Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book from novice onwards
I have followed Ruth since seeing her on GBBO series 1 and love her blog on Facebook and her website The Pink Whisk. I was very excited to hear that she had a book coming out and did wonder how I could justify another baking book when I have a shelf full of others, and yet make the same things time and time again! So was overjoyed when it was a guide on how to decorate a...
Published on 11 Jun 2012 by L. Tudman

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed
im so dissapointed with this book. It is called busy girls guide to cake decorating, however it should be called cookie and cupcake decorating as that is what it is mainly made up of. The cakes, cookies and cupcakes dont start until page 58. You are fooled by the front cover thinking its full of great ideas for celebration cakes but there are only 10 large cakes...
Published on 30 April 2012 by Glasgow Gal


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book from novice onwards, 11 Jun 2012
By 
L. Tudman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Busy Girls Guide to Cake Decorating: Create Impressive Cakes and Bakes No Matter What Your Time Limit (Paperback)
I have followed Ruth since seeing her on GBBO series 1 and love her blog on Facebook and her website The Pink Whisk. I was very excited to hear that she had a book coming out and did wonder how I could justify another baking book when I have a shelf full of others, and yet make the same things time and time again! So was overjoyed when it was a guide on how to decorate a cake - just what I needed!!

I find it easy to read and the photos really really helpful. I have a couple of celebration cakes to produce this summer and wondered about portion sizes and how to scale a recipe up to fit certain tins - Ruth has already done the hard work for me in either madeira, chocolate or fruit cake. Wonderful! I now feel much more prepared to tackle my mammoth task ahead.

Each section is clearly set out and very easy to follow. I like the 'girlyness' of the book and will look forward to the next installment from Ruth. Well done and keep up the good work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Busy Girls Guide to Cake Decorating: Create Impressive Cakes and Bakes No Matter What Your Time Limit (Paperback)
im so dissapointed with this book. It is called busy girls guide to cake decorating, however it should be called cookie and cupcake decorating as that is what it is mainly made up of. The cakes, cookies and cupcakes dont start until page 58. You are fooled by the front cover thinking its full of great ideas for celebration cakes but there are only 10 large cakes included. Ive learnt nothing new from this book. There is too much faffing about in the 1st half of the book which could have saved pages for more cake ideas. If i had went to a bookshop to get this and had had the chance to flick through it 1st i would not have made the purchase. I would say dont buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very cute book, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Busy Girls Guide to Cake Decorating: Create Impressive Cakes and Bakes No Matter What Your Time Limit (Paperback)
Lovley little book, set out clearly with good instructions and nice pictures.
Good info if your new to cake decorating but i must admit I learnt nothing new from this book. That said its still worth the price and great if your starting out or taking your first steps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Busy Girls Guide to Cake Decorating: Create Impressive Cakes and Bakes No Matter What Your Time Limit (Paperback)
What a fantastic book! It took a little longer to make it to the States, but well worth the wait. Can't wait to get started on all of them! Congratulations, Ruth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great practical ideas, 26 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Busy Girls Guide to Cake Decorating: Create Impressive Cakes and Bakes No Matter What Your Time Limit (Paperback)
Lots of useful advice, helpful pictures and great projects to try. I like the extra little tips on the pages which help you to be more efficient and the troubleshooting tips are great for people like me who always seem to have some sort of disaster!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!, 29 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Busy Girls Guide to Cake Decorating: Create Impressive Cakes and Bakes No Matter What Your Time Limit (Paperback)
I think this book is fab! All the cakes are so beautiful and the instructions are very clear and easy to follow. My only problem is that I can not decide which project to make! Well done Ruth, you are now my 2nd baking hero (I'm sure you'll admit Mary Berry deserves it!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cake decorating at home made easy with a fun guide, 11 May 2012
This review is from: Busy Girls Guide to Cake Decorating: Create Impressive Cakes and Bakes No Matter What Your Time Limit (Paperback)
The book that Ruth has written is, as the title implies, all about cake decorating at home. Its a bit different to the run of the mill cake decorating books as this is an everyday guide for home based bakers who want to be able to decorate cakes easily and to a fairly good standard, and haven't a great deal of time to do it in.

The book is set out in the style of a note pad and has lovely endearing pictures of Sindy dolls trying out some of the cake decorating steps. It's colourful, different and the layout with hints and tips posted in most pages really appeals. There are lots and lots of photographs and a fair few of Ruth herself in full cake decorating mode as she demonstrates some of the techniques in step by step fashion.

The first few chapters deal with preparation, equipment and basic recipes for the cakes or biscuits, (the recipes are varied and include different size guides for different tins and quantities) after this sections of the book are divided into areas of ease and difficulty and these are described as projects you can do in an evening, half day or a weekend. The steps are well laid out and its pretty easy to follow.

The book isn't just about larger projects suitable for cakes for birthdays or special events its also has some smaller bakes and cake and biscuit decorating ideas...I'm sure the iced lollies on sticks (which are really iced and decorated biscuits) are going to be a really popular choice from this book, especially with children...and all you need for these is the recipe and the right biscuit shape to go at. Some projects require a few bits of cake decorating kit, for others you will need not much more than the right template and things you will have in your kitchen already, (some of these templates are accessible and in the back of the book).

If you like to try your hand at cake decorating at home or want to improve your skills then I think you really will enjoy this book, more so if you like the fun element of trying out cake decorating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its growing on me, 10 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Busy Girls Guide to Cake Decorating: Create Impressive Cakes and Bakes No Matter What Your Time Limit (Paperback)
I was a bit disappointed with this on first reading as it seemed to have nothing new to the other cake books i have, however i have tried the chocolate cake recipe which was delicious and will try some of the others soon. I found that most of the cake decorating advice was the same as other books which is to be expected - theres only a certain way you can cover a cake! But i will say that Ruth has some great quick tips and shortcuts which i would never have thought of and in all i think the book is worth the money just for the short cuts and recipes which do make super celebration cakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THIS BOOK!, 16 April 2012
This review is from: Busy Girls Guide to Cake Decorating: Create Impressive Cakes and Bakes No Matter What Your Time Limit (Paperback)
I love the format of this book. The sections are broken down into the time it takes to create and the cakes are achievable! I just bought the book and already made 2 of the projects in them. The photographs in the book are inspiring and the step-by-step directions are so easy to understand. I always liked Ruth from when she was on The Great British Bake Off, but now I like her even more.

Thank you RUTH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic guide for busy girls, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Busy Girls Guide to Cake Decorating: Create Impressive Cakes and Bakes No Matter What Your Time Limit (Paperback)
Everything I wanted from a cake decorating book. Full of ideas to save time and make beautiful cakes! Love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews