Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Who with big scaly critters!
Exciting, emotive, pacey and in keeping with all you expect from a good Matt Smith story. Modified humans on an alien planet, lots of gravity jokes and a constant rapid momentum to its inevitable conclusion.
That ubiquitous sonic screwdriver saves the day, the Ponds play their part and of course everyone gets very close to a frightening death.
The voice of the...
Published on 31 July 2012 by Mr. Stephen Redman

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "You insulted Trevor!"
Raquel Cassidy does a good Amy Pond, and that's my way of starting off with a compliment before going on to bemoan what in my mind is a very sub-standard story. Frustratingly, as I look back on it, it starts off very well with an interesting premise, the promise of peril and a good helping of the humour-filled dialogue we love from the Eleventh Doctor and his companions...
Published on 27 Aug. 2012 by Andromeda Descendent

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "You insulted Trevor!", 27 Aug. 2012
By 
Andromeda Descendent (Tarn Vedra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Nu-Humans (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Raquel Cassidy does a good Amy Pond, and that's my way of starting off with a compliment before going on to bemoan what in my mind is a very sub-standard story. Frustratingly, as I look back on it, it starts off very well with an interesting premise, the promise of peril and a good helping of the humour-filled dialogue we love from the Eleventh Doctor and his companions. About halfway through things change for the worse, as what would anywhere else be the big reveal and confrontation arrives way too early and then descends into a very long, drawn out and frankly uncomfortable shouting match, followed by an ending that could almost have been taken off the least dusty shelf in the cliché library.

I would have loved for this story of genetically engineered humans on a high gravity mining world to have gone through a couple of good plot twists and ended up in one of those off the wall yet humanist solutions straight from the mind of the Doctor, but this plot had as many twists as a lamppost.

I apologise if I sound sarcastic. I just feel a responsibility to get my point across to those who would buy it, knowing as I do that there are far better stories out there. I'll stress again that up until halfway through, I was actually enjoying this story and thinking it was going to go somewhere, only for the second half to completely ruin that enjoyment. I don't know what went so wrong, and hope for the writers' sake that it was only such a letdown because they were running out of time or caught a cold or something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Who with big scaly critters!, 31 July 2012
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Nu-Humans (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Exciting, emotive, pacey and in keeping with all you expect from a good Matt Smith story. Modified humans on an alien planet, lots of gravity jokes and a constant rapid momentum to its inevitable conclusion.
That ubiquitous sonic screwdriver saves the day, the Ponds play their part and of course everyone gets very close to a frightening death.
The voice of the reader is excellent - she gives an amazing performance, and the sound effects support her voice to the point at which this ceases to be a simple audiobook but becomes a genuine play.
After some dissapointing outings, this is a great adventure you won't want to miss.
One really good hour of audio for your commute or just to make a quiet night more exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who & Nu-Humans, 6 Feb. 2015
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Nu-Humans (Audio CD)
Doctor Who: The Nu-Humans

Product Info.
1xCD
Running Time 79 Minutes
Author: Cavan Scott & Mark Wright
Read By : Raquel Cassidy

What's Up Doc?
The Doctor, Amy & Rory are awe-struck by their first sight of Hope Eternal, a super-earth bigger than Earth itself with heavy gravity, volcanoes & a crust loaded with mineral deposits.

But their wonder is cut short when they discover a body dumped on the ground - a huge figure with extraordinarily long arms covered in thick, purple scales, Yet the corpse is not alien: he's human, albeit unlike any human Amy & Rory have ever seen.

The Nu-Humans have adapted their genes to fit their new environment, & formed a thriving colony, but now they are facing a terrible threat, Can the Doctor find out who is killing Nu-Humans & why - before he, Amy & Rory are themselves tried for murder?

Timelord Thoughts.
Writers Cavan Scott & Mark Wright usually write interesting Doctor Who stories & while the Nu-Humans is a fast-paced tale dealing with themes of evolution & how far mankind are prepared to go with interfering in such events, it simply lacks tension & drama in the story's second half.

The Doctors meddling is well handled here as he takes centre stage throughout this audio adventure & the three leads are faithfully written to there Tv counterparts while writing duo Cavan Scott & Mark Wright weigh in several factors to there story which debates, destiny, discovering the truth & the fallout to the revelation & how those reactions may differ from how they would have been before the Doctor's intervention.

Actress, Raquel Cassidy returns to narrating duties for a third time in this Eleventh Doctor audiobook range & once again performs a clear & concise delivery to her reading & does an amazing impression of Karen Gillans - Amy Pond, although Matt Smith's - Eleventh Doctor sounds far more like David Tennants slightly cockney - Tenth Doctor but manages to capture the laid back character of Rory quite well & balances her reading with great pitch & tone to the stories darker, tense, dramatic moment's extremely well.

Overall, The Nu-Humans is a plain average Eleventh Doctor audio adventure that isn't the best or worst in this exclusive audiobook range, Cavan Scott & Mark Wright kickstart this story off with plenty of mystery & suspense that builds up to a great first half but sadly runs out of steam & starts slowly going downhill till it's underwhelming conclusion which is a shame as this writing duo are usually on the ball.

Sadly with this adventure this writing duo drop the ball on to many occasions to make this standout from some of the other tighter paced adventures in this exclusive Eleventh Doctor audiobook series & can only be viewed as a missed opportunity.

Timelord Rating.
6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Formulaic but one of the more decent recent audio adventures, 9 Dec. 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Nu-Humans (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Since the success of NuWho turned the Doctor's audio adventures from a cottage industry by devotees to a production line run by corporate executives there have been more bad `original' audio adventures than good, with the feeling all too often that the BBC are raking over the coals of rejected story pitches for the TV show rather than anything more interesting. While The Nu-Humans doesn't entirely dispel that suspicion, it is one of the better recent efforts thanks to an ingenious premise, albeit one that isn't always developed in an especially interesting way: it's the perennial Doctor and companions arrive on alien planet, find dead aliens, are suspected of the murder and uncover a conspiracy while trying to prove their innocence model that has been the default mode for many of the less memorable stories since the William Hartnell days. But it does have that interesting setup going for it - a mining colony where humans have been genetically bio-engineered to adapt to the more hostile attributes of the planet. It's an idea that's clearly been given more thought than the plotting, but it's good enough to carry the story though it's a shame it can't think of a better finale that ending with a heavy amount of expositionary dialogue. It's certainly less disposable than many of the recent CD stories, and Raquel Cassidy's reading is fairly successful - she does a great Amy Pond but a less impressive Doctor - but it remains an inessential outing more for the diehard fans who have to have everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far more than human, 22 July 2012
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Nu-Humans (Audio CD)
A Doctor Who talking book, which tells a story featuing the Eleventh Doctor - plus Amy and Rory - which has never before been presented in any other format.

It runs for seventy minutes [approx] and is basically one long episode, the only breaks on the cd being the usual cd chapter ones.

Very minimal sleeve notes give copyright details and credits and advertise other bbc Doctor Who product.

The story is read by Raquel Cassidy, who appeared in the recent Doctor Who TV story 'the Rebel Flesh/The Almost People.'

It sees the TARDIS land on the planet of Hope Eternal. A large world with heavy gravity. And soon enough, they find a dead body.

There's a colony here. And the inhabitants are Nu-humans. Their genes have been adapted to fit their environment.

But who is killing them and why? Can the Doctor find out? And can he save the Ponds, who find themselves in terrible danger?

There's a lot to like about this from the off. The nature of the planet is very interesting and also well described. That plus good sound design makes it a very convincingly alien place.

The length of the story is just right as well. It means it unfolds at a decent pace. Never too hurried or too leisurely, but one that allows for a good amount of absorbing detail to be presented. It's a story that's very easy to get into.

Raquel Cassidy has a very good reading voice. Her version of the Doctor's voice does take a little getting used to. And a lot of the supporting characters - because of the way that they are - have very strange voices, but you do get used to these after a while.

Ultimately it's not the most groundbreaking of stories but it's quite original and it really is a very absorbing listen for the most part as a result. One of the best in this range and well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the finest example of a Dr Who story, 3 Jan. 2013
By 
Amazoniac (Norwich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Nu-Humans (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If I were a collector of Dr Who CDs I suppose I would have to buy this one to make up a set, but if you are only an occasional Dr Who CD buyer, then I think you should look elsewhere.
The basic idea behind this story is pretty good - even if the concepts involved are a little long in the tooth these days - so I was looking forward to a "cracking" story.
Sadly, I was disappointed. It is a very average quality CD of a very average quality story. The acting isn't going to win any awards, and my own reaction was to reach for any number of far better Dr Who CDs in my ever growing collection, and listen to one of them to remind me of how good these stories can really be.
Sorry to sound negative - I love the whole Dr Who thing, and have done since episode 1, which I saw as a small and goggle eyed child!
I'm sure the next one will be better....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rory, Amy and the Doctor on alien planett, what's not to like!, 30 July 2012
By 
Jo Bennie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Nu-Humans (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
An entertaining exlusive audio adventure featuring Amy, Rory and Matt Smith's 11th Doctor. The trio arrive on Hope Eternal, a planet slightly larger than Earth with much stronger gravity. They find themselves under attack from above, unfriendly winged creatures patrol the skies. They are rescued by a heavy set biped named Trevor who Rory unintentionally manages to insult and offend. Trevor is a genetically enhanced human, a species who call themselves Nu Humans. They are a future human attempt to find an alternative to terraforming planets unsuitable for humans, instead adapting the humans to their environment. With Amy's sharp mind, the endearing and entertaining relationship between her and Rory, and the Doctor's ability to find trouble anywhere, we are rapidly pitched into a fast paced adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but voice acting a little monotone, 16 Nov. 2012
By 
Chris F (North West UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Nu-Humans (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My 10 year old loved this story. I did wonder if an audio book would be the sort of thing that would hold her attention for the duration but she would patiently plug her headphones into a laptop and sit there listening to the book for extended periods.

She said that the plot is "quite good" and "exciting" and agreed that it was as good as one of the better TV episodes.

The only negative comment she made was that the voice acting, whilst good, made it difficult to tell which character was speaking if it was not made clear in advance.

Despite this I would heartily recommend this audio book for any Dr Who fans; overall my daughter very much enjoyed it and it was a pleasure to see a laptop being used for something other than watching YouTube or playing games!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Echoes of the Troughton Era, 22 Aug. 2012
By 
S. Porter (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Nu-Humans (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Nu-Humans is definitely one of the better audio offering from the BBC. Perhaps it's because I'm revisiting the 60's classics on audio and DVD, but there are moments that manage to echo elements from Patrick Troughton's lost era, the dreary quarry setting, the playfulness of the TARDIS crew, the isolated base and the mysterious threat (I could almost see the 2nd Doctor, Jamie and Victoria when I listened). The story is related well by Raquel Cassidy who manages to capture the characters of the Doctor, Amy and Rory fairly successfully. Whilst the story itself is rarely surprising, it steams along and remains engaging right up until the end. For once, a decent audio story from the BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Neither good nor bad. Maybe for Who fans only?, 21 Oct. 2012
By 
Mike Renshaw (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Nu-Humans (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The voice artist (Raquel Cassidy) is very talented, and adds a fresh perspective to the story (this is the first female narrator for Doctor Who audio books that I've read/heard).

The story starts off well, and the premise of the humans who genetically adapt to differing conditions while not new is well used. However it sagged a little towards the middle, and by the end (almost 90 minutes later) I'd grown a little disinterested.

It's an average story, not the best but given a quick hit by the voice characterisation but then, for me, went downhill quite quickly.

It's okay, but there are better out there unfortunately. If I had to sum up in one word: Meh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Nu-Humans
Doctor Who: The Nu-Humans by Mark Wright (Audio CD - 5 July 2012)
£10.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Doctor Who: The Art Of Death
Doctor Who: The Art Of Death by James Goss (Audio CD - 5 Jan. 2012)
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4)   
Buy new£10.20
In stock

Doctor Who: Sleepers In The Dust
Doctor Who: Sleepers In The Dust by Darren Jones (Audio CD - 1 Nov. 2012)
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7)   
Buy new£9.25
In stock

Doctor Who: Darkstar Academy (BBC Audio)
Doctor Who: Darkstar Academy (BBC Audio) by Mark Morris (Audio CD - 8 Mar. 2012)
3.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7)   
Buy new£7.07
In stock