Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, sad and humane.....
This is the continuing story of Patrick Melrose and the third part of the Some Hope trilogy. Patrick is now a recovering addict and trying to make sense of his life. Many of the characters from the previous books reappear - usually with different partners. Just as in Never Mind and Bad News this is packed with interesting observations and wry comments. Having checked...
Published on 3 Dec. 2012 by Wynne Kelly

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hope Springs Eternal
Caroline Moore of the Sunday Telegraph notes the author's similes are "exhilarating in their accuracy", which is just as well as there is a profusion of them in the first 20 pages or so - "like a whirlwind of scrap paper left by the passage of a fast car" adorns the first paragraph, for example. My heart sank as I imagined I was about to be bludgeoned to death with these...
Published 7 months ago by Mike Collins


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, sad and humane....., 3 Dec. 2012
By 
Wynne Kelly "Kellydoll" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Some Hope (Paperback)
This is the continuing story of Patrick Melrose and the third part of the Some Hope trilogy. Patrick is now a recovering addict and trying to make sense of his life. Many of the characters from the previous books reappear - usually with different partners. Just as in Never Mind and Bad News this is packed with interesting observations and wry comments. Having checked into a hotel Patrick reads a notice at his bedside: " `To avoid disappointment, residents are advised to book in the restaurant in advance.' Patrick, who had been trying to avoid disappointment all his life, cursed himself for not discovering this formula earlier."

The author has lots of fun with the characters coming together for a dinner and party at a country house. One character says: "I firmly believe that one should have the widest possible range of acquaintances, from monarchs right down to the humblest baronet in the land." The party's very special guest is Princess Margaret - and here St. Aubyn lets rip with a hilariously vicious portrait.

Patrick continues to be somewhat aloof and uninvolved with the social grouping around him but nonetheless feels ready to tell a friend about the abuse he suffered at the hands of his father. By the end of the book he is far from problem-free but seems ready to shake off his past and move into a positive future.

A funny, sad and humane book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hope Springs Eternal, 13 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Some Hope (Paperback)
Caroline Moore of the Sunday Telegraph notes the author's similes are "exhilarating in their accuracy", which is just as well as there is a profusion of them in the first 20 pages or so - "like a whirlwind of scrap paper left by the passage of a fast car" adorns the first paragraph, for example. My heart sank as I imagined I was about to be bludgeoned to death with these glib conceits in the manner of Graham Greene's rotten 'A Burnt-out Case'. Fortunately, however, they only hatch and take flight in the passages dealing with protagonist Patrick Melrose, where the style automatically becomes a lot more high falutin than the verbatim reportage of others' (they don't have enough depth to be called characters) mindless conversations, Princess Margaret the arch exponent of fatuous drivel here. When ESA drops the eloquent guff he becomes strangely and poetically powerful, as in the very last scene. "Patrick flicked his cigarette into the snow, and not quite knowing what had happened, headed back to his car with a strange feeling of elation." That "quite" is sadly symptomatic of Patrick's upper-class background but this conclusion is more affecting than the previous 209 pages put together and points to what might have been had Mr St Aubuyn realised that sometimes less is more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some Hope, 20 Oct. 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Some Hope" is the third part of The Patrick Melrose Trilogy, the first two parts being "Never Mind" and the second "Bad News". When we first meet Patrick in "Never Mind" he is five years old, living in the South of France with his cruel and spiteful father and his alcoholic mother. In "Bad News" Patrick is twenty two and a hopeless drug addict, and the book is set during a weekend in New York when Patrick goes to collect his fathers ashes.

In this third book, "Some Hope", Patrick is now thirty. Having spent years suffering from drug addiction, he is now clean, but has no career (despite a sudden and disturbing need to obtain an income) and has split from the girl he was supposed to marry. The three books together are excellent and you will rarely find better writing anywhere or from anyone. This, third volume, takes place before and during a party and contains many characters that have appeared in the previous two books (they should be read in order preferably, in order to make sense).

The cast of snobbish and unbearable characters all converging on a country house, in which Princess Margaret is the guest of honour, coincides with Patrick's attempt to make sense of his life so far and to make peace with the memory of his father. The prose is exquisite and, although most of the characters are thoroughly unpleasant and often downright nasty, you find that you care what happens to Patrick Melrose and what will become of him. The sense of elitism from a less likeable group of people is hard to imagine and the thought of having to suffer such unbearable company would make anyone grateful they had no links to the aristocracy! For those interested, there are two further volumes, Mother's Milk and At Last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have so enjoyed all the books in this 'set'......gripping and exciting as well as desperately sad in parts. St Aubyn's writing is incredible- some wonderful descriptions and views on life, characters and relationships. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent insight into an addict's darkest moments with flashes of humour, 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was gripped and appalled by this book as the subject matter and setting are totally alien to me. I admire E. St Aubyn for writing so candidly warts and all and still maintaining a sense of hope and life in a situation which is pretty dire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caustic Wit, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Edward St Aubyn writes beautifully. The characters in SOME HOPE - wealthy, highborn or both - are all more or less repellent. But, as they build up to attending an ostentatiously lavish party, the author's skill as a satirist - and the barbed dialogue he puts into their mouths - makes the reader actually care about what happens to them. Very classy (in every sense).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some Hope - it just gets better, 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Hope (Paperback)
I started reading the Patrick Melrose novels after consuming a certain Mr Cumberbatch's Reddit AMA - within which he expressed a desire to play the part of Patrick Melrose. Turns out he's a pretty good person to take book recommendations from :)

The Melrose family - like most note worthy clans - are pretty bloomin' dysfunctional, but that makes for both entertaining and provoking perusal. The examination of mortality and its effect on people is beautifully deal with within 'Some Hope', yet St Aubyn manages to make this thorny subject digestible (and as always, darkly humorous).

I can't speak highly enough of this tome - nor of the two preceding it. Very much looking forward to 'At Last' and finding out how the story comes to an end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, a bit cold, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Hope (Paperback)
This book really is a tour de force - beautifully written.
But I am with Holden Caulfield: "What really knocks me out is a book that, when you're all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it. That doesn't happen much, though...You take that book Of Human Bondage, by Somerset Maugham... I read it last summer. It's a pretty good book and all, but I wouldn't want to call Somerset Maugham up. I don't know, he just isn't the kind of guy I'd want to call up, that's all."
And I feel the same about Edward St Aubyn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as always, 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have really enjoyed this series with an excellent set of characters hiding adware secret. Each books centre on a specific event in the main character's life but it is the entertaining set of characters which populate these events which makes the books so excellent and enjoyable. The dinner party with Princess Margaret is a joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally absorbing, 11 July 2014
By 
G C Green (Steyning, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Remarkable prose, throughout the Melrose novels. Some Hope, was totally absorbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Some Hope
Some Hope by Edward St Aubyn (Paperback - 12 April 2012)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews