Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sex is more in the mind that we admit it is...
...and that is what makes this book such an intriguing read. It's not meant to patronise you about sex and suggest you need to try harder with more effort, instead it's about examining the behaviour of yourself and possibly your partner to understand why we do the things that we do and perhaps celebrate these behaviours rather than push them away to the repressed corners...
Published 22 months ago by V. Jakes

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charming though brief and a tad artsy
A delightfully quirky little book!

Alain de Botton takes us on an unusual journey into the world of sex. But less of a teenage-snickering-at-rude-words venture or a "sexpert" telling us how mastery of the lotus position is the solution to all our sexual woes (I did chuckle at Alain's remarks to this very notion) - more a thoughtful glance from a completely...
Published 19 months ago by Patrick Lye


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sex is more in the mind that we admit it is..., 4 Jun 2012
By 
V. Jakes (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...and that is what makes this book such an intriguing read. It's not meant to patronise you about sex and suggest you need to try harder with more effort, instead it's about examining the behaviour of yourself and possibly your partner to understand why we do the things that we do and perhaps celebrate these behaviours rather than push them away to the repressed corners of our minds.

I am a fan of Alain de Botton and find the tone in his books and essays to be measured and even and really do recommend this and other readings of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totemic polemic, 6 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. S. Miller "Page Turner" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Think More About Sex (School of Life) (Paperback)
Short though it is, this is a hugely important book which I hope politicians and policy-makers are reading right now. AdB has some wonderful insights into the (non) functioning of long-term human relationships and some truly novel ideas about how to make things better.

I appreciate that labelling a book like this a polemic may put off readers but AdB has a poet's gift of expression and writes with disarming accessibility. There are also many lyrical passages which demand to be re-read for the sheer enjoyment of his style of expression.

Hard to think how the rest of the titles in this series can possibly live up to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charming though brief and a tad artsy, 2 Sep 2012
This review is from: How To Think More About Sex (School of Life) (Paperback)
A delightfully quirky little book!

Alain de Botton takes us on an unusual journey into the world of sex. But less of a teenage-snickering-at-rude-words venture or a "sexpert" telling us how mastery of the lotus position is the solution to all our sexual woes (I did chuckle at Alain's remarks to this very notion) - more a thoughtful glance from a completely different perspective. Philosophy and sex. Not a normal combination, I give you that... but Mr de Botton is frighteningly on the ball with a number of his observations, and paints a rather stark view of sex. His theories into eroticism and the lack of desire were particularly interesting

His tone is dry, yet charming. It's a bit dark but laced elegantly with some lashings of good humour and a fair amount of tongue-in-cheek to boot. His obsession with art, however, grated somewhat... Trudging through a whimsical, yet painfully detailed, fascination with a painting of a woman (personally I thought it was a creepy sort of painting I'd see in a Count Dracula's Castle), how the biblical Madonna is somewhat sexually alluring (The original MILF, I guess) and how our fascination with art depicts our sexual interests.

On a number of occasions I found that he barely skimmed the surface of a topic, or I challenged the idea and wanted more explanation - but was disappointed not to see him explore them further. Some topics weren't even graced with a mention at all - such as social attitudes to sex (i.e. Why are men and women judged so differently in terms of their sexual behaviours)... which left the book feeling a bit bare. It was like I went to a fancy restaurant and left after having the Starters. Lovely starter for sure... just not truly satisfying. It felt more like an introduction than a comprehensive look at sexuality and sexual attitudes

Overall, it wasn't a bad read. It's a quirky title that brings some interesting ideas to the fray... but as stated by another reviewer: It's more of a long essay than a book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this writer..., 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my favourite writers though one of my least favourite subjects... When it popped up on screen it seemed an interesting way to gain an insight into a subject which I find utterly mysterious having unmeasurably low libido in a sex crazed world.

I would guess that most people are perplexed as to why sex does not work out for them as they had hoped, then they need to read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does it help us think more deeply and wisely about sex?, 13 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. P. G. Chesters (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Think More About Sex (School of Life) (Paperback)
Does it as the blurb says "help us think more deeply and wisely about sex"?

I could identify with most of the observations that he makes particularly "the boldness displayed by middle aged married men when they are trying to seduce other women should never be confused with confidence; it is just the fear and death, which breeds an awareness of just how infrequently they are ever going to have to sample such moments again". (although I'm not married).

The book is full of observations like this which make me simultaneously happy and sad.

I did think pretty hard about whether what we individually as beautiful is to fill a specific lack in ourselves. I thought the Mexican Church was ugly and OTT so perhaps I'm looking for calm in the middle of chaos. However like another reviewer I didn't rate Madame Antonia Devaucay - I thought she looked mean and bovine.

Whether this thinking will carry on and improve my (sex) life and life in general I am not too convinced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of the book, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The subject matter is complex to most of us. The author made a sound attempt at tackling it. He is correct about how porn on the internet can drag so many down into the pits, and how exploitative it is. As a writer he explores modern and ancient dilemmas that we face and gives useful solutions and suggestions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an honest philosophical look at sex, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. Robert Marsland (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Think More About Sex (School of Life) (Paperback)
Alain de Botton has written a very honest philosophy of sex here. He describes how our sense of loneliness in the world make sexual attraction a special form of validation, or he talks about how pornography should perhaps be censored against, or how sex is a wild and unruly force in our rationally conducted lives and even how perhaps thoughts of infidelity are somehow inevitable in a long term partnership. If there is a bum note its in his explication of a virtuous and wholesome future pornography in which even renaissance Madonnas are sexy - which goes against the definition of what pornography is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and life changing, 21 Jun 2013
This review is from: How To Think More About Sex (School of Life) (Paperback)
This is a quick read that can change your life. Importantly, it's now about how to 'it' better, but to get what you want, which honestly negotiated should lead to happier coupledom or partnership just for a night! For us singles we can read it as a thought-map to the kind of relationship we want in future. Or read it with your partner. Discuss the issues you disagree and agree on: your relationship will be stronger for it. It is now my gift de jour: everyone is getting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two birds with one stone, 4 Mar 2014
This book not only helped me think more about sex; it also helped me think less about Alain de Botton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect if you're looking for a light summary of a few theories, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Think More About Sex (School of Life) (Paperback)
de Botton could have done with going into more detail and he missed out a few very important theorists but an interesting insight into sexuality and the breakdown of the traditional beliefs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb13af3f0)

This product

How To Think More About Sex (School of Life)
How To Think More About Sex (School of Life) by The School of Life (Paperback - 10 May 2012)
5.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews