Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another decent Torchwood audio CD primarily aimed at young adults - My teenage daughter quite enjoyed the story
This audio CD is read by Tom Price, the actor who plays Sgt. Andy Davidson. Andy worked with Gwen Cooper when she was a police officer, and he's had regular appearances in the Torchwood TV series. Andy had a significant role in Torchwood Season 4: Miracle Day, and the events of this audio book are set just afterwards, following on from the Torchwood audio CD `Army of...
Published 21 months ago by Keith_Joseph

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Really a Torchwood Story
I would call this story more of a Torchwood spinoff rather than a fully fledged Torchwood story. That's not to say it isn't good. It is an enjoyable story but there is no Captain Jack and Gwen only appears briefly at the end of a phone call to her in America.

The story centres around Sgt Andy Davidson and involves the discovery of a "jewelled egg" which was...
Published on 20 May 2012 by Mr. Dk Hamm


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Really a Torchwood Story, 20 May 2012
By 
Mr. Dk Hamm "hornet123" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Fallout (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I would call this story more of a Torchwood spinoff rather than a fully fledged Torchwood story. That's not to say it isn't good. It is an enjoyable story but there is no Captain Jack and Gwen only appears briefly at the end of a phone call to her in America.

The story centres around Sgt Andy Davidson and involves the discovery of a "jewelled egg" which was released from the Torchwood vaults when the hub exploded and landed in a garden shed. This turns out to be a weapon from another planet designed to release a virus that will wipe out life on Earth. There are various people who are trying to get their hands on it for either good or evil intent and it is up to Andy and the person who found it, Yasmin, to ensure that it remains safe.

The story is fittingly narrated by Tom Price who plays Sgt Andy in the TV series. It is a narrated story rather than a full cast production as per earlier Torchwood CDs but I think that this suits it. Andy Davidson is usually a fairly minor character so it is nice for him to have his moment of glory at last.

If you are a fan of Torchwood, you will probably enjoy this CD. Just don't expect the full Torchwood experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another decent Torchwood audio CD primarily aimed at young adults - My teenage daughter quite enjoyed the story, 13 Oct 2012
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Fallout (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This audio CD is read by Tom Price, the actor who plays Sgt. Andy Davidson. Andy worked with Gwen Cooper when she was a police officer, and he's had regular appearances in the Torchwood TV series. Andy had a significant role in Torchwood Season 4: Miracle Day, and the events of this audio book are set just afterwards, following on from the Torchwood audio CD `Army of One'. Capt. Jack and Rex aren't in `Fallout', and Gwen only appears via a telephone conversation, so this is Sgt. Davidson's investigation. It all begins when Yasmin finds a jewelled egg in her grandfather's shed, and her first thought is to sell it. But it appears the egg isn't a Faberge creation, and is in fact an artefact from another planet. Worse still, the buyer she finds for it online isn't what he seems either. Sgt Andy Davidson gets involved, but Gwen is in America and there's no longer any Torchwood to help out. So Andy and Yasmin have to start the investigation alone.

The box has one audio CD, run time 1 hour. I got this Torchwood CD for my 18 year old daughter, a massive Dr Who, Sarah Jane and Torchwood TV fan, although she's more into the the new Dr Who and Sarah Jane audio CDs (all read by Elisabeth Sladen). However she enjoyed listening to Torchwood: Fallout and rated it 3.5* (a high score for her) - I suppose these Torchwood Dr Who spin-off audio CDs are aimed towards teenagers/young adults, and they seem to hit the spot. She also liked the companion Sgt Andy Davidson audio CD 'Mr Invincible', and with run times of 1 hour she listens to them ripped to the iPod on long car journeys. Tom Price does a good job reading the books. While it's still uncertain if or when there will be a 5th TV season of Torchwood, at least the story continues on these audio books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This one did not capture my imagination..., 25 Jun 2012
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Fallout (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This story is more of a spin off well read by Tom Price an actor who plays a character in the TV series. Having said that it was not too long and so was easy to follow. This is not a dramatization it is a reading. The story suffers from a lack of the main characters but the setting does not allow for these anyway as it is after Miracle Day.You need to be well up in Torchwood matters to understand the significance of that I am advised. As with all AudioGo products this is well recorded and nicely presented. This will suit fans/collectors perhaps more than the impulse buyer. Good price for the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A slight but still interesting Torchwood adventure, 11 Jun 2012
By 
Jo Bennie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Fallout (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Not the best Torchwood adventure, the best are the radio plays with all the sound effects and the voices of the characters. This is just an audio book and relatively short, only an hour long. Only one of the Torchwood characters: Gwen Cooper, features, but then at this point in the chronology of Torchwood she is the only one left. She, however, is only indirectly involved via telephone from America. The major lead is minor character Sergeant Andy Davidson, the hapless Cardiff policeman who was Gwen's link to the police force. When Andy realises that the shooting that he is dealing with in Cardiff has some very strange, distinctly alien, features, he calls Gwen who realises what the object at the heart of the matter is. Cue race to save the world. Though it is nice to see Andy come to the front, the whole was a bit flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit esoteric and implausible, 2 Jun 2012
By 
Paul Madge (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Fallout (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It could just be me, but, I really found this single BBC CD (runtime approx 1 hour) very hard to get into both because of the implausible plot and the reading style. The plot centres around Yasmin finding a jewelled egg in her grandfather's shed which she tries to sell on-line to a Russian Secret Agent who shoots her brother. Sgt Andy Davidson investigates and it becomes apparent the egg contains a "Shiva Virus" that threatens mankind. The plot then centres on Andy Davidson and Yasmin following the trail of the virus.

The audiobook is read by Tom Price, and, apart from the implausible plot, he reads the book as though there are too many commas in it - the result is a 'stop/start' style of narration which, bluntly proves irritating. Linked to the esoteric nature of the series and the odd plot this was, for me, the final straw. I had to go back to this disc a couple times before I got through to the end, given it's only an hour long this is not encouraging.

Sorry, but for the reasons above, I can't recommend this audiobook. I'm happy to accept the fault may lie with me and my limited exposure to the Torchwood series, but, there are other series that I've 'parachuted' into and thoroughly enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable enough, but not really Torchwood, 17 May 2012
By 
Mr. R. Brown "rsbrowndog" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Fallout (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this audio drama. It's a single CD, so it's relatively short. It is branded as "Torchwood" but this is a tenuous link at best. It features Gwen's friend Andy, a Police Sergeant. Gwen herself makes only a brief appearance in a phone call made by Andy, despite her prominent appearance on the cover.

Like I said, I enjoyed it and I'm sure other Torchwood fans will too. Will be interesting to see what direction future stories take, whether they pick up the adventures of the remaining Torchwood members or concentrate on side stories like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The story continues, 17 May 2012
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Fallout (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Set after Miracle Day I was initially worried as to what this might mean for our intrepid heroes. What it meant was we have a fairly standard Torchwood tale of aliens and artefacts set in both Wales and London but now centring on Sgt Andy Davidson (which is usefully read by Tom Price who plays the part).

The only nod to continuity is that Gwen pops up but is in the US so Andy is on his own to deal with Yasmin, her supposedly dead brother and a alien intent on capturing a device that would (for a change) mean the end of life on Earth.

The tale proceeds at a good pace, we end up not missing Gwen and Jack but instead get a resolution that fits Andy's character well. Their is action, some characterisation and we are still in a recognisably Torchwood universe though as we now have Andy as the lead character (and to be fair Rhys has been before) the definition of Torchwood is now getting rather stretched.

Tom Price does a good job reading it, it is a decent tale and usefully passed the time whilst I was driving somewhere and that really ticks most of the boxes it needs to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The story line just didn't "grab" me, 16 May 2012
By 
IanW (Eastbourne, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Fallout (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I must start by sayimg that I'm not a Torchwood fan, and don't watch the TV programmes, but, I do enjoy radio drama and audio books, so I thought this would be an opportunity to approach the stories from another angle; that was a mistake.

The CD was well produced and well read, but the story line just didn't "grab" me and, before the end, I was dozing off. However, there is good news, my wife, who was listening with me, and who is an avid Torchwood fan, thoroughly enjoyed it, and would have awarded it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More "Torchwood Adjacent" than "Torchwood", 9 May 2012
By 
A. Chell "Avid reader" (Staffordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Fallout (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With Gwen Cooper's appearance being limited to a cameo via a Transatlantic phone call (despite the cover art) and Captain Jack Harkness only being (thankfully) mentioned in passing, this is more a story of the Torchwood universe than Torchwood itself. This is especially true as the story takes place after Miracle Day and the Torchwood Institute no longer exists.

Ably filling the void (or is that a rift?) is Gwen's former police colleague and good friend Sergeant Andy Davidson who, when called to the scene of a shooting, quickly establishes that something strange is going on. His investigations soon lead to a Russian secret agent with a penchant for shooting people, a silicon-based alien life-form and the mother of all deadly viruses.

Read by Andy's alter ego, actor Tom Price, the story rattles along quickly enough to skip over the more glaring plot holes. As you'd expect, the trademark Torchwood wry humour is present and the characters well drawn within the confines of an hour-long audio book. Mercifully, author David Llewellyn avoids the Russell T. Davies trap of creating characters with obvious and ambiguous sexual preferences, so the story is suitable for a PG audience, as long as the prospect of total annihilation doesn't worry the little darlings too much.

In giving the redoubtable Andy the lead for this tale, the author has added depth to one of the peripheral series characters and I look forward to further stories of a post-Torchwood world coping with alien invasions by calling upon the skills of Her Majesty's Cardiff Plod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Torchwood lite' but fun all the same., 8 May 2012
By 
Arkgirl (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Torchwood: Fallout (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Although Sgt Andy is a minor character in the BBC Torchwood show he had made enough impression on me to be intrigued by a story that focussed on him but I did miss the 'team' in the short audio tale. Tom Price reads it well and it is good to have the actor take on the narration role; he has a good style and was very easy to listen to. Why I say 'Torchwood lite' is because we only have a very brief appearances from Gwen giving only a tenuous link to the actual team but I still found it an engaging story. It centres on teenager Yasmin, an 'Egg', Russian secret agents and a damaging virus - it has jeopardy, humour and was a great cd to put in on a long journey although I felt it could have been longer ... I was enjoying the interplay between Andy and several other characters.
If you are a Torchwood/Doctor Who fan I think you will enjoy it as an enjoyable tale to add to the canon but it won't stay long in the memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Torchwood: Fallout
Torchwood: Fallout by David Llewellyn (Audio CD - 5 April 2012)
8.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews