Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable legal thriller
A letter from the Army makes a life-term prisoner realise his killing of a small child wasn't his responsibility; he was just as much a victim as the child. But ruthless conspirators are not interested in letting him get information out of the prison, and they are willing to go to extremes to hinder him.
He manages to get a letter off to the Supreme Court, but the...
Published on 14 Oct. 2004 by Jan Erik Frantsvåg

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Readible Rubbish
Read this on the plane and it fitted the bill i.e. brainless reading. The plot moves along quickly and it is quite readable. The trouble belongs to the characters and the basic premise of the plot. The characters are paper thin and their actions, on which the plot rests, are just unbelievable. That makes the plot just too much to accept - even in a paperback flick. I...
Published 19 months ago by Pigstick


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable legal thriller, 14 Oct. 2004
By 
Jan Erik Frantsvåg "janeriks" (Tromsø, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simple Truth (Paperback)
A letter from the Army makes a life-term prisoner realise his killing of a small child wasn't his responsibility; he was just as much a victim as the child. But ruthless conspirators are not interested in letting him get information out of the prison, and they are willing to go to extremes to hinder him.
He manages to get a letter off to the Supreme Court, but the clerk who finds it comes to investigate further - he never comes home. The clerk's brother, an ex-cop turned attorney, and another Supreme Court clerk, tries to discover what happened.
Obviously, there are strong forces working against them, and every time they get near the truth, something happens. Baldacci cleverly builds up a sensation of paranoia and of impending doom, while a romance is slowly developing between the ex-cop and the clerk, despite their problems and their fear and hopelessness.
Gradually, they discover what happened, but only in the final moments the whole picture becomes clear. And the whole truth is both shocking and surprising.
Competent and well-written with a fast-paced plot, this is a novel I can recommend for some hours of light reading. The characters are well developed (for the thriller genre), the plot is not all that unbelievable and Baldacci is a good story-teller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Developed Legal Thriller, 2 April 2006
By 
Scottish Dave (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Simple Truth (Paperback)
A horrible murder is committed 25 years. The guilty party is in a military prison. But is he actually guilty? A justice clerk is murdered as the truth being to unravel. His brother and the woman he loves continue to seek to the truth putting their own lives at risk.
This is the first Baldacci book I have read and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The characters were well developed and you really got to know them and understand what drove them. On top of that there are plenty of twists, some of which you suspected others came very much as a surprise.
If you like legal thrillers then "The Simple Truth" is definitely worth reading. 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, 4 Jan. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simple Truth (Paperback)
This book was loaded with suspense, with a great plot, compelling twists and turns, and believable characters. Why only 4 stars? It all got a bit much for me at times, and I had to stop reading for a while to calm down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Baldacci., 16 Nov. 2000
By 
Kristian Pohlmann (Düsseldorf, NRW Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Simple Truth (Paperback)
David Baldacci does not fail to deliver. His sytle of writing is so engrossing, so detailed, so accurate and yet easily understandable for those that do not know the ins and outs of the legal world. From the first page right through to the final word, Baldacci's prose flows quickly as he takes you on a rollercoaster of a ride to discover "The Simple Truth". The book, as the title suggests, is concerned with justice (a theme richly expoited thoughout Baldacci's novels) and as the story unfolds you find yourself being more and more drawn into the book in the hope that justice is indeed granted to the main character of the book, Rufus Harms.....
If you want a book that hooks you from start to finish and leaves you believing that the story you have just read is in fact true and not a work of fiction, then buy this book today! 5 Stars for Baldacci! There is no better Legal Thriller writer, and that is the simple turth...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT, 25 May 2011
By 
V. Pogioli "VITO" (DORSET/GREAT BRITAIN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simple Truth (Hardcover)
NO MUCH TO SAY REALLY, TOGETHER WITH MY FAVOURITE WRITERS LIKE: SIDNEY SHELDON, MICHAEL CONNELLY, STEPHEN LEATHER,HARLAN COBEN AND OF COURSE PETER ROBINSON, DAVID BALDACCI IS A GENIUS WITH NO ECCEPTION...I BUY HIS BOOKS WITHOUT EVEN READ WHAT'S ABOUT.THAT'S ALL REALLY. VITO POGIOLI
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Author's Books are always of a High Standard, 17 Jan. 2008
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Simple Truth (Paperback)
David Baldacci attended law school at the University of Virginia, and went on to work as a trial lawyer, and later as a corporate lawyer, in Washington, D.C. He is now a full-time writer whose best selling novels include Absolute Power, Total Control, The Winner and Saving Faith. He lives in Virginia with his wife and two children.

First published in 1998 this is yet another winner for the author, whose books are consistently good and have well thought out plots and believable and well-rounded characters. Baldacci has established himself as one of the best suspense thriller writers around at the moment.

Rufus Harms is an old hand at prison, he should be, he has been rotting there for the last 25 years for the brutal killing of a young girl. The he receives a letter smuggled into the jail by his brother. It reveals that a possible massive miscarriage of justice has occurred, something that threatens to blow the justice system and the Supreme Court wide open . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good that you don't want to put it down!, 14 Feb. 2000
This review is from: The Simple Truth (Paperback)
I'm a great fan of David Baldacci, and find his books both interesting and keep you on the edge of your seat. Not until near the end do you see exactly the twist in this story and how it's about to unfold the ending. Well done again David and looking forward to reading the next thriller! I'm hooked on this writer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 8 Jun. 2010
This review is from: The Simple Truth (Paperback)
I love David Baldacci's books and this one did not disappoint. It's well written (as always) with a great plot and good characters. I just could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly entertaining., 17 Mar. 2014
By 
Shirley Edwards (N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simple Truth (Kindle Edition)
Yet another amazing Baldacci creation. Brilliantly written, and real edge of the seat stuff. Keeps your attention from start to finish. What more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Readible Rubbish, 8 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Simple Truth (Paperback)
Read this on the plane and it fitted the bill i.e. brainless reading. The plot moves along quickly and it is quite readable. The trouble belongs to the characters and the basic premise of the plot. The characters are paper thin and their actions, on which the plot rests, are just unbelievable. That makes the plot just too much to accept - even in a paperback flick. I read it cover to cover and can't say that I didn't enjoy it, it is a pity that it is just such a ridiculous story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Simple Truth
The Simple Truth by David Baldacci (Paperback - 4 Nov. 2011)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews