Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious story
I almost didn't buy it, due to the other terrible review. That guy has terrible taste. It is hilarious. The description of flashbacks is excellent. The narration is great. We've got grey skinned Humanoid aliens, a Jack who has to settle for vegetable puree in a bar without alcohol, a naked Jack and talk of Jack being an Angel. Don't miss this.
Published on 16 Aug 2012 by Cole Davis

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Harkness’ Delight
Looks like a much-deserved vacation for the resilient Captain Jack, as he finds himself on the bizarrely-named ‘Cotter Paluni’s World’, where gorgeous - if pasty-skinned – types abound, but where strange red lightning also periodically comes out of nowhere and destroys those deemed to have blasphemed against the world’s gods. Joseph Lidster...
Published 9 months ago by Scaroth, Last of the Jagaroth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious story, 16 Aug 2012
By 
Cole Davis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Red Skies (Audio CD)
I almost didn't buy it, due to the other terrible review. That guy has terrible taste. It is hilarious. The description of flashbacks is excellent. The narration is great. We've got grey skinned Humanoid aliens, a Jack who has to settle for vegetable puree in a bar without alcohol, a naked Jack and talk of Jack being an Angel. Don't miss this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Harkness’ Delight, 24 Feb 2014
This review is from: Torchwood: Red Skies (Audio CD)
Looks like a much-deserved vacation for the resilient Captain Jack, as he finds himself on the bizarrely-named ‘Cotter Paluni’s World’, where gorgeous - if pasty-skinned – types abound, but where strange red lightning also periodically comes out of nowhere and destroys those deemed to have blasphemed against the world’s gods. Joseph Lidster has produced some excellent Doctor Who and Torchwood stories to date, however I can’t say that this is one of my favourites of his. Ultimately, this is about Jack facing his (many) demons and emerging…well I wouldn’t want to spoil things. Suffice to say that in-references for fans of the parent TV show abound, and that reader John Telfer does a decent job with some iffy material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Sky at Night = Delight, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Red Skies (Audio CD)
I loved this story. It addresses some modern themes in terms of sexuality, depression and religion and somehow does so not only sensitively but with humour. I'll just repeat - I loved this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You can pass this one by, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Red Skies (Audio CD)
Since the episode were Owen and Tosh were killed off Torchwood was not the same but after they killed off Ianto Jones Torchwood seems empty. The life of the series and stories is gone. The spirit of the first audiobooks does not carry through to this audiobook.
The story line is strained. How can there be a torchwood of just two people? Captain Jack and Gwen Cooper?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old story, slightly boring, but of course it does have Captain Jack in the lead., 29 Jun 2012
By 
Grey Lady (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Red Skies (Audio CD)
I was really looking forward to this audio, as it would feature the (in)famous Jack Harkness and would take place on another planet. and, indeed, it starts off quite nicely. Furthermore, I liked the memory scenes incorporated into the story. Maybe not so much fun for anyone just hearing about Torchwood for the first time, but for a fan it immediately recalls scenes that we remember having seen. No problem with that. The overall plot is rather boring.

It could easily have taken place on Earth (you just change the Godlike character somewhat) as the red skies turn out to be just window dressing to hide a story that is all about an intolerant religion that has more rules for people than even highly fundamentalist Christian cults tend to possess. It even includes a very traditional coming out story. Just because Jack is the main lead such a story needs to be included presumably. I rather liked the way relationships were approached in the Torchwood series, and there was no need for any kind of this. I mean, I am sure that kind of thing is still an issue in certain communities and religions, but for a fan of Torchwood (and maybe doctor Who too) it really isn't very welcome to play it out again. Been there, past that. One of the reasons we enjoyed the original series after all.

The intolerant religion in this story is called Torchwood. It even has a so-called Living God. During the course of the Audio we find out how this has come to pass, and who is the God, but it actually is not a good narrative. However, the story is told well. You do imagine Captain Jack being there.

On the whole a mixed bag: characterisation is okay, some elements of the story are great, but more are not (and boring too). So I ended up with an average score: three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Torchwood: Red Skies
Torchwood: Red Skies by Joseph Lidster (Audio CD - 3 May 2012)
£7.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews