, through Ella's emotional development. I "grew" along with her, to reach the same places that she did, and for the same reasons. Monica McInerney never skims over events, or forces facts on the reader...we're brought along for the ride, feeling each twist and turn as the characters experience them...no chickening out! I don't often get this kind of deep reading experience. I'll be looking out for more of her books now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars House of Memories, 22 April 2013
By 
G. Cobb (St Albans England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House of Memories (Paperback)
Always pleased with a Monica Mcinerney book. They make excellent reading and this one was in very good condition and packaged really well. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The House of Memories
The House of Memories by Monica McInerney (Paperback - 6 Jun 2013)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews