Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The most beautiful of books
Did you ever open a book that was so beautiful that you just longed to jump into the pages...? This book made me feel like that. The scenes created by Tone Finnanger are so dreamlike that they are almost impossibly lovely. All of the styling is inspirational; I like to think that the house looks like a perfect version of mine ;-P

Sadly I find myself reading...
Published 16 months ago by Vintage Folly

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful BUT.....
This is undoubtedly a beautiful book with ideas for truly gorgeous toys and decorations in it. I read through it and then dashed off to my local fabric store to buy fabric to make a princess doll.
This is where the BUT comes in! Most of the other reviews here comment on the books beauty and at some point say 'haven't had time to make anything yet'. Unfortunately it...
Published 6 months ago by TC Reading


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The most beautiful of books, 23 April 2013
This review is from: Tilda's Fairy Tale Wonderland: Over 25 beautiful sewing and papercraft projects (Paperback)
Did you ever open a book that was so beautiful that you just longed to jump into the pages...? This book made me feel like that. The scenes created by Tone Finnanger are so dreamlike that they are almost impossibly lovely. All of the styling is inspirational; I like to think that the house looks like a perfect version of mine ;-P

Sadly I find myself reading this book for the first time now, with a 10 year old daughter and not years ago, with a 2 year old one. I say sadly because the vast majority of the projects are figures, characters....toys for want of a better word. Although every single one of the toys is heirloom-worthy and would no doubt be treasured for years, I think these things have to be given to a person during their childhood for them to have really long lasting appeal.

So in some ways, the book made me feel a little melancholy, that the time for telling my child stories about Princesses and unicorns, may be long gone. I'm just keeping my fingers crossed that like me, Beth's love for fairytales is rekindled in her teens and I can help furnish her bedroom with some of these divine little ballerinas, soldiers and angels in just a few short years.

I doubt I would have had time to make these beautiful objects when my daughter was tiny anyway; this book does not claim to contain simple, easy or quick projects, but it does offer the opportunity to create something beautiful, polished and unique....from scratch.

There are some non-figurine decorations such as fabric teapots which would look lovely in any home and could even be used as pin cushions and a Princess and the Pea wall hanging that I can't wait to make out of all the scraps of fabric that I can't possibly part with I have been saving for just such a project.

Projects are made using Tilda fabrics which adds to the cohesive look of the book, but of course you can use any material you like (guidelines are given) and all patterns are included at the back of the book.

I would recommend this book to anyone with children in their lives, be it sons, daughters, nephews, nieces, Grandchildren or even neighbours. Seasoned crafters will enjoy the challenge and novices will be glad that they took a leap of faith.

Love Rachel
Vintagefolly.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Latest tilda book, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilda's Fairy Tale Wonderland: Over 25 beautiful sewing and papercraft projects (Paperback)
This is a lovely book full of new ideas and the same dolls as before but with variations.
They are so pretty cannot wait to start one of the ballerinas,these would look lovely in a little girls fairy princess room with the soldiers for a boys room fantastic pictures a lovely book to look through even if you do not want to make them yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful BUT....., 6 Feb 2014
This review is from: Tilda's Fairy Tale Wonderland: Over 25 beautiful sewing and papercraft projects (Paperback)
This is undoubtedly a beautiful book with ideas for truly gorgeous toys and decorations in it. I read through it and then dashed off to my local fabric store to buy fabric to make a princess doll.
This is where the BUT comes in! Most of the other reviews here comment on the books beauty and at some point say 'haven't had time to make anything yet'. Unfortunately it becomes a rather frustrating experience when you do. The fact that there are variations on many of the patterns means that there is an awful lot of 'as for page 109' in the instructions, so you have to flick back and forth many times before you are confident of the directions. Quite a few of the templates are mis-labelled - OK it's not the end of the world if something says its an arm when it's clearly a leg, but it's annoying. The book instructs you to cut out the toys after you have sewn the seams (which is an idea that is new to me but may be familiar if you make small, detailed toys like these?) which means the toy piece templates don't have seam allowances. There are some templates for clothes and I have no idea from the template or the instructions (which read in places as though they have been badly translated) whether the seam allowance is included or I should add it. Again, it's not the end of the world and I can work it out through trial and error (and I tend to tinker with patterns anyway) but it's annoying. It seems that the patterns weren't tested properly, which is a shame.
So in summary, beautiful ideas, but patterns / instructions are not of the same standard and less than I would hope for the price of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tilda, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilda's Fairy Tale Wonderland: Over 25 beautiful sewing and papercraft projects (Paperback)
I have quite a few of her books but haven't made anything from it yet too busy with other things but I do like her bboks because you don't have to enlarge the patterns just trace them off or scan and print them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real fairytale wonderland, 15 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. Ja Lane "book lane" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilda's Fairy Tale Wonderland: Over 25 beautiful sewing and papercraft projects (Paperback)
Once more this book was eagerly awaited and didn't dissapoint. My word such wonderful photos and great instructions and actual size templates. Tone's sewing projects do come together so well,so v ery pretty I want to make them all. My book only arrived today. I have all Tone's books and have loved each and everyone. With Love and Light Joyce Lane xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More gorgeous stuff!, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilda's Fairy Tale Wonderland: Over 25 beautiful sewing and papercraft projects (Paperback)
As you would expect, more lovely projects to make from this very distinctive designer. The dolls in particular are joyful and I can't wait to get started on them! Scrumptious Tilda, as always!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent book, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilda's Fairy Tale Wonderland: Over 25 beautiful sewing and papercraft projects (Paperback)
Absolutely beautiful book. Very creative and written and presented well. All of Tone Finnanger's books are inspiring, well written and presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tilda has done it again, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilda's Fairy Tale Wonderland: Over 25 beautiful sewing and papercraft projects (Paperback)
as usual with tilda books there are many wonderful projects well detailed and patterns are easy the colours and designsmake you want to dive in straight away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tilda's fairytale wonderland, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilda's Fairy Tale Wonderland: Over 25 beautiful sewing and papercraft projects (Paperback)
this is a realy great book lost in there to make i cant wait to get started
if you buy this book you will injoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of projects, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tilda's Fairy Tale Wonderland: Over 25 beautiful sewing and papercraft projects (Paperback)
Good book with a nice range of projects. Clear photographs, patterns and instructions. My teenage daughter has has no problem in completing several of the designs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tilda's Fairy Tale Wonderland: Over 25 beautiful sewing and papercraft projects
11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews