Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book!!
I was totally thrilled when my long awaited book arrived this morning! I poured over it and read it in great detail with bags of excitement as Tilda books are so unique, and you are whisked back to a magical world. For all Tilda fans, this is another must have book to add to your amazing collection of pure inspiration!
This book has 46 pages of beautiful pictures,...
Published 9 months ago by Nicola Williams

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars craft
This book is good but i do not find it the best. I think a lot of the things in this book is to be made for a certain younger age but i wouldn't say it was rubbish. Its better for people with children which i have not so to me i can not get the best out of the book.
Published 3 months ago by vickie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book!!, 10 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilda's Winter Delights (Paperback)
I was totally thrilled when my long awaited book arrived this morning! I poured over it and read it in great detail with bags of excitement as Tilda books are so unique, and you are whisked back to a magical world. For all Tilda fans, this is another must have book to add to your amazing collection of pure inspiration!
This book has 46 pages of beautiful pictures, and most importantly FULL SIZE patterns (how rare is that these days?). The fun paper projects are in the back of the book ready to photo copy onto stiff paper, with the beautify of which you can reproduce Father Christmas's head and then decorate his body as many times as you wish, great projects for children to do. Plus the paper ladies are fun too, big and little girls can make all sorts of amazing skirts and use the dolls to string together etc!!!
There are all sorts of decorative little pictures within each page which you can photo copy to add as additional extras for your projects, so don't miss out on those as you look through the book.
The instructions are excellent in some projects and non existent in others (I will explain more further on).

Contents

Project 1. The skating angel
Project 2. The pretty pentagon patchwork balls (for the polar bears)
Project 3. The hexagon patchwork placemat
Project 4a. The patchwork pillowcase
4b. The textured patchwork quilt
Project 5. Decorative skates
Project 6. The polar bears
Project 7. Father Christmas
Project 8. Paper angels
Project 9. The chalet girls
Project 10. Christmas stockings

Patterns
Suppliers for the UK & US
Index

I was torn to give this book 3 or 4 stars. There are a few issues I do have as a very accomplished craft and textile arts lady.
The instructions are good, but what happened to the instructions for projects 4a and 4b???
There are no size dimensions, no fabric quantities, no instructions on making the roused up pillow case and no details at all for the quilt. Maybe they are project suggestions on using their exclusive fabrics, but it's naughty of them to add this project in the book and leave out all the critical details!!! I have books on quilting I can use to get these details, but not everyone has. Also to create this semi smocked effect, you would need specialised very strong thread to prevent snapping. Non of these details are in this book??!! A bit crucial really!
With Tilda you always expect that extra beauty and vintage feeling. Who was in charge of designing the Christmas stockings, what a total let down, they don't fit in with the beautiful vintage feel of the Tilda designs. They are the most boring Christmas stocking in all the craft books I've ever read!! They look like a poor after thought, why??? Plus there are lousy instructions for the quilted stocking, and no detail if you added the semi smocked/gathered look, it will decrease your fabric size, plus you will also need wadding and backing fabric for the front and back sections again this has been left out!

I just think it's so important for those who are buying this book, who want to make these projects, to get the full amount from this book, you need to have good knowledge in crafts and textiles. Some people buy these books as beautiful books just to enjoy and that's ok too.
I really want you to buy this book it and get the most from it hopefully, and have no unexpected surprises!
I hope this has been of some help :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You are not going to regret!, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilda's Winter Delights (Paperback)
Love this one! All the projects are beautiful. I am currently doing the polar bears one and it's amazing. You are not going to regret if you buy this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book. Cute projects., 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilda's Winter Delights (Paperback)
I couldn't resist this book as I love the bear on the front. I haven't attempted to make him yet. There are some other lovely projects also. Can't wait to get making some of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love all of her book!!, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilda's Winter Delights (Paperback)
Like all her other books they are all amazing very easy to do all of her projects just takes time to get the right . 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tilda's Winter Night, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilda's Winter Delights (Paperback)
This book was very nice. It had more paper craft in it than i would have liked, but still a nice book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilda's Winter Delights (Paperback)
I have to admit I am biased as I love all of Tone Finnager's Tilda products and this book doesn't fail to please me! It is lovely to be able to sit and browse through and think of all the things I want to make ... and hope to make!

Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
By 
Lizzie (Bournemouth, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilda's Winter Delights (Paperback)
Beautiful book with some very pretty ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilda's Winter Delights (Paperback)
What a beautiful book lots of lovely ideas.. Just need all the fabric!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars craft, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilda's Winter Delights (Paperback)
This book is good but i do not find it the best. I think a lot of the things in this book is to be made for a certain younger age but i wouldn't say it was rubbish. Its better for people with children which i have not so to me i can not get the best out of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BOOK, 13 May 2014
By 
Mrs. F. F. Box "fran" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilda's Winter Delights (Paperback)
LOVE THIS BOOK I AM JUST GETTING MY CRAFT BEG OUT TO MAKE ONE OF YOUR GREAT DOLLS
THANK YOU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tilda's Winter Delights
Tilda's Winter Delights by Tone Finnanger (Paperback - 27 Dec 2013)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews