Customer Reviews


502 Reviews
5 star:
 (221)
4 star:
 (100)
3 star:
 (88)
2 star:
 (60)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patricia Cornwell Back to her Best
This is a captivating novel, arriving earlier than expected and disrupting sleep pattern. The reason is that it keeps the suspense and interest flowing throughout. Wanting to know the next point of thrilling tension locks the reader in. Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta is right back into the heady drama of investigative forensic science. A mysterious e-mail and video...
Published on 19 Oct 2012 by ACB(swansea)

versus
32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Same old same old.....
I was hoping that Ms Cornwell had broken away from the template she has adhered to for the last few books. Employee betrays trust placed in them by Scarpetta. Lucy and other family members keep secrets from Scarpetta. Marino betrays Scarpetta. Animal interest, this time Shaw rather than Sock. I really do not need another blow by blow floor tile by floor tile description...
Published 23 months ago by Casper


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Same old same old....., 28 Nov 2012
By 
Casper (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
I was hoping that Ms Cornwell had broken away from the template she has adhered to for the last few books. Employee betrays trust placed in them by Scarpetta. Lucy and other family members keep secrets from Scarpetta. Marino betrays Scarpetta. Animal interest, this time Shaw rather than Sock. I really do not need another blow by blow floor tile by floor tile description of the Scarpetta HQ building either. I've read all Cornwells' other books and I'm afraid this will probably be the last, unless something changes. Sorry but this was predictable and tedious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The End is Nigh!, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read all the Cornwell books and thoroughly enjoyed them until about 3 books ago. I agree the another reviewer, and will not be giving away the plot - the angst did it. If Ms Cornwell wants to write a book about a paranoid middle aged woman then she should do it and not ruin our enjoyment of Kay Scarpetta and her life. Not sure if i will ever be going back to Ms Cornwell unless she gets back to basics, lots of bones, lots of intrigue, lots of Lucy and Marino and less of the 'does my bottom look big in this stuff'. I do enough of that myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who Cares Anymore, 13 Dec 2012
I used to love Kay Scarpetta novels but those days, I fear, are long gone. There is no doubt that Patricia Cornwall can write, but I no longer feel she is a storyteller. However, my review may be tainted by the fact that I can no longer find a character in the book to either like or care about. They are all totally non-sympathetic. I found myself thinking "who cares about these people, they're all getting on my nerves" so regardless of whether or not the story is any good, and it is ok, I just didn't care. I've been buying these books out of some sort of habit or loyalty to the earlier stories, I will stop now. If Kay Scarpetta were a real person and I ever met, I'm sure I couldn't spend longer than 10 minutes in her company without wanting to slap her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better read than listened to..., 4 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bone Bed (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This excellent package of 10 cd's from Patricia Cornwell is appetising and offers so much...except for the droning sound of the American voice that reads it. My wife walked in the room and summarised things perfectly by asking whether they had used a computer generated voice? I love American voices, but this lady is not a good example! The voice is probably very good if you are American, which is of course the big market, but for the Brit's this is a mistake.

So, the content is barely heard for the accent, but what was heard was very good; but by disk 2, I was pulling my hair out.

I persisted to give a fair review but every single disk is tarnished by the same lack of enthusiasm. The voice has very little emotion and made the experience a tiresome one.

I am sure that this would be a great book to pick up and read, but one of the most dissapointing audiobooks that I have ever listened to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not s good as expected, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To be honest I have not particulrly enjoyed her last few books and with this one I still never felr particularly riveted. If I had been at home rather than holiday I might have abandoned it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patricia Cornwell Back to her Best, 19 Oct 2012
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a captivating novel, arriving earlier than expected and disrupting sleep pattern. The reason is that it keeps the suspense and interest flowing throughout. Wanting to know the next point of thrilling tension locks the reader in. Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta is right back into the heady drama of investigative forensic science. A mysterious e-mail and video arrive taunting her to examine the case of a palaeontologist who is missing and later found dead in Alberta after studying a dinosaur bed of bones. Kay finds this is just a link with other sinister and macabre murders that point to a relentless killer. The details of the discovery and circumstances of the fatalities are for Kay to find out. These challenges are not without danger. They take her on her many travels. Resolving the mysteries the bodies that are found in such odd situations (attached to a turtle, pulled out of rivers), puts Kay onto the scent of something more sinister.

Meanwhile, partner Marino seems to have resorted to an alcoholic relapse of bizarre vodka drinking whilst Kay's husband, Benton, gives out signals he may have made a new aquaintance. Niece Lucy continues with her data skills but is behaving oddly; puzzled, keeping secrets from her aunt and talking in an uncharacteristic way. Is there something amiss? Where has she acquired an expensive piece of jewellry from? These all add to the relentless exploration of the main protagonist's pursuit of the truth, adding to the narrative. Kay turns to an old psychologist friend, Anna Zenna, for support in her troubles. Who is the villain and why?

This is a compelling book and difficult to put down. It keeps the momentum and pace running at speed from the opening. I enjoyed her last novel but this is a step-up to Scarpetta and hence Patricia Cornwell towards their best. A joy to read and difficult not to award top marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Last one for me, 5 Dec 2012
By 
Dave (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Bone Bed (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With apologies to all Patricia Cornwell fans I did not enjoy this at all. This is one in a series of Kay Scarpetta books. Scarpetta is supposed to be a forensic genius but there was not a lot of that genius on show in this near 11 hour audio book.

The story was padded out with over blown flowery descriptions of nearly everything that it was possible to mention. At one point in the book there was a remark that a picture is worth a thousand words. I am sure Ms Cornwell believes that and wrote many thousands of unnecessary words in this audio book.

There was no direction to the plot and it seemed secondary to the ups and downs of the relationships between the main characters. Finally with the last CD of ten just about to end the murderer was revealed. This was not by any detective or forensic work but by an improbable set of circumstances set up by Scarpetta's incredible niece who just happens to be brilliant, owns a estate and mansion, a twin rotor helicopter, rides Harley Davidsons and also happens to have a few Italian supercars on hand and is a lesbian. After this improbable ruse the story just then fizzled out and I then decided that this was the last Patricia Cornwell for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cornwell takes the scenic route at 10mph to nowhere in particular, 26 Feb 2013
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bone Bed (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
More recently in the news for the mystery of her disappearing fortune (she claims her manager mismanaged it, he claims she can't stop spending it), there's the feeling of taking a trip to the bank to top up her account before the credit card bill arrives about Patricia Cornwell's latest Kay Scarpetta novel. Sure, she talks to you on the drive, but rather than spinning an intriguing yarn that leaves you wondering what will happen next or how its cast of characters will be affected by events she seems more interested in telling you about the places she's visited and getting sidetracked by more technical details than you really need to hear. And boy does she take the scenic route, so much so that you wonder if she really knows where she's going or if she's just doggedly keeping on driving in the hope that sooner or later she'll come to a sign that'll point her in the right direction.

The reason Hollywood has yet to get round to her heroine despite her prolific output and huge readership is the same reason that makes her novels less than gripping affairs for casual readers - the plots are very thin and the books feel padded out with diversions and observations that feel either self-indulgent or just designed to bump up the page count: get rid of the padding and there's not that much left. And, as her fame and sales grew, any chance of editing out all the dead wood or a publisher tactfully suggesting that the manuscript could stand some revisions before publication has long gone. The end result has too often been a flabby soap opera about an increasingly uninteresting heroine whose hold on the reader's affections is probably more historic than down to anything newly put on the page: without investing in the earlier books when the character wasn't quite so uninvolving it's doubtful you'd stick with her. That The Bone Bed is a very clumsily plotted book doesn't help, feeling a bit of a grab bag of randomly thrown together ideas that are never convincingly woven together and all too often stopped dead in their tracks so Cornwell can trot out her research at occasionally agonising length: she doesn't really do brevity anymore. The result strains the patience all too often, making this one for the dogged Scarpetta completist who's grateful for another fix - and even some of them may feel they're just getting Methadone instead of the good stuff.

Where the very first Cornwell audiobooks released were abridged versions read by Elizabeth McGovern, AudioGo's 10 CD set is an unabridged reading by Lorelei King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Audio Book is too long at almost 11 hours - complete overkill, 19 Jan 2013
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bone Bed (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My review is for the Bone Bed audio book/CD compilation.

10 x CDs.
running time approx. 11 hours.
narrated by Lorelli King.

An 11 hour audio compliation for one novel, and not a good one at that, is total overkill. Perhaps a few different voices, more than one narrator, would have helped. Lorelli King is so robotic, and her accent so strange, it was almost unbearable listening to her. The packaging is exceptional and the standard of production throughout the audio box set is quality all the way and that's why I've given a 3* review. I have little else to say but I'll give my impression of the story.

I ordered Bone Bed because of all the 4 and 5* reviews claiming how good it is, how Cornwell is back on form and Scarpetta has returned to her former glorious self. So disappointed. There's nothing unqiue, original or fresh in Bone Bed. It's another weak plot by Cornwell featuring a paranoid Scarpetta who has undergone a personality makeover and acquired street wise dialogue. Everyone hates her, she trusts nobody and the world is out to prove her wrong. There's the usual body count as people predictably go missing all over the place.

What saves Bone Bed from total eclipse? Once the human remains analysis begins Cornwell handles those elements so well she rescues the story. Cornwell is in her element when it comes to the science and gloriously gory scenes from the laboratory. Her writing is never better than when her character's are slicing and dicing. Unfortunately, if it wasn't for the forensic background running throughout Bone Bed there wouldn't be a great deal left. I'd guessed what was going to happen almost a quarter of the way through. Follow the plot from the last five Scarpetta novels to arrive at an almost identical conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bogged down in angst, 5 Dec 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Letchworth Garden City, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Bone Bed (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I normally like the Kay Scarpetta books by Patricia Cornwell but as of late they have been too top heavy in personalised angst that in my opinion has begun to interfere with the main story and in this book it goes way over the top and really becomes the story. The actual murder business and the science of it all was as always first class but let down by the rest of the interpersonal mayhem between Scarpetta and the FBI/Defence lawyers etc etc etc. The tortuous interpersonal bickering went on and on and for me it became all too tedious and I longed for the simpler earlier books where the hunt (scientific) was always the no 1 priority. A poor ending and the culprit is only revealed briefly at the end. A tad disappointing all round. Come on Cornwell, let Kay, Lucy and Marino settle in a job where they are not the instant enemies of the FBI CIA Police or each other and get down to solving a crime by their intellect and make the next books less reliant on interpersonal relationships which have now become the tail wagging the dog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bone Bed
The Bone Bed by Patricia Cornwell (Audio CD - 25 Oct 2012)
Used & New from: £4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews