Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, 23 Oct 2011
By 
The book is very good and is an excellent source of research information. Well written in an easy to understand language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must for the mentor and student, 18 Nov 2014
This review is from: Successful Mentoring in Nursing (Post-Registration Nursing Education and Practice LM Series) (Paperback)
Description:

This is a well thought through guide for a nurse mentor as a novice or requiring a refresher.
The authors have researched this subject well and make no assumptions on the reader by staring at the very beginning and defining what a mentor is and what constitutes a good learning environment. This book allows the reader to either use the whole book as a guide or to be able to select a specific subject or chapter to focus on.
Mentoring can be either a good experience for the student or not so good and for mentors being guided through this well written book will instil confidence and enthusiasm for life long learning.

Highlights:

This book is so easy to follow is well set out and makes good and accurate reference to the Nursing and midwifery council (NMC). Within each section there are activities for the mentor and evidenced based answers also. The book is well referenced at the end of the book.
The authors are both academics in a UK university both with interests in nurse education.
The fact that the mentor has this book as a guide and can plan for the student and ensure that they have actions to achieve, it will ensure that student leaves that particular placement with a good grounding in that ward/clinical area and not only will the student be equipped to move on but that they will have gained a solid learning experience. So often when that occurs the student make a better nurse and may want to join the team when they qualify.

Strengths & weaknesses:

This is such a valuable guide with references to nurse education and models of learning and teaching. The book also advises the mentor when things go wrong or when a particularly challenging student is placed in the mentors work area.
The very fact that it is well written by academics within nurse education ensures this is a well grounded achievable book to follow.
The case studies well extremely real and thought provoking.

Potential Readers:

This book is a must for both the novice and experienced mentor, there will always be room to improve and reflect on how a nurse is mentoring students
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have started my mentoring training and found this book ideal.recommended from the university. It is brilliant.
Its easy to use and follow and has great guide to successful mentoring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you are a mentor just get it, so useful! :-D, 17 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Successful Mentoring in Nursing (Post-Registration Nursing Education and Practice LM Series) (Paperback)
Bought this after starting the mentorship course at university. It's pure brilliance. Each chapter tells you which domains it covers which came in very useful for compiling my portfolio and writing my assignment. I also came I very handy when I had a challenging student at risk of failing. There was loads of advice on how I could try to find out the reasons for her failing and what could be done to turn her practice around. She is doing much better now. Everyone I have shown my book to wants one too. Inclusing those that have been mentoring for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book for anyone on the Mentorship Preparation Programme!
I have just finished the course and found this book very helpful when writing my assignment - it came highly recommended and I will now pass the same advice on.
I used it as a resource several times throughout the assignment and it was money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
used it to write my essay. easy to read and follow. a great book foe anyone doing their nursing mentorship
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really useful resource for any member of staff who wishes to know more about mentoring and more importantly how to become a brilliant mentor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my wife who needed it, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
She seems happy enough with the book, although it was a compulsory requirement for a uni course shes doing, so it's hardly a recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book for course., 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
easy to follow, just what is needed for the course. Would recommend it to anyone thinking of doing the course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Successful Mentoring in Nursing (Post-Registration Nursing Education and Practice LM Series) (Paperback)
good book and delivery was fast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews