Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide
I find the instructions in this guide really clear and easy to follow. The projects to make are also really good. As a beginner in quilting I look forward to using it and would definitely recommend it.
Published 19 months ago by Gadgetfreek

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea
This tries to be a bit too much at once. There is machine piecing, hand piecing, and English paper piecing, and none of the projects feels super inspiring. Only the quilt on the front cover seems bright somehow thanks to the vintage fabrics.

The style probably isn't me at all, but the designs feel quite mismatched and I think there's room for improvement in the...
Published 3 months ago by recognisethepattern


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Quilting: 16 projects to learn to quilt (Paperback)
I find the instructions in this guide really clear and easy to follow. The projects to make are also really good. As a beginner in quilting I look forward to using it and would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginner's Guide to Quilting: SUPERB, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Quilting: 16 projects to learn to quilt (Paperback)
This is a beautifully written and photographed book. It really is ideal for beginners. Elizabeth Betts has written in a very easy to understand way and the drawings and descriptions are also simple to understand. There are lots of projects in here that a beginner can feel confident about making and I think Elizabeth has done the right thing by starting with smaller, simpler items and then gradually moving up. I love this book and will be working my way through it. I strongly recommend this book to any patchworker/quilter and not just beginners either. Many congratulations to the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book - something for all levels of ability & experience., 27 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Quilting: 16 projects to learn to quilt (Paperback)
I wanted a comprehensive easy to follow patchwork book for my students to use in my workshop where I teach sewing.

This book is perfect. Inspiring pictures to look at, good range of projects and well explained instructions.

There's a project to suit everyone in here from those who have just started patchwork, those who want a quick to do project and more experienced patchworkers looking an inspiring contemporary project.

An essential book for any patchworkers library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely projects, 23 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Quilting: 16 projects to learn to quilt (Paperback)
Having been lucky enough to attend and enjoy classes run by the author, in Brighton, and I can't wait to try some more of the projects outlined in the book. Liz is a wonderful, calm and authoritative teacher, whether in person or in print so buy this guide: you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 24 July 2013
By 
H. Stedman "motorhome" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Quilting: 16 projects to learn to quilt (Paperback)
Excellent quilting book. Good explanations. Good reference guide. Good illustrations. Good projects. Would look for this author again. Would make a lovely gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginners Guide to Quilting, 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Quilting: 16 projects to learn to quilt (Paperback)
Instructions and pictures very clear. Hoping to teach someone to get started quilting. Could recommend this book to anyone. T.C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Quilting: 16 projects to learn to quilt (Paperback)
Brilliant book, I would recommend it to anyone who is new to a sewing machine and quilting. Very simple to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very easy to follow, 25 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Quilting: 16 projects to learn to quilt (Paperback)
I found the Book very useful as I have never Quilted before and have learnt the basic idea of how to go about trying my fist quilt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea, 22 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Quilting: 16 projects to learn to quilt (Paperback)
This tries to be a bit too much at once. There is machine piecing, hand piecing, and English paper piecing, and none of the projects feels super inspiring. Only the quilt on the front cover seems bright somehow thanks to the vintage fabrics.

The style probably isn't me at all, but the designs feel quite mismatched and I think there's room for improvement in the finish. If you are familiar with '1, 2, 3 Sew' there is a red thread throughout all the projects, but it is completely lacking here.

The book is supposedly for beginners, but in my humble opinion there aren't enough pictures to support the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - highly recommended, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Quilting: 16 projects to learn to quilt (Paperback)
This is a great book with a range of lovely projects. The instructions are clear and illustrations fresh and modern. The author also has a shop which is well worth a visit either online or in person as the fabrics used in the projects and online are modern and make projects great gifts or items for your own home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beginner's Guide to Quilting: 16 projects to learn to quilt
Beginner's Guide to Quilting: 16 projects to learn to quilt by Elizabeth Betts (Paperback - 28 Jun. 2013)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews