Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spiffing stuff!
As a relative newcomer to the Paul Temple shows (having listened to only one broadcast previously) I was very much looking forward to this collection - and I wasn't disappointed! 10 episodes across 5 CDs - what a pleasure and a joy to lose myself in these nostalgic tales for over four and a half hours!

Reproduced to recreate the style of the earlier lost...
Published 19 months ago by Norman Cheeseworthy

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A New Recording...
The BBC has released this new recording of a lost Paul Temple mystery. It has been recorded using all the old equipment and effects which certainly gives it a period feel. Sadly missing are the magical Peter Coke and Marjorie Westbury not to mention the thrilling music of "Coronation Scot" that we fans all knew and loved. Crawford Logan and Gelda Stevenson do a first...
Published 19 months ago by Saturnicus


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spiffing stuff!, 30 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a relative newcomer to the Paul Temple shows (having listened to only one broadcast previously) I was very much looking forward to this collection - and I wasn't disappointed! 10 episodes across 5 CDs - what a pleasure and a joy to lose myself in these nostalgic tales for over four and a half hours!

Reproduced to recreate the style of the earlier lost programmes, the whole package comes across as one big nostalgia trip - and I'm certainly going to be buying more very soon - perfect for those long winters nights which will soon be upon us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paul and Steve in Ten Parts, 19 Sept. 2013
By 
John Austin "austinjr@bigpond.net.au" (Kangaroo Ground, Australia) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Those enthusiasts who eagerly await another modern "recreation" of a lost Paul Temple broadcast will get a bumper issue this time - it comprises not 6 nor 8 but 10 episodes. Writer Francis Durbridge experimented only once with a radio series of this length, possibly realizing afterwards that listeners could not be expected to remember the content of weekly instalments over so long a period. And how is the mystery extended? Well, the plotting and the dialogue are not as tight as usual and there are often lengthy scenes for characters other than Paul and Steve.

Marjorie Westbury, who played Steve in the original 1946 broadcast, had been a singer prior to her acting career, so here, and elsewhere in this series, Steve is given a few snatches of song. Steve also, in this episode, in her husband's absence, prevails on someone to take her dancing. As for the light-hearted badinage and gentle chivvying that was to endear Paul and his wife Steve to millions of listeners, well, there's not much of it here.

Durbridge usually included in his cast of characters several from North America or European countries, Scotland and Wales, facilitating easy identification for his radio listeners. Attention to voice differentiation has been given in this new "recreation", but I could not always distinguish who was who.

Those who like thrills and spills are well served here: the discovery of two corpses and a plunge off a bridge for Paul and Steve occur before the theme music - Rimsky-Korsakov's "Scheherezade" - closes the first episode.

Overall, I rank this well below the best of the later Paul Temple mysteries, mysteries where the social dynamics and characterization is livelier then here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great reminder of yesteryear!, 29 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
For people of a certain age who can vaguely remember the Paul Temple series on the radio this is pure nostalgia. I believe the chances are, if you like one story, as in my case you will like them all. Each Paul Temple adventure has the same ingredients, with danger lurking around every corner.Yes, maybe the series is a bit dated, but I love to sit back and enjoy a fondly loved character from yesteryear, when in my opinion the BBC employed higher standards than t
they do at present. To sum up, a bit dated by today's standards maybe, a little p
predictable in places, yes, but without giving anything away, It was uncomplica
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A New Recording..., 28 Sept. 2013
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The BBC has released this new recording of a lost Paul Temple mystery. It has been recorded using all the old equipment and effects which certainly gives it a period feel. Sadly missing are the magical Peter Coke and Marjorie Westbury not to mention the thrilling music of "Coronation Scot" that we fans all knew and loved. Crawford Logan and Gelda Stevenson do a first class job as Paul and Steve, but on the whole it lacks the warmth that was present with Peter and Marjorie.
As a story it is enjoyable but the end leaves a lot of unexplained plot. I counted nine bodies in total, which is not a bad innings, but the usual cliffhangers were just not there. Later mysteries were an awful lot better. I just hope that the BBC find some more missing scripts and we here from the Temples again.
A useful addition to the collection, nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another martini,Steve?, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
These new radio serialisations of the Paul Temple crime novels capture perfectly the spohisticated but often darker side of postwar London and the Home Counties. The relationship between Steve and Paul is definitely from a bygone era. To a new listener, it might seem that Paul is horribly condescending to his wife, protecting her from witnessing the sight of a dead body and moaning about the price of her hats. However, he is a man of his time and this faithful replication of the older radio series is immaculate in its depiction of a more secure social structure where an upper middle class crime writer can employ a servant, own a country house and have a close connection with the Home Secretary and the Head of Scotlnd Yard! As always, Steve and Paul take on the ' Gregory Case' and meet a selection of interesting characters including the inevitable 'shady foreigners' and nightclub hosts! Forget the 21st century cynical and tired detective and sit down with a martini to enjoy the mellifluous tones of Paul Temple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure nostalgia, 24 Sept. 2013
By 
M. A. Dunnington (Stourbridge, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am sure that anyone buying this product would be aware that they will be journeyed back to a different time - if not, be aware.
The lost tapes of 1946 have been rebroadcast with a modern cast but using the sound effects and music of the time. Brilliant, pure nostalgic joy. You are in the 40's so you have to be aware of the differences in the attitude to women and foreigners.
Any update would have made this not as enjoyable - the fact that you are transported back to a different time is superb.
I do agree with other reviewers though, ten episodes is a little bit long and certain episodes do appear to be fillers rather than move the story along.
That said, the CD's are a joy to listen to - the BBC broadcasts only finished in the summer, but you can relive each episode in your car or at bedtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audio CD Paul Temple Gregory Affair, 22 Oct. 2013
By 
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Barbara Wallace has disappeared-sounds a little fishy - will she turn up? She had gone to the theatre and never made it home. But her diamond brooch turns up from "Mr Gregory". Dr Kay Wiseman remembers seeing Ms Wallace and giving her a prescription. A Peter Davos gets involved in discovering the victim -he's Norwegian. Blow me where's Mildred Dawson disappeared to now?!Her handbag contains a link to Dr Wiseman too - and another compliments note from that dastardly Gregory. The cops are baffled (aren't they always) - time to ask Paul Temple and his missus Steve to be the cavalry.
A grumpy Mr Harcourt found a body but doesn't want to talk to nobody -see - including our hero.It may be one bridge too far.
Girls keep visiting Wiseman and then go missing -very strange.
Are Wiseman's patients all that they seem? Edward Day is Ms Wallace's boyfriend and wants to sort the baddies out in his own special way.
Harcourt continues to be irritable -how come?
Blow me if Virginia van Cleefe disappears too - some goings on with Sir Donald Murdo -how can that be kept out of the newspapers? And Mr Gregory is writing his notes again -just who is he??
The missing girls visited the Madrid club -owner a Mr Zola. His employee Coral Slater better watch her back -but from who?

Mr Davos has a flat in London but seems to have other visitors at his pad. Steve gets taken for a ride in a taxi - but it's not going where she thought.
Scotland Yard are getting tired of Day and his 1 man vigilante style- Inspector Vosper may want to have a wee chat with him.
So several characters seem to be around when the body count racks up -what is the link of all of these bods and - just who is Gregory? Nobody has a clue!
A professor Rees sees Dr Wiseman as his daughter is ill - maybe she can visit him at London's Seaford?
Hang on van Cleeve has turned up -phew -that is OK then -just a prank! (what do you think?)
The comings and goings continue and nice perfume is not going to mask the seedier side of the plot.

The story culminates in CD5 with episodes 9 and 10. Paul decides to do a Poirot and get all the main bods in a room and then flush out Mr Gregory
If you were Mr Gregory would you attend such a meeting?!!
The plots are all interwoven so good luck in trying to identify Mr Big before he/she is flushed out!
Well worth a listen and it does not date at all oh Timothy not a jot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By Timothy, it's good!, 12 Oct. 2013
By 
Peter Gordon (Bournemouth, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have been a fan of this detective series since it first became available to me when the BBC began to reissue the original with Peter Coke and Marjorie Westbury. What hooked me at first was the wonderful music - The Coronation Scot. Then when it emerged that, as usual, the BBC had lost, destroyed or recorded over the early productions [how could that be?] and recreated them with Crawford Logan and Gerda Stevenson, I was sure that there would be the temptation to update them, which would have meant wholesale destruction of what made the original so enjoyable. However, my fears proved groundless. If anything the updated version is even better than before as the leading characters, as portrayed by Crawford and Gerda, make an even better job than the original actors - though that is not intended to denigrate the earlier actors. It is the same as with films made in the 1930's where filmakers and actors were still learning their art.

Although the Coronation Scot music seems to have disappeared [I know that this music was a relatively late addition], the music chosen for the new series is, in my opinion, very acceptable.

I won't reveal the story, because lovers of the Paul Temple series' will have a pretty good idea of the storyline. It begins with Paul having to be persuaded to help Scotland yard and then followed by Paul solving the mystery, By Timothy!, ably helped by Gerda in the role of his helpless, but intuitive, sidekick, who just loves buying hats. The script cannot always be subjected to too close a scrutiny, but what the hell, that is part of the fun of the series. That said, it is a very good story, well acted and with excellent sound effects.

All in all, very good value and great fun. I hope that there will be lots more and I know that I am not alone in enjoying this period piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Aural Entertaiment, Temple Tempts You., 11 Oct. 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The first question a prospective buyer needs to know is.
"Is this Cd set any good?"

The answer is a big yes.
You will be rewarded with 5 hours of wonderful listening spread over 5 Cds.

I have listened to around three of the previous productions and have enjoyed them greatly.

I listen to these in the car and they are wonderful companions that make the long journeys fly by.
The others are really entertaining and this one, although not the best in my and other reviewers' opinions, is still worth getting.

A medium Paul Temple story is still good entertainment.
This story starts well and rattles along, the half hour shows really help crank up the excitement.
True it does run out of steam in the middle sections but pulls it off towards the end.

Crystal clear sound, these are modern recreations of the 1946 originals, enhance the listening pleasure, the cast are excellent and the times and the world of 1946 are recreated well which adds to the charm.

The technical bit.
The set of 5 CDs comes in one of those tough nylon cases- much stronger that the 'look at them and they break' plastic jewel sets- so great for the car.
5 Cds 5 hours and 10 great episodes.
Bit of a swizz the recap at the start of the story- good for 30 minute journeys- not so for hour long!

Totally recommended for you listening pleasure.
This is good talking book- full cast drama entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paul and Steve are on the case again....., 17 Sept. 2013
By 
mandynolan "mandynolan" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've been avidly listening to this on BBC Radio 4 and its just finished....so I will now buy the audio book to add to my Paul Temple collection....
Paul and Steve are on the hunt for the mysterious Mr.Gregory and along the way we meet many dodgy characters from a doctor, to a policeman to a night club owner....Who is Mr. Gregory?....I didn't guess at all ....I got it completely wrong!!!....
This is a reworked version by the BBC of an original story...they use original microphones from the past and recreate lost Temple stories...It is very well done and a lovely piece of nostalgia....
The Paul Temple stories are formulaic...they almost always include a crash on a bend, Steve being frightened and screaming, a servant who is useless(poor Charlie!), a gunshot and a rope across the road...BUT ....SO WHAT!.....Thats why I like them....a bit of glamour from the 30's is great....
This is not the best story but its still worth adding to your collection.....If you want an original then look at something like Paul Temple and the Margo Mystery (BBC Radio Collection)or better still Paul Temple, Classic Radio Serials 1954-1968: WITH The Conrad Case AND The Gilbert Case AND The Spencer Affair AND The Alex Affair AND The Geneva ... AND The Vandyke Mystery (Radio Collection)which contains loads of gems from the original series.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio)
Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) by Francis Durbridge (Audio CD - 12 Sept. 2013)
£18.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews