Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tzatziki fragments
Unlike Feta and Moussaka, this book is more about odd bits from the past and not a tale of current life, but that in no way detracts from either the humour or the interest. I enjoyed it, and will read the rest of his books.
Published 12 months ago by Janie S

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not his best book
Ramblings from Rhodes is very apt for this book. The author certainly goes on and on about petty and boring things. He dedicates a whole chapter on something that is not relevant to the general gist of the book. Having red his previous two books, I was looking forward to this one but I have to say I was disappointed.
Published 16 months ago by Frem


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tzatziki fragments, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unlike Feta and Moussaka, this book is more about odd bits from the past and not a tale of current life, but that in no way detracts from either the humour or the interest. I enjoyed it, and will read the rest of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It may not be Idyllic but..., 9 July 2014
By 
Phil kendall "Meltemi" (On the edge of Civilization & the Fens) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite what others say about this series, it does give an insight on the life of ordinary people living in Greece. And if you have read the previous parts it makes sense and this book is by far the better read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Return to Greece, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
More adventures and enjoyable reminiscences of places we have visited too!Plus an insight into the pros and cons of living in Greece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i have always loved Greece and dreamt of living there but it'll never happen. never mind, enjoyed reading of his exploits with the neighbours and his travels to other parts of Greece as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An amusing read, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading this before,during and after (too much to do!) our trip to a greek island. It did make me laugh out loud at various times and was set at just the right tone. A good holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous book for dipping in and out of (like tzatziki?!), 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I live in Greece on an island near Rhodes, where author John Manuel has made his home for many years now, and I found this collection of writings about life in Greece completely entertaining and full of useful and interesting information on cultural nuances and everything from cheap and simple ways to keep pests off your fruit trees to a poignant assessment of the true cost of cheap all-inclusive holidays for both the locals and the consumer. You gain an insight into the very rewarding life he and his half-Greek wife have built in a quiet part of Rhodes, yet each of the short chapters works as a stand-alone piece. I found the final quarter of the book an ideal way to pass the late-night ferry journey from Rhodes to Tilos last night! I managed to buy my Kindle copy for the price of a coffee, so you can't say fairer than that. I'll certainly be buying other books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sorry it's the last!!!, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was sorry to finish this book which is the last of the three. Being a huge fan of Rhodes and particularly the south of the island I was transported right back there for a few hours and although not a substitute for a holiday there it will keep me going for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very momentus, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been in Greece many times before, everything John talks about in the book is exactly true, even the way of life there. (I am in Greece at the moment).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not his best book, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ramblings from Rhodes is very apt for this book. The author certainly goes on and on about petty and boring things. He dedicates a whole chapter on something that is not relevant to the general gist of the book. Having red his previous two books, I was looking forward to this one but I have to say I was disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kala!, 2 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant.

Anyone who has been to Greece in years gone by will relate to just about every situation that arises in this book. It had me laughing and reminiscing over past visits to numerous Greek islands. The subtitle (Ramblings from Rhodes) is a bit misleading, I'm halfway through and Rhodes is't mentioned yet. Not that this should deter anyone, it's very funny.
Looking forward to reading more from this author.

Poli Kala. Yammas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tzatziki For You To Say
Tzatziki For You To Say by John Manuel (Paperback - 22 Nov 2010)
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews