Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Read
Annie Murray's latest book has to be the best so far, from the first page you are drawn into a world long gone but none the last still within living memory. A story of love, happiness, betrayal and hardships. The author paints a vivid picture of how strong the women had to be to overcome their trials and tribulations to win through for their families against all...
Published on 26 Feb 2006 by Carol Arnall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as described
Was disappointed with this story, not as good as previous Annie Murray stories, I have read quite a few, not the sellers fault though.
Published 17 months ago by Janet Bradbury


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Read, 26 Feb 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family of Women (Paperback)
Annie Murray's latest book has to be the best so far, from the first page you are drawn into a world long gone but none the last still within living memory. A story of love, happiness, betrayal and hardships. The author paints a vivid picture of how strong the women had to be to overcome their trials and tribulations to win through for their families against all odds.
She tells how the family depends on the women, who despite having little or no money still managed to get by and through sheer hard work raise their families in slum conditions, no easy job, the women had to be strong to survive. Annie Murray manages to convey the message that then money was not the most important factor in their lives, necessary yes of course but the major theme to me was the love women had for their families and would sacrifice all if need be. A haunting book that I will never forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Read, 16 April 2008
This review is from: Family of Women (Hardcover)
A wonderful book, I am not going to reiterate and repeat what others have put in their reviews as their comments are an excellent guide as to what the book is about. I did decide to write something different as to how the book affected me. Again,as in all Annie Murray's novels she writes with such depth about the lives of her characters you feel you really know them. For me this book brings back many memories of a mother/matriarch who tries to dominate and rule her family. Her family almost afraid of her, I wanted to shout at the characters and tell them to tell her what to do with herself. She is however, not the main character of the book and the story line has so much more to offer than this. Like all of the Author's books I just could not put it down until I finished reading it. I also believe that some of her books like this one would make a wonderful drama on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family of Women, 11 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Family of Women (Paperback)
I was unable to put this book down and had read it within two days! As with all Annie Murray titles the area the story is set in an area that I can relate to. Although set in Birmingham women from anywhere can relate to the characters.
I find that the chapters are short so you just keep going wanting to find out what happened next. Family of Women is about three generations of strong minded women the problems in life that they encounter and how they cope with them.

A reader from West Midlands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family of Women (Kindle Edition)
Another good read full of interesting characters set in a time I grew up in so was filled with memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family of Women (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book ,I liked the way the reader got to know the family of women and it had a good ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family of Women (Kindle Edition)
Annie Murray has not lost her talent in writing. a real good read. it's a true heart wrenching story. a worth read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family of Women (Kindle Edition)
Chose this rating as at times found hard to keep me reading. I am glad I carried on as it turned out a good read. Not one of the best ones l have read by Annie but good all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family of Women (Kindle Edition)
A book read in stages but could not put it down........would like to know what happened in Australia with Linda and co.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family of Women (Kindle Edition)
annie murray at her best once again, thoroughly enjoyable story of strong women a page turner...i loved reading and will miss the characters. highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Family of women by Annie Murray, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family of Women (Kindle Edition)
I found this book good at the beginning then I lost the story until near to the end were I picked it up again and found it enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Family of Women
Family of Women by Annie Murray (Paperback - 1 Mar 2012)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews