Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars25
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 September 2004
I read Just as Long as We're Together several times throughout my teens and still own it in my collection now, many years later. As with most of Judy Blumes books, it's a fictional story based on Steph who leads the life of a typical teenager and is tackling the typical problems a teenager faces - problems with friendships new & old, boy issues, puberty, divorse and a tiny bit of world peace. Judy Blume has written lots of books aimed at kids, teenagers and adults all of which are close to reality and all help inform and educate the reader. This book was definitely my favourite. Well worth a read, or two.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2001
This book has been very well written. it discribes what fun it is to be a 13 year old girl as well as the many problems of being 13 too. This book is not at all superficial and is written to fit the average kind of girl.when stephanie has two best friends things are great at first. Towards the middle of the book that when you get all the problems of having two best friends, secrets are being kept from eachother.All three three of them have a leval of secrecy and confusion and lies. but stephanie has the biggest secret of all. the book is topped off with the humar with funny lines and catchy comments. This book also has a deeper meaning which judy blume explores thoroughly. This is a very good book!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2000
I enjoyed this book very much.It gives a good view on how life is and growing up. I have fallen out with friends like Rachel just because of another girl and you do make friends in the end.I understand everything about periods and boyfriends.This book is for people between 11 and 15 .
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
This is a book about growing up. Three girls, Rachel, the genius, Alison, the actress' daughter and Stephanie, the ordinary girl with an absent father work through the difficulties of life and relationships.

I can't say too much about the story without spoiling it but Stephanie thinks her parents have a perfect relationship but in actual fact they are struggling and on the verge of breaking up. Alison just wants to get along with everyone and manages it by being herself. Later in the book she has a family challenge of her own to get through. Rachel struggles with being intelligent and her self assurance is no where near as confident as her school work.

This book is very slow to start but a few chapters in it becomes very readable and enjoyable. Most teenage girls would identify with one of these characters in some way or other.

Overall - worth a read.

Gail Jones
Author of Family Secrets
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2002
This book is about three friends who do a lot of things with each other until Rachel falls out with Alison,the new person in the street and Steph. Steph and Rachel had been best friends for years until Alison came with her dog and says that it can speak! This book tells you the things that can happen with friendship and boys. Will the friendship survive? Read it and find out!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
My favourite childhood book. I read this book constantly throughout my teens, along with some of Judy's other classics. This was the first though and remained the firm favourite.

I would read the book in an afternoon and would always look forward to starting it again. Judy does a brilliant job of relating to teenage worries, no matter whether huge, life changers or selfish and insignificant. If a teenager has ever worried about it then Judy will have covered it some where in one of her brilliant reads.

I've recently ordered a new copy of "Just aslong as we're together" for my teenage daughter. Let's see what she thinks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 1998
Stephanie has just moved to a new house, just started seventh grade and made a new friend called Alison.Stephs known her for a week.She has another friend called Rachel,who shes known since kindergarten.Thyve been best friends for ages, but when Rachel startd getting friendly with Stacey Green-a girl from flute- and she keeps a very important secret does friendship really last forever? In this book, Judy Blume has yet again succeded in capturing the readers heart with a witty tale of friends and foe, and the difficulties of growing up in a perfectly ordinary family life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2000
Just as long as we're together is a fabulous book!!!! 2 best friends who are together for years until a knew person arrives in their lives. The friends start arguing and disagreing about sertain things..... But one of them have a huge family problem and it is destroying what is left of their friendship. But soon all the problems are solved and everyones life is perfect!!!
I suggest this book to anyone with family or friend problems (or to anyone who wants to read a great book) because to tell you the truth.... I had friend problems myself and they are now solved!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2000
This book is about three girls who are starting school all at the same time and in the same class, except 1 girl called Rachel, she seems to be tearing away from the group and finds herself more mature than the rest. It is written from her best friend Stephanie's point of veiw. She had know idea why her dad had moved away but the truth is that he'd.... you'll have to read it to find out. It goes through the many joys and laughter of teenage life! Its a great book and i would recommend it to any one! Also the ond that follows on , Here's To You Rachel Robinson.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 1999
Starting a new school can be hectic but Steph doesn't worry-its her best friend Rachel who worrys. Steph and Rachel have been best friends since they were in 2nd grade and have always been able to tell each other everything. Then one day before school starts Steph meets Alison. She small, confident and loyal. Steph then starts thinking that her long time best friend Rachel is becoming more friendly with another girl and finds out she's keeping secrets from her. But then Steph starts keeping secrets from both of them-how long is it before everyone finds out?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£6.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.