Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 10 year old loved this book, 20 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Sherlock Holmes 5: Snake Bite (Paperback)
My 10 year old has read the series so far and lovedit. Would recommend to advanced readers who love Sherlock Holmes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snake bite, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book
The book had a very good story. And a sad ending for Sherlock
I read the book very easily and there wasn't any really difficult words.
:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would recommend it to anyone of any age over 9. Ideal for children who are competent readers and enjoy a good adventure - years 5 and upwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning elementary, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At last... another excellent book by Andrew Lane!
When one reads (or watches of TV or films) Sherlock Holmes, we all accept that he knows a lot of things. But very few of us think "how did he learn this?"
In the first of the Young Sherlock Holmes series by Andrew Lane, Sherlock is sent to an Uncle & Aunt in the country whilst his Mother is recuperating. Amyus Crowe is assigned (by older brother Mycroft) to be Sherlock's tutor. Throughout this & over the next three books, & one "novelette", Amyus (& his daughter Virginia, who Sherlock takes a shine too) teaches Sherlock & his friend Matty how to "think outside the box".
In Snake Bite, Sherlock finds himself travelling to China on a cargo ship. With his usual “I might just as well learn while I work” attitude, Sherlock gains much respect from the Captain & crew. The ship’s cook befriends Cherlock & begins to teach Sherlock to speak chinese & also the art of Tai’Chi.
Once in China, Sherlock finds himself investigating the death of a friend, another friend’s father as well as the Head Cook from another ship, all of whom die in very similar circumstances.
As usual, Andrew Lane gives an exceptional view as to how Sherlock may have learned what he did to become the man we know today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking good read, as ever, 22 Jan 2013
By 
Ye Olde Ed (Chelmsford, England) - See all my reviews
At the end of the fourth novel, "Fire Storm", Sherlock woke from a drugged sleep to find himself on board a ship bound for China. "Young Sherlock Holmes: Snake Bite" by Andrew Lane sees him separated from his friends and family, a stranger in a strange land, facing baffling mystery and deadly danger. Mr Lane somehow devises adventures for the youngster that sit comfortably within the precise period setting, that are suspenseful, thrilling and intelligent, and that credibly contribute towards the development of his character. It's no mean feat to write so convincingly of young Holmes in Shanghai, solving the problem of apparently impossible murders by snake venom, foiling a plot to destroy an American warship, learning oriental martial arts the hard way, and confronting one of the vilest criminals imaginable - and we can believe that all this contributes towards his becoming the man Dr Watson will later meet at Bart's Hospital. A cracking good read, as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great instalment, 4 Jan 2013
Five books in and Andrew Lane's Young Sherlock Holmes books just seem to get better and better. I raced through the latest, Snake Bite, in a single sitting, and yet again I was left wanting more and more, and this may even be my favourite of the series so far.

Snake Bite is very different from the previous books in the series in that it hardly features any of the characters that have appeared in previous books. In fact, the only two that do make an appearance are Sherlock's brother Mycroft and his tutor Amyus Crowe, and this only in the book's prologue as they agonise over the disappearance of Sherlock. It would appear that he has been kidnapped, most likely by The Paradol Chamber, but for what reason we are left to speculate along with Mycroft and Crowe.

The first chapter proper opens with Sherlock at sea, on board the Gloria Scott, just off the southernmost tip of Africa. He still has little idea as to how he came to be on board the ship - he can remember falling asleep in his uncle's library, and the next thing he knew he was at sea, initially being treated as a stowaway. However, through hard work he has become accepted by the crew as almost one of them, and so begins his greatest adventure so far. An adventure that sees him travelling all the way to China, facing pirates along the way, and making new friends and, of course, new enemies along the way.

In previous books Andrew Lane has already done a considerable amount of fleshing out of his young Holmes, gradually giving him the skills, character traits and morals that Sherlockians the world over know and love. We have seen Sherlock learn to play the violin, we have seen the birth of his deductive powers and his desire to question, and we have seen Sherlock's very obvious sense of what is right and what is wrong. In this book Andrew Lane continues to give us the glimpses into how the adult Sherlock was 'made', as we see the young version learning Chinese, and also his first introduction to the martial arts of the Far East (and very useful these skills prove to be as well). We also see how Sherlock developed the ability to converse naturally with people who in those days would have seemed a long way below his station - a skill he puts to great use in Conan Doyle's stories.

Without wanting to spoil things for readers I will also mention that the ending of this book is not so cut-and-dried as in the previous stories. There were elements of it I was not so happy with (a certain letter rings a little false in my mind, but I am no historian and it may be very typical of society at that time, and it does explain a significant aspect of the adult Sherlock's character), but the author's note about the return of The Paradol Chamber in the next book was very welcome news.

I want to leave you with one short excerpt from the book that put a huge smile on my face. As in previous books, Andrew Lane likes to drop in the occasional huge nudge and a wink towards the future Holmes, and this is one I loved. Sherlock is on board the Gloria Scott, and is thinking to himself that Mycroft's policy of staying at home and therefore keeping safe might actually be a wise philosophy as working on board such a ship is a very dangerous occupation. However, he quickly dismisses this as it would mean missing out on all kinds of adventures. At this, he smiles to himself and thinks: "Maybe the thing to do was to make friends with a doctor - that way you could always ave treatment close at hand."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worth the money! I don't normally spend more than a fiver, but this collection is superb and 'Snake Bite' didn't let me down one bit. 'Read It' .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic, can't wait for number 6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flabbergasted, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book puts a book inside real life! There's no other book I would choose to make me sleep happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS A MUST READ, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book by a great author it takes your breath away. I love the bit a the end about sherlocks girl friend marring someone ELSE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Young Sherlock Holmes 5: Snake Bite
Young Sherlock Holmes 5: Snake Bite by Andrew Lane (Paperback - 4 July 2013)
5.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews