Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book with several very different views on racism
The main character is Winnie, a female teenager whose best friend Iggie moves away. A new family moves in from Detroit and most of the neighbours object to have a black family in thier 'hood. Iggie does her best and becomes very good friends with the 3 children. Neighbours do thier best to make thier live hell and try to get them to move out. One neighbour in particular...
Published on 23 Feb 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good book about the different ways people look at racism
I first read this book about two years ago. It is basically about a girl called Winnie whose best friend moves away. A family move into the house, but they are black. Winnie makes friends with the three children but the rest of the residents object to having black people in their street. I am a great fan of Judy Blume but didn't find this book as interesting as her others.
Published on 20 Dec 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book with several very different views on racism, 23 Feb 2003
By A Customer
The main character is Winnie, a female teenager whose best friend Iggie moves away. A new family moves in from Detroit and most of the neighbours object to have a black family in thier 'hood. Iggie does her best and becomes very good friends with the 3 children. Neighbours do thier best to make thier live hell and try to get them to move out. One neighbour in particular is a very obnoxius lady who goes around the houses in Winnie's neighbour-hood with petition and pracitly forcing neighbours to sign it. Winnie starts up her own petition to find out what other people's views on skin colour.
I definatly thought this was a great read and really faced the point of racism. An excellent read definatly a well worth buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good book about the different ways people look at racism, 20 Dec 2000
By A Customer
I first read this book about two years ago. It is basically about a girl called Winnie whose best friend moves away. A family move into the house, but they are black. Winnie makes friends with the three children but the rest of the residents object to having black people in their street. I am a great fan of Judy Blume but didn't find this book as interesting as her others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book every 11-13 year girl old should read., 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iggie's House (Paperback)
I bought these books for my niece and she enjoyed them as much as I did many years ago. A great insight into the trials and tribulations of becoming a teenager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Storyline, 4 April 2009
By 
S. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iggie's House (Paperback)
Iggie's best friend has moved house. Who are the next door neighbours? Black Africans. Iggie's street has always been white. Will Iggie befriend her new neighbours, or will their race stop her? Good storyline with a nice American twang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars story about a spunky girl who finds out that everyone's equa, 30 Jun 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Iggie's House (Hardcover)
Winnie (the main character)wakes up one day and meets the new people you moved into her best friend's house. There the only african-american people living in her neighborhood. I love the way Winnie says that it's okay if a black family lives in their neighborhood. Everyone was trying to get of them. I was interested in this book because it had a light humor and Winnie was always trying to make things right. I didn't like the way other neighbors would insult the black family. At least most of this book was kind-hearted. Judy Blume did a wonderful job writing this book with meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iggie's House (Kindle Edition)
I loved the way judy told about white people in the 1960s and how some didn't like the black people. it is a book full of emotion and I thought it was absolutely brilliant!!!:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judy Blume- an adult who can think like a teenager., 23 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Iggie's House (Paperback)
I first read this book a few years back. The main character is Winnie a female teenager whose best friend Iggie moves to Japan. Iggie's house is and Winnie is curious to meet the new neighbours only to them being a black family who have moved from Detroit. This strikes contreversy with the neighbours and one starts a petition to make them move. Iggie becomes very good friends with them and starts her own petition to find out what people think of having different skin colour.
A very good book and a definate well-worth buy! Judy Blume really gets into the mind of a teenager and writes as if she still is one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A moving story about equal rights, 28 Jan 2001
By 
katiekat256@aol.com (Holywood, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Winnie is upset when her best friend Iggie moves away, but can't wait to meet their new neighbours and show them around the neighbourhood. But the Garbers are black and there are some people who aren't very happy about that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iggie's House
Iggie's House by Judy Blume (Paperback - 2 Feb 2012)
4.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews