Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant introduction to freehand machine embroidery
This book is a really great introduction to freehand machine embroidery. I've always wanted to try it but didn't quite know where to start, the introductory section of this book breaks it all down into very simple steps. From choosing the fabrics and threads, how to set your machine up ready and how to start experimenting - the whole section is like having a lesson in...
Published 22 months ago by Sewing Directory

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing book
I had expected a lot more from this book. I thought it would be primarily about the techniques of machine embroidery. Unfortunately, there was a "run through" of the basic techniques only. The majority of the content was "projects" you could make, and then add a little machine embroidery to.
If you wanted to learn about this technique you would have...
Published 18 months ago by Welsh Girl


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant introduction to freehand machine embroidery, 24 Sep 2012
By 
Sewing Directory (Devon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Freehand Machine Embroidery: Learning to draw with your machine (Paperback)
This book is a really great introduction to freehand machine embroidery. I've always wanted to try it but didn't quite know where to start, the introductory section of this book breaks it all down into very simple steps. From choosing the fabrics and threads, how to set your machine up ready and how to start experimenting - the whole section is like having a lesson in the classroom.

The rest of the book comprises of projects split into 4 categories: Getting Crafty, New Arrivals, Party time and Happy Holidays. The projects include a sewing kit, a knitting bag, nursery wall art, a backpack and a wash bag amongst others. The projects are supported by beautiful hand drawn colourful diagrams as well as photos. The instructions are split over several pages so everything is broken down into easy to follow steps. There are templates in the back of the book, some require enlarging by 200% and others are already full size. The ones that require enlarging are fairly simple shapes so you could probably do it by hand so don't let that put you off.

I love this book, reading through has given me to confidence to try free motion embroidery and the projects are all useful things that you will want to make. I also love the colourful, fun, quirky style used throughout.

This review can also be found on The Sewing Directory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to machine embroidery, 26 April 2013
This review is from: Freehand Machine Embroidery: Learning to draw with your machine (Paperback)
[...]

As I get more confident using my sewing machine, I've been tempted to give machine embroidery a go. I first saw it on an early series of Kirstie's Homemade Homes, where Kirstie Allsopp declared it was like craft crack cocaine! That's an endorsement! Aside from that, it looked fun and easy, no rules and not much to learn other than to let the machine do the work. Poppy Treffry's book is a great guide to getting started. With very clear instructions and some lovely beginners projects it's the perfect way to kick-start a love affair with machine embroidery.

The first thing I realised upon reading the intro to the book was a mistake I'd been making for years, particularly when working with particularly silky or stretchy fabrics. Pesky feed dogs. For those, like me, who have no idea what feed dogs are, they are the little lines of teeth under the needle and foot which grip onto fabric. Dropping the feed dogs or simply covering them over with masking tape is the first step to successful machine embroidery.

The book is very mindful of not rushing you in to creating a master piece to early on. In fact, Poppy encourages you to `have a play' and get a feel for your machine by making squiggles, lines and simple shapes like hearts and triangles. Top tips include using two different threads for your top thread and bottom bobbin when shading. What a great idea. I'd never thought of this. Poppy uses black and grey together to shade in darker areas and also mixes brighter colours like red and orange to create depth and add texture to her designs. Applique is tackled in the book too, again with very clever but simple tips like multiple outlines around your applique shapes for stand-out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy peaty, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freehand Machine Embroidery: Learning to draw with your machine (Paperback)
I have had a go at machine embroidery before but found it quite a challenge. Wished I'd got this book first. It really is straightforward and like drawing with your machine. There's lots that's easy here and I love the quirky look of everything! So easy to personalise gifts, I will use the name tag project at Christmas. Choice of fabrics is yummy! What a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Freehand Machine Embroidery, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freehand Machine Embroidery: Learning to draw with your machine (Paperback)
Lots of clear instructions and ideas for projects and I am really looking forward to experimenting and producing some interesting items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freehand Machine Embroidery: Learning to draw with your machine (Paperback)
I'm a quilter and there are lots of great gifts to make in a short time! Just to keep you busy the whole year!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 4 Nov 2012
This review is from: Freehand Machine Embroidery: Learning to draw with your machine (Paperback)
Read about Poppy in Mollie Makes. Was tempted to buy the book - glad I did, had given a new perspective about sewing machines!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is fantastic!, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freehand Machine Embroidery: Learning to draw with your machine (Paperback)
They lay out of this book is great. Projects are lovely and as I am newish/returning to sewing I was delighted that I could actually do them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Poppy Treffry, 18 Jun 2013
By 
L. Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freehand Machine Embroidery: Learning to draw with your machine (Paperback)
I love Poppy Treffry's work and I was delighted to receive this as a present. It's well presented, easy to read instructions and lots of useful tips. The projects are delightful - I just need to practice and get better. It certainly inspires you and makes you want to give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AS EXPECTED, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freehand Machine Embroidery: Learning to draw with your machine (Paperback)
I own the 1st book. This is along the same vein. Good pictures, well written , informative and fun! Looking forward to attempting some of the ideas in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing book, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freehand Machine Embroidery: Learning to draw with your machine (Paperback)
I had expected a lot more from this book. I thought it would be primarily about the techniques of machine embroidery. Unfortunately, there was a "run through" of the basic techniques only. The majority of the content was "projects" you could make, and then add a little machine embroidery to.
If you wanted to learn about this technique you would have progressed past needing this type of information.
Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Freehand Machine Embroidery: Learning to draw with your machine
Freehand Machine Embroidery: Learning to draw with your machine by Poppy Treffry (Paperback - 12 July 2012)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews