Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkably varied poet
Unlike the previous reviewer I wasn't studying the poems for exam purposes; I just wanted to read a lot more of Duffy's poetry. I found nothing wrong with the way they were set out on the page, and I can only offer an enormous respect for the versatile imagination they show. She is unafraid to make very personal statements about her own life, and shows both passion and...
Published 22 months ago by Elginson

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Someone should tell Ms Duffy that chopping prose into short lines does not a poem make.
Published 13 days ago by Braggadocchio


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkably varied poet, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Selected Poems: 1984-2004 (Paperback)
Unlike the previous reviewer I wasn't studying the poems for exam purposes; I just wanted to read a lot more of Duffy's poetry. I found nothing wrong with the way they were set out on the page, and I can only offer an enormous respect for the versatile imagination they show. She is unafraid to make very personal statements about her own life, and shows both passion and compassion for the world around her.
Until I bought this anthology I confess that I hadn't realised just how prolific she has been as a writer, and it is a joy to turn the page and explore yet another idea that has struck her about life. Like all the best poetry, it's best savoured slowly (if possible aloud) and more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 13 Nov 2014
This review is from: New Selected Poems: 1984-2004 (Paperback)
Someone should tell Ms Duffy that chopping prose into short lines does not a poem make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Selected Poems: 1984-2004 (Paperback)
Realy pleased with the book nice and clean Ty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Selected Poems: 1984-2004 (Paperback)
GOOD BOOK GOOD CONDITION
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars School study, 9 Feb 2012
This review is from: New Selected Poems: 1984-2004 (Paperback)
This was an essential book that I needed for Literature therefore it was necessary for me to buy it, however, there are a lot of poems in there which aren't studied at AS Level so it would have been easier just for me to buy the Selected Poems by Carol Ann Duffy, however no-where sells them anymore. So, in case anyone had my problem, this includes all the poems and extra ones from Selected Poems (as my teacher told me to buy Selected Poems, and I took ages trying to find that book, because it was not being published anymore). However, some of the poems have been alterned slightly in the way there placement; where some of them contained enjambment in the original poem, in this book, it has eliminated the enjambment, which could be part of one's analysis on structure of the writing.
All in all, this book does contain the poems I need, which is the most important thing, but the quality of the cover is not as good as Selected Poems. Especially if you are using it constantly, the edges of the pages do start to deteriorate in quality, which is why I have given four star on this book of poems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent customer service., 29 Aug 2014
This review is from: New Selected Poems: 1984-2004 (Paperback)
Carol Ann Duffy is a poetry genius. Though you may not see that at first, when you analyse the poems and fully understand each sentence and syllable, you will truly admire and envy her literary talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Selected Poems: 1984-2004 (Paperback)
This lady is a favorite author of mine. When I saw this book I had to have it! Lovely as a full read or for dipping into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. J. Bell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Selected Poems: 1984-2004 (Paperback)
Arrived in good time for my son's college course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of "New Selected Poems C A Duffy, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Selected Poems: 1984-2004 (Paperback)
I gave 4 stars because it was fine for me to read to help my granddaughter. I liked the colour and the clean, solid feel it had in my hands.. I would recommend online book purchase from this provider.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Exams!!, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Selected Poems: 1984-2004 (Paperback)
Only bought this because it contains some poems studied for AS level.

Most over rated poet on the planet.

If you're not studing for exams then avoid!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Selected Poems: 1984-2004
New Selected Poems: 1984-2004 by Carol Ann Duffy (Paperback - 19 Aug 2011)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews