Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable legal thriller
A letter from the Army makes a life-term prisoner realise his killing of a small child wasn't his responsibility; he was just as much a victim as the child. But ruthless conspirators are not interested in letting him get information out of the prison, and they are willing to go to extremes to hinder him.
He manages to get a letter off to the Supreme Court, but the...
Published on 14 Oct 2004 by Jan Erik Frantsvåg

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Readible Rubbish
Read this on the plane and it fitted the bill i.e. brainless reading. The plot moves along quickly and it is quite readable. The trouble belongs to the characters and the basic premise of the plot. The characters are paper thin and their actions, on which the plot rests, are just unbelievable. That makes the plot just too much to accept - even in a paperback flick. I...
Published 8 months ago by Pigstick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable legal thriller, 14 Oct 2004
By 
Jan Erik Frantsvåg "janeriks" (Tromsø, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simple Truth (Paperback)
A letter from the Army makes a life-term prisoner realise his killing of a small child wasn't his responsibility; he was just as much a victim as the child. But ruthless conspirators are not interested in letting him get information out of the prison, and they are willing to go to extremes to hinder him.
He manages to get a letter off to the Supreme Court, but the clerk who finds it comes to investigate further - he never comes home. The clerk's brother, an ex-cop turned attorney, and another Supreme Court clerk, tries to discover what happened.
Obviously, there are strong forces working against them, and every time they get near the truth, something happens. Baldacci cleverly builds up a sensation of paranoia and of impending doom, while a romance is slowly developing between the ex-cop and the clerk, despite their problems and their fear and hopelessness.
Gradually, they discover what happened, but only in the final moments the whole picture becomes clear. And the whole truth is both shocking and surprising.
Competent and well-written with a fast-paced plot, this is a novel I can recommend for some hours of light reading. The characters are well developed (for the thriller genre), the plot is not all that unbelievable and Baldacci is a good story-teller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, 4 Jan 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simple Truth (Paperback)
This book was loaded with suspense, with a great plot, compelling twists and turns, and believable characters. Why only 4 stars? It all got a bit much for me at times, and I had to stop reading for a while to calm down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Developed Legal Thriller, 2 April 2006
By 
Scottish Dave (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Simple Truth (Paperback)
A horrible murder is committed 25 years. The guilty party is in a military prison. But is he actually guilty? A justice clerk is murdered as the truth being to unravel. His brother and the woman he loves continue to seek to the truth putting their own lives at risk.
This is the first Baldacci book I have read and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The characters were well developed and you really got to know them and understand what drove them. On top of that there are plenty of twists, some of which you suspected others came very much as a surprise.
If you like legal thrillers then "The Simple Truth" is definitely worth reading. 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT, 25 May 2011
By 
V. Pogioli "VITO" (DORSET/GREAT BRITAIN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simple Truth (Hardcover)
NO MUCH TO SAY REALLY, TOGETHER WITH MY FAVOURITE WRITERS LIKE: SIDNEY SHELDON, MICHAEL CONNELLY, STEPHEN LEATHER,HARLAN COBEN AND OF COURSE PETER ROBINSON, DAVID BALDACCI IS A GENIUS WITH NO ECCEPTION...I BUY HIS BOOKS WITHOUT EVEN READ WHAT'S ABOUT.THAT'S ALL REALLY. VITO POGIOLI
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 8 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Simple Truth (Paperback)
I love David Baldacci's books and this one did not disappoint. It's well written (as always) with a great plot and good characters. I just could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good that you don't want to put it down!, 14 Feb 2000
This review is from: The Simple Truth (Paperback)
I'm a great fan of David Baldacci, and find his books both interesting and keep you on the edge of your seat. Not until near the end do you see exactly the twist in this story and how it's about to unfold the ending. Well done again David and looking forward to reading the next thriller! I'm hooked on this writer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not his best, but very good nevertheless, 29 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Simple Truth (Paperback)
While this isn't his best book, his easy reading style has not diminished. The story line is the usual single man against powerful leaders yarn, but the Baldacci leads you into the stroy and grips your imagination really make this unputdownable. If you like thrillers, buy this. You won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant and impossible to put down, 10 May 2001
By A Customer
I have read all of Baldacci's thrillers and believe he is far superior to Grisham. I have read this book twice. Like all his books there are characters who you really care for plus cracking scripts and plots. I have recommended this book (plus his others) to friends and family and they are now confirmed Baldacci fans. Do yourself a favour and buy this and his others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars General, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simple Truth (Kindle Edition)
Slow developing in places,but,overall,up to Baldcci's usual high standard. Definitely worth reading,but,sadly

lacking the hard to put down factor for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The simple truth, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simple Truth (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic book really interesting a real page turner I would recommend it to anyone for a great crime story fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad556e58)

This product

The Simple Truth
The Simple Truth by David Baldacci (Paperback - 4 Nov 2011)
£5.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews