Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handmade heaven!
A beautifully presented book - great photographic plates - with lots of exciting techniques to follow - cutting. moulding, embellishing. . My kind of simple pottery Every page has something that interested me. I am hooked! All I need now is a kiln!
Published 21 months ago by perry

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacks detail
This book is lovely for on your coffee table. But if you never have worked with clay it lacks detail on how to do the basics and I think it is unlikely you would end up with any of the results as nice looking as illustrated. If you know how to do handbuilding you may pick up the odd idea but probably very little new.
Published 21 months ago by Annie Schmidt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacks detail, 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Pottery At Home: Simple Ceramics to Make on your Kitchen Table (Paperback)
This book is lovely for on your coffee table. But if you never have worked with clay it lacks detail on how to do the basics and I think it is unlikely you would end up with any of the results as nice looking as illustrated. If you know how to do handbuilding you may pick up the odd idea but probably very little new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handmade heaven!, 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Pottery At Home: Simple Ceramics to Make on your Kitchen Table (Paperback)
A beautifully presented book - great photographic plates - with lots of exciting techniques to follow - cutting. moulding, embellishing. . My kind of simple pottery Every page has something that interested me. I am hooked! All I need now is a kiln!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fabulous book, 8 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Pottery At Home: Simple Ceramics to Make on your Kitchen Table (Paperback)
I received this today and I haven't been able to put it down. The book is full of great ideas and really beautiful things you can make. I am not sure if making the ideas is as easy as the book shows but it will be fun having a go. I recommend this book and I am pleased to say that it is a great addition to my pottery reference library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some nice ideas..., 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Pottery At Home: Simple Ceramics to Make on your Kitchen Table (Paperback)
Kinda lacking basic info. I wanted more indepth information on the types of clay, glazes and tools. This was more of a pretty coffee table book than informative. Nice products though and very pretty, laid out well and catches the eye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, shame about the content!, 15 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Pottery At Home: Simple Ceramics to Make on your Kitchen Table (Paperback)
First the pros.
Lovely presented book. full of beautiful photographs. Text is well presented and easy to read, has some good ideas.

Now the cons.
As a fairly experienced ceramist looking at this book to help potential students I was disappointed. The book plunges into ceramic terminology without any information about what is going on. You have to fish to the back to find out what she is talking about.
The templates are not great. The one for the jug suggests that you might like to enlarge or reduce it to suit. You would HAVE to enlarge it if you wanted anything more than a jug for a children's tea set, if you reduced it you may be able to put a daisy in it after it was finished but nothing else!
The section entitled "Glistening Glazes" actually does not discuss glazes at all rather has a page about using englobes. No other surface covering gets a look in and certainly not glazes!
There are no real technical details in the book at all, if you dont know how to work with clay, make joints, develop clay to leather hard stage, roll out to an even thickness , wedge air out of clay and so on you will be using the chapter on how to make pottery failures into mosaics quite a bit!!

Overall. This book is not great for beginners. The author would have done better by spending more time writing about the pottery and less on high quality photographs (the book is more than half full of her ceramic photographs) and pages about dreamy summer days in the garden and opening presents from her grandma!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This book is not so good, it is just a bit too twee and ..., 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Pottery At Home: Simple Ceramics to Make on your Kitchen Table (Paperback)
This book is not so good, it is just a bit too twee and very Cath Kidson, Showing off the decor and the atmophere of the surroundings rather than pots. Really not very much in it at all. I will be sending it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Pottery At Home: Simple Ceramics to Make on your Kitchen Table (Paperback)
Beware if you buy this book the items have to be fired in a kiln ! You can get away with using air dry clay though.On the hole a lovely book a lot like Tilda format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good plain talking no nonsense invaluable manual, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Pottery At Home: Simple Ceramics to Make on your Kitchen Table (Paperback)
Get this book. No question. Just buy it. Good plain talking no nonsense invaluable manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 2 Oct. 2014
By 
Lesley Ford (BRIDGWATER, Somerset, GB) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Handmade Pottery At Home: Simple Ceramics to Make on your Kitchen Table (Paperback)
Lovely, not for the novice but really great items to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of inspiration ..., 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Pottery At Home: Simple Ceramics to Make on your Kitchen Table (Paperback)
This is a really great book full of simple, lovely items to make for every occasion. Well presented - would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Handmade Pottery At Home: Simple Ceramics to Make on your Kitchen Table
Handmade Pottery At Home: Simple Ceramics to Make on your Kitchen Table by Frida Anthin Broberg (Paperback - 9 May 2013)
£15.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews