Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spiffing stuff!
As a relative newcomer to the Paul Temple shows (having listened to only one broadcast previously) I was very much looking forward to this collection - and I wasn't disappointed! 10 episodes across 5 CDs - what a pleasure and a joy to lose myself in these nostalgic tales for over four and a half hours!

Reproduced to recreate the style of the earlier lost...
Published 17 months ago by Norman Cheeseworthy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A New Recording...
The BBC has released this new recording of a lost Paul Temple mystery. It has been recorded using all the old equipment and effects which certainly gives it a period feel. Sadly missing are the magical Peter Coke and Marjorie Westbury not to mention the thrilling music of "Coronation Scot" that we fans all knew and loved. Crawford Logan and Gelda Stevenson do a first...
Published 17 months ago by Saturnicus


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spiffing stuff!, 30 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a relative newcomer to the Paul Temple shows (having listened to only one broadcast previously) I was very much looking forward to this collection - and I wasn't disappointed! 10 episodes across 5 CDs - what a pleasure and a joy to lose myself in these nostalgic tales for over four and a half hours!

Reproduced to recreate the style of the earlier lost programmes, the whole package comes across as one big nostalgia trip - and I'm certainly going to be buying more very soon - perfect for those long winters nights which will soon be upon us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great reminder of yesteryear!, 29 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
For people of a certain age who can vaguely remember the Paul Temple series on the radio this is pure nostalgia. I believe the chances are, if you like one story, as in my case you will like them all. Each Paul Temple adventure has the same ingredients, with danger lurking around every corner.Yes, maybe the series is a bit dated, but I love to sit back and enjoy a fondly loved character from yesteryear, when in my opinion the BBC employed higher standards than t
they do at present. To sum up, a bit dated by today's standards maybe, a little p
predictable in places, yes, but without giving anything away, It was uncomplica
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paul and Steve in Ten Parts, 19 Sept. 2013
By 
John Austin "austinjr@bigpond.net.au" (Kangaroo Ground, Australia) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Those enthusiasts who eagerly await another modern "recreation" of a lost Paul Temple broadcast will get a bumper issue this time - it comprises not 6 nor 8 but 10 episodes. Writer Francis Durbridge experimented only once with a radio series of this length, possibly realizing afterwards that listeners could not be expected to remember the content of weekly instalments over so long a period. And how is the mystery extended? Well, the plotting and the dialogue are not as tight as usual and there are often lengthy scenes for characters other than Paul and Steve.

Marjorie Westbury, who played Steve in the original 1946 broadcast, had been a singer prior to her acting career, so here, and elsewhere in this series, Steve is given a few snatches of song. Steve also, in this episode, in her husband's absence, prevails on someone to take her dancing. As for the light-hearted badinage and gentle chivvying that was to endear Paul and his wife Steve to millions of listeners, well, there's not much of it here.

Durbridge usually included in his cast of characters several from North America or European countries, Scotland and Wales, facilitating easy identification for his radio listeners. Attention to voice differentiation has been given in this new "recreation", but I could not always distinguish who was who.

Those who like thrills and spills are well served here: the discovery of two corpses and a plunge off a bridge for Paul and Steve occur before the theme music - Rimsky-Korsakov's "Scheherezade" - closes the first episode.

Overall, I rank this well below the best of the later Paul Temple mysteries, mysteries where the social dynamics and characterization is livelier then here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A New Recording..., 28 Sept. 2013
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The BBC has released this new recording of a lost Paul Temple mystery. It has been recorded using all the old equipment and effects which certainly gives it a period feel. Sadly missing are the magical Peter Coke and Marjorie Westbury not to mention the thrilling music of "Coronation Scot" that we fans all knew and loved. Crawford Logan and Gelda Stevenson do a first class job as Paul and Steve, but on the whole it lacks the warmth that was present with Peter and Marjorie.
As a story it is enjoyable but the end leaves a lot of unexplained plot. I counted nine bodies in total, which is not a bad innings, but the usual cliffhangers were just not there. Later mysteries were an awful lot better. I just hope that the BBC find some more missing scripts and we here from the Temples again.
A useful addition to the collection, nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Aural Entertaiment, Temple Tempts You., 11 Oct. 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The first question a prospective buyer needs to know is.
"Is this Cd set any good?"

The answer is a big yes.
You will be rewarded with 5 hours of wonderful listening spread over 5 Cds.

I have listened to around three of the previous productions and have enjoyed them greatly.

I listen to these in the car and they are wonderful companions that make the long journeys fly by.
The others are really entertaining and this one, although not the best in my and other reviewers' opinions, is still worth getting.

A medium Paul Temple story is still good entertainment.
This story starts well and rattles along, the half hour shows really help crank up the excitement.
True it does run out of steam in the middle sections but pulls it off towards the end.

Crystal clear sound, these are modern recreations of the 1946 originals, enhance the listening pleasure, the cast are excellent and the times and the world of 1946 are recreated well which adds to the charm.

The technical bit.
The set of 5 CDs comes in one of those tough nylon cases- much stronger that the 'look at them and they break' plastic jewel sets- so great for the car.
5 Cds 5 hours and 10 great episodes.
Bit of a swizz the recap at the start of the story- good for 30 minute journeys- not so for hour long!

Totally recommended for you listening pleasure.
This is good talking book- full cast drama entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paul and Steve are on the case again....., 17 Sept. 2013
By 
mandynolan "mandynolan" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've been avidly listening to this on BBC Radio 4 and its just finished....so I will now buy the audio book to add to my Paul Temple collection....
Paul and Steve are on the hunt for the mysterious Mr.Gregory and along the way we meet many dodgy characters from a doctor, to a policeman to a night club owner....Who is Mr. Gregory?....I didn't guess at all ....I got it completely wrong!!!....
This is a reworked version by the BBC of an original story...they use original microphones from the past and recreate lost Temple stories...It is very well done and a lovely piece of nostalgia....
The Paul Temple stories are formulaic...they almost always include a crash on a bend, Steve being frightened and screaming, a servant who is useless(poor Charlie!), a gunshot and a rope across the road...BUT ....SO WHAT!.....Thats why I like them....a bit of glamour from the 30's is great....
This is not the best story but its still worth adding to your collection.....If you want an original then look at something like Paul Temple and the Margo Mystery (BBC Radio Collection)or better still Paul Temple, Classic Radio Serials 1954-1968: WITH The Conrad Case AND The Gilbert Case AND The Spencer Affair AND The Alex Affair AND The Geneva ... AND The Vandyke Mystery (Radio Collection)which contains loads of gems from the original series.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent audio book, 1 Oct. 2013
By 
Robert Hardie "Rob Hardie" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is another classic Paul Temple story full of murder, mystery and intrigue. It is beautifully read and dramatised. The story line is fast moving and full of twists and turns keeping you interested all the way through. 10 episodes, two per CD means that this is great value. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paul and Steve Temple crack another case, 25 Sept. 2013
By 
L Weale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Over the last couple of years I have become a huge fan of the BBC Paul Temple series. There are quite a lot now. Original recordings, mostly starring Peter Coke and Marjorie Westbury as Paul and Steve, one of my favourites is Paul Temple and the Vandyke Affair (BBC Audio), the readings by Anthony Head for instance Paul Temple and the Front Page Men (BBC Audio) and the new productions starring Crawford Logan and Gerda Stevenson of which Paul Temple and the Sullivan Mystery (Radio Collection) is my absolute favourite.

If you haven't come across them, Paul and Steve (his wife) are a fashionable London couple of the late 40s, 50s and 60s. Paul writes detective novels and Steve was a journalist. They live in Mayfair and have a house in the country. Paul and Steve have a flair for solving the weirder society crimes and Paul gets called in by Scotland Yard.

Paul Temple and the Gregory affair is unusual in that it is 10 episodes (5 hours) long most of the audio plays are 8 episodes. It involves 'Mr Gregory' who is kidnapping and murdering young women to underline why their loved ones should pay the ransom demanded. I'm on my second listen through and its definitely growing on me. I look forward to the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair, 13 Oct. 2013
By 
Champollion (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Francis Durbridge, created a timeless detective in Paul Temple whose investigations and adventures as a novelist and part time sleuth have entertained for many years. "Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair," is the latest tale to be re-worked by the BBC, (in a CD format,) but not completely as they have strove to keep the authenticity of the original in terms of special effects right down to the signature opening theme of the earlier Stravinsky.

Although many people tend to favour Paul Coke, I feel Crawford Logan does an excellent job in the title , role of Paul Temple, ably supported by Gerda Stenson as Steve. The plots may not be the most complex, but there is no doubting the skill of Francis Durbridge in producing red herrings and a twisting plot to keep you engaged.

The story is in ten parts and is presented in a robust plastic format for easy access and playing.

Paul Temple has a legion of fans, and many more have grown over the years as the stories have more recently been broadcast on initially BBC 7, and now BBC 4 Extra.

"Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair," is another pot boiler and a story to keep you listening in your favourite armchair, in the car or onto your iPod. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A committed Paul Temple fan, 10 Sept. 2013
By 
Duncan (Blairgowrie, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) (Audio CD)
I admit to being a committed Paul Temple fan and had been waiting for this release for some time. I have to say that I find Crawford Logan's interpretation of Paul Temple patronising compared to Peter Coke and that 10 episodes is perhaps one or two too many as things start to drag around episodes 6 / 7. Some strange interludes where Steve sits at the piano and sings? Overall worth the wait, but not the very best, let's hope that they keep on finding lost scripts.

The download version is out of sequence in which the final chapter is in Chapter 2's place - not very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio)
Paul Temple and the Gregory Affair (BBC Audio) by Francis Durbridge (Audio CD - 12 Sept. 2013)
£18.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews