Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Very happy
Published 1 month ago by lorraine

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So disappointing!
This is the first of Lindy Smith's books that has been a complete disappointment. The techniques covered within this book are few & far between, and although it's called 'Piping Icing Onto Cakes', about half of the projects involve piping buttercream swirls onto cupcakes, covering boards, making pastillage etc etc which, although useful in a general sense, are NOT what I...
Published 9 months ago by B. Seed


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So disappointing!, 10 Dec 2013
By 
B. Seed (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Contemporary Cake Decorating Bible: Piping: Techniques, tips and projects for piping on cakes (Paperback)
This is the first of Lindy Smith's books that has been a complete disappointment. The techniques covered within this book are few & far between, and although it's called 'Piping Icing Onto Cakes', about half of the projects involve piping buttercream swirls onto cupcakes, covering boards, making pastillage etc etc which, although useful in a general sense, are NOT what I bought this book for! What's the very first thing that people want to learn to pipe onto cakes? Surely it's LETTERING... this is not even mentioned!

One thing that is mentioned time & time again is an ingredient (Superwhite dust) and thus far, I haven't found the place where it mentions what to do with it: do you add it to the icing before piping? Do you dust it on afterwards? Do you use it at all?

I now realise that this is simply a few pages lifted directly out of Lindy Smith's Contemporary Cake Decorating Bible, so if you have that already then don't bother. I thought that this book would go into more depth than the very simple chapter in that book, but no, it looks as if Ms Smith's publishers are just out to make a quick buck by re-cycling old stuff.

I'm really quite grumpy about this! :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just O.K., 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Contemporary Cake Decorating Bible: Piping: Techniques, tips and projects for piping on cakes (Paperback)
This book is a little lacking in content, and is mainly made up of cupcake toppings which was not what I expected.

The cake on the cover is lovely, but it is the only one in the book that I would have an interest in making.
It wasn't expensive however, so here we go again, another one for the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not overly informative., 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Contemporary Cake Decorating Bible: Piping: Techniques, tips and projects for piping on cakes (Paperback)
Lovely piping details and great photos but I expected more from a Lindy Smith book. Content was a bit scant and not enough detailing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointed, 19 Feb 2014
By 
Croft (Herefordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Contemporary Cake Decorating Bible: Piping: Techniques, tips and projects for piping on cakes (Paperback)
Really not enough detail and thin overall to say this was a really good purchase - i fear it will sit on the shelf gathering dust rather than help me make slightly more sophisticated cakes, in my humble opinion. Think there must be some better guides around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cannot recommend it at all., 4 Jan 2014
By 
Top reader (south east coast UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Contemporary Cake Decorating Bible: Piping: Techniques, tips and projects for piping on cakes (Paperback)
I felt this book was very poor even for beginners with absolutely no experience of anything at all to do with the most basic of sponge cake covering. Its only a thin book, and the pages info there are repeated on other pages...having said that , the company i bought it from were good at giving me a full refund.. Sincerely though i could not recommend this to anyone. There are much better, well informed basic books for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK, 30 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Contemporary Cake Decorating Bible: Piping: Techniques, tips and projects for piping on cakes (Paperback)
I like Lindy Smith, but this book is basically the same as the Bible one I have of hers so from my point of view a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars oops, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Contemporary Cake Decorating Bible: Piping: Techniques, tips and projects for piping on cakes (Paperback)
this was a xmas gift from a well meanign hubby who simply didnt realise that i ALREADY had this in a previous book.. bless him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Contemporary Cake Decorating Bible: Piping: Techniques, tips and projects for piping on cakes (Paperback)
Very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Contemporary Cake Decorating Bible: Piping: Techniques, tips and projects for piping on cakes (Paperback)
Good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews