Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book Review for: Forest Schools and Outdoor Learning in the Early Years
Knight examines the ethos of Forest School and through several case studies, she shares her experiences of a number of Forest Schools operating in the UK. She challenges the reader to explore their own impressions on the Scandinavian derived concept. This method of education has blossomed in many rural areas in the UK and is reaching out to more urban centres.
The...
Published on 25 Jun. 2009 by Urban Forest School

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting to a point
I felt this book could have delivered more. The examples were interesting and relevant but perhaps due to the fact there were elements for discussion at the end of each chapter it often tended not to get to the point. Perhaps read within a group setting more interesting debates would take place? So unfortunately, for me, a little disappointing.
Published on 16 July 2009 by Rosy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book Review for: Forest Schools and Outdoor Learning in the Early Years, 25 Jun. 2009
Knight examines the ethos of Forest School and through several case studies, she shares her experiences of a number of Forest Schools operating in the UK. She challenges the reader to explore their own impressions on the Scandinavian derived concept. This method of education has blossomed in many rural areas in the UK and is reaching out to more urban centres.
The book suggests that we still have a lot to learn from our Scandinavian counterparts with respect to societal norms, public attitudes and outdoor play, which invariably play a major part in them leading happier and healthier lives. However, she notes all is not lost in the UK, further improvements are being made in Education as a more diversified range of professionals provide input in government educational policies. In addition, the efforts and achievements by UK settings, particularly in deprived areas and urban spaces across the UK should not be overlooked.
Particular emphasis is placed on the unrivalled learning opportunities and universal benefits of Forest School in the foundation stage and beyond through the play-based and child- initiated and led learning which is supported by facilitative adult role models. Ample information is provided on Forest School training, site selection, risk assessing, kit and good practice. This book provides a valuable resource for anyone wanting to set up a Forest School or gain a deeper understanding on the practise it entails.

Review by Katherine Milchem (Forest School Co-ordinator in South West London and the Chair of the FEI London South West Cluster Group)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting to a point, 16 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I felt this book could have delivered more. The examples were interesting and relevant but perhaps due to the fact there were elements for discussion at the end of each chapter it often tended not to get to the point. Perhaps read within a group setting more interesting debates would take place? So unfortunately, for me, a little disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outdoor Nurseries information, 15 Mar. 2010
I am doing an HBC Early Years and Education course just now and as part of this I had to do a project on outdoor nurseries. This book was a great help to me as before I read it, I never knew outdoor nurseries existed. The book gave me an insight into what outdoor nurseries were and what activities the children were able to do there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super ideas, 6 Nov. 2011
By 
H. M. Woolley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book came very promptly and I am very pleased with it.
Goes into the history and theory of forest Schools and lots of good practical ideas to get you started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forest School, 24 April 2009
By 
Looks like all your Forest School essays shoud be made a lot easier with this purchase !!!!! As someone who has completed the course ,i think this would have been of some assistance .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars forest school outdoor learning, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forest School and Outdoor Learning in the Early Years (Paperback)
this text give a background to outdoor play and the benefits it brings Forest schools is about using the outdoor environment and its natural resources to support learning, and not just taking the indoors outside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used this for a project at college and I really enjoyed reading it. There isn't that much books on forest schools so this is a great find! I recommend to anyone wanting to learn more about Forest Schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 21 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forest School and Outdoor Learning in the Early Years (Paperback)
Very informative. This book will prove very useful in the near future as I am hoping to start working with children in an outdoor setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pleased, 12 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very helpful book for my foundation degree course would highly recommend this book for anyone interested in this subject. good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forest School and Outdoor Learning in the Early Years (Paperback)
fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forest School and Outdoor Learning in the Early Years
Forest School and Outdoor Learning in the Early Years by Sara Knight (Paperback - 17 Jun. 2013)
£20.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews