Customer Reviews


553 Reviews
5 star:
 (252)
4 star:
 (109)
3 star:
 (92)
2 star:
 (63)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patricia Cornwell Back to her Best
This is a captivating novel, arriving earlier than expected and disrupting sleep pattern. The reason is that it keeps the suspense and interest flowing throughout. Wanting to know the next point of thrilling tension locks the reader in. Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta is right back into the heady drama of investigative forensic science. A mysterious e-mail and video...
Published on 19 Oct. 2012 by ACB(swansea)

versus
33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Same old same old.....
I was hoping that Ms Cornwell had broken away from the template she has adhered to for the last few books. Employee betrays trust placed in them by Scarpetta. Lucy and other family members keep secrets from Scarpetta. Marino betrays Scarpetta. Animal interest, this time Shaw rather than Sock. I really do not need another blow by blow floor tile by floor tile description...
Published on 28 Nov. 2012 by Casper


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Same old same old....., 28 Nov. 2012
By 
Casper (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
I was hoping that Ms Cornwell had broken away from the template she has adhered to for the last few books. Employee betrays trust placed in them by Scarpetta. Lucy and other family members keep secrets from Scarpetta. Marino betrays Scarpetta. Animal interest, this time Shaw rather than Sock. I really do not need another blow by blow floor tile by floor tile description of the Scarpetta HQ building either. I've read all Cornwells' other books and I'm afraid this will probably be the last, unless something changes. Sorry but this was predictable and tedious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The End is Nigh!, 18 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read all the Cornwell books and thoroughly enjoyed them until about 3 books ago. I agree the another reviewer, and will not be giving away the plot - the angst did it. If Ms Cornwell wants to write a book about a paranoid middle aged woman then she should do it and not ruin our enjoyment of Kay Scarpetta and her life. Not sure if i will ever be going back to Ms Cornwell unless she gets back to basics, lots of bones, lots of intrigue, lots of Lucy and Marino and less of the 'does my bottom look big in this stuff'. I do enough of that myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better read than listened to..., 4 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bone Bed (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This excellent package of 10 cd's from Patricia Cornwell is appetising and offers so much...except for the droning sound of the American voice that reads it. My wife walked in the room and summarised things perfectly by asking whether they had used a computer generated voice? I love American voices, but this lady is not a good example! The voice is probably very good if you are American, which is of course the big market, but for the Brit's this is a mistake.

So, the content is barely heard for the accent, but what was heard was very good; but by disk 2, I was pulling my hair out.

I persisted to give a fair review but every single disk is tarnished by the same lack of enthusiasm. The voice has very little emotion and made the experience a tiresome one.

I am sure that this would be a great book to pick up and read, but one of the most dissapointing audiobooks that I have ever listened to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not s good as expected, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To be honest I have not particulrly enjoyed her last few books and with this one I still never felr particularly riveted. If I had been at home rather than holiday I might have abandoned it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who Cares Anymore, 13 Dec. 2012
I used to love Kay Scarpetta novels but those days, I fear, are long gone. There is no doubt that Patricia Cornwall can write, but I no longer feel she is a storyteller. However, my review may be tainted by the fact that I can no longer find a character in the book to either like or care about. They are all totally non-sympathetic. I found myself thinking "who cares about these people, they're all getting on my nerves" so regardless of whether or not the story is any good, and it is ok, I just didn't care. I've been buying these books out of some sort of habit or loyalty to the earlier stories, I will stop now. If Kay Scarpetta were a real person and I ever met, I'm sure I couldn't spend longer than 10 minutes in her company without wanting to slap her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patricia Cornwell Back to her Best, 19 Oct. 2012
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a captivating novel, arriving earlier than expected and disrupting sleep pattern. The reason is that it keeps the suspense and interest flowing throughout. Wanting to know the next point of thrilling tension locks the reader in. Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta is right back into the heady drama of investigative forensic science. A mysterious e-mail and video arrive taunting her to examine the case of a palaeontologist who is missing and later found dead in Alberta after studying a dinosaur bed of bones. Kay finds this is just a link with other sinister and macabre murders that point to a relentless killer. The details of the discovery and circumstances of the fatalities are for Kay to find out. These challenges are not without danger. They take her on her many travels. Resolving the mysteries the bodies that are found in such odd situations (attached to a turtle, pulled out of rivers), puts Kay onto the scent of something more sinister.

Meanwhile, partner Marino seems to have resorted to an alcoholic relapse of bizarre vodka drinking whilst Kay's husband, Benton, gives out signals he may have made a new aquaintance. Niece Lucy continues with her data skills but is behaving oddly; puzzled, keeping secrets from her aunt and talking in an uncharacteristic way. Is there something amiss? Where has she acquired an expensive piece of jewellry from? These all add to the relentless exploration of the main protagonist's pursuit of the truth, adding to the narrative. Kay turns to an old psychologist friend, Anna Zenna, for support in her troubles. Who is the villain and why?

This is a compelling book and difficult to put down. It keeps the momentum and pace running at speed from the opening. I enjoyed her last novel but this is a step-up to Scarpetta and hence Patricia Cornwell towards their best. A joy to read and difficult not to award top marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Last one for me, 5 Dec. 2012
By 
Dave (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Bone Bed (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With apologies to all Patricia Cornwell fans I did not enjoy this at all. This is one in a series of Kay Scarpetta books. Scarpetta is supposed to be a forensic genius but there was not a lot of that genius on show in this near 11 hour audio book.

The story was padded out with over blown flowery descriptions of nearly everything that it was possible to mention. At one point in the book there was a remark that a picture is worth a thousand words. I am sure Ms Cornwell believes that and wrote many thousands of unnecessary words in this audio book.

There was no direction to the plot and it seemed secondary to the ups and downs of the relationships between the main characters. Finally with the last CD of ten just about to end the murderer was revealed. This was not by any detective or forensic work but by an improbable set of circumstances set up by Scarpetta's incredible niece who just happens to be brilliant, owns a estate and mansion, a twin rotor helicopter, rides Harley Davidsons and also happens to have a few Italian supercars on hand and is a lesbian. After this improbable ruse the story just then fizzled out and I then decided that this was the last Patricia Cornwell for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A GALLOPING CASE OF TOO MUCH INFORMATION, 23 Oct. 2013
By 
Red Rock Bookworm (St. George Utah USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Okay. I should have known better! Patricia Cornwell is known for her meticulous detail in her writing and for her in-depth accuracy and detail in every subject she addresses - be it a leatherback sea turtle or the autopsy and forensics methods utilized in her lab.

Her latest Kay Scarpetta offering, BONE BED contains a mind-numbing amount of non-essential information that I really could have done without. The book did not require all those details, details, details that had little or nothing to do with the multiple story lines. There was more than enough going on with the disappearances of (1) a female paleontologist, (2) the wife of a wealthy industrialist, as well as (3) the unidentified body found anchored in Massachusetts Bay. Added to these puzzles were the peculiar behavior of Kay's niece Lucy, the latest in a plethora of problems facing her lead investigator Pete Marino, the obsessive "stalker" enamored with her husband Benton Wesley, not to mention Kay's own attraction to her new deputy Dr. Luke Zenner.

The fact is there was just so much going on in the story that all of the extraneous information provided nothing more than a mind boggling distraction. By the time the identity of the perpetrator was finally revealed I could barely remember who he was and how he figured into the story.

Maybe Ms. Cornwell needs to be reminded that once in a while you can give your readers TOO MUCH of a good thing and that restraint in writing can be viewed as a positive attribute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars beware contains spoilers, 4 May 2013
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bone Bed (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the 20th outing for Cornwell's character Kay Scarpetta.

.
Please note that this review WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS - read on at your own risk.

.
There is an incredible amount of detail in the story - detail upon detail upon detail upon detail - so much so that, at times, it is like wading through thick mud. You will find you are making little headway and then all of a sudden you are galloping along at full tilt and the nag you are on has definitely been taking some highly potent banned substances.

The murder takes place early on in the book and is then seemingly forgotten in the plethora of detail and technicalities. It is only as she approached the last chapters that Ms Cornwell seems to have realised that there was a murder to solve - and here we get the old Agatha Christie favourite of "X - the unknown" - a character that has not, or in this case has barely, been mentioned before and has no visible link to the crime other than the author laying the blame with them.

In fact the only way that Ms Cornwell can bring the killer into the story is when he kidnaps Scarpetta her from a car park. I was suddenly filled with the overwhelming urge to shout "oh come on!" for a couple of reasons:

1. The character had appeared previously, but only in passing and there was no indication anywhere in the book that he had anything to do with the murders in any way.

2. When the killer was revealed I was forced to skim back in the story to find out who it was and where he came in. This is because the mention of his name was merely in passing and, again, there was no indication that he was a character of interest - he was literally nothing more than an extra, someone in the background of a single scene and has a tiny speaking role in another - and that requirement to look him up to see who he was could have been overcome by a summary paragraph or two at the end in the tedious Scarpetta makes pizza scene.

I'll be honest I like murder mysteries because I like to see if I can work out "who-done-it" before the author reveals it, but here there is no opportunity to do that because of the lack of indication as to the identity of the murderer.

The end of her rival for Benton had me wondering about the genius of the killer and how he had come up with a form of transport which would let him be in two places almost simultaneously.

How could he be kidnapping Scarpetta and be killing Douglas Burke at the same time - it can't be done because Douglas speaks to Scarpetta face to face only a minute or two before she (Scarpetta) arrives at the nursing home - she spends a couple of minutes talking to someone there and then leaves - he (the killer) kidnaps Scarpetta from that car park and takes her in her own vehicle on the LONG drive to the murder site - and at some point in this brief time he kidnaps Douglas and lures her into the kill room and disposes of her and gets back in time to kidnap Scarpetta. He must have been supersonic.

According to Scarpetta Douglas must have gone to the kill site before the killer left to see his mother - except that Ms Cornwell had already said that Scarpetta passed the killer as she was arriving at the nursing home and he was leaving. She had only just arrived so the timing is impossible.

Also Burke was all against Marino laying the murder at his door and then suddenly she was all against the original suspect - why the change? It's not explained and it seems very false - just an excuse to get rid of a character.

The biggest problem, however, is the development (or more correctly reverse-development) of the Kay Scarpetta character.

It has become more obvious over the last few books that Scarpetta is a Mary-Sue type character, but as I was making notes for this review I realised something else had happened.

Kay Scarpetta is now completely conceited, arrogant and self-absorbed - everything that happens either happens to Kay or because of Kay. Here her mind is full of mistrust and paranoia; and rather than the intense work orientated Kay with the ability to empathise with the living as well as the dead she is hard and unfeeling - not even an injured creature can rouse the slightest emotion.

She doesn't trust her own employees to perform the tasks that they are trained for and they must be told what to do and when by her. Only she can perform the autopsies and anyone disobeying would be made to understand her anger and their own lowly position in her scheme of life. As far as work goes she is utilitarian and domineering; performing aggressively when angry or upset.

Her arrogance doesn't just show in her `I'm the best at everything attitude', but it shows in her behaviour towards the others who she obviously perceives to be beneath her and towards anyone who may hold sway over her - such as the criminal court. Scarpetta is subpoenaed to appear at a given time and decides that she will turn up when she feels like it. Then because she is subject to a fine by the court for her deliberate insult (most people in her place would have been lucky not to be held in contempt) she excuses the punishment by deciding that there had to be something going on between the defence lawyer and the judge. Just another day in the Scarpetta conspiracy filled, persecution complex life.

Oh yes, the world revolves around Kay Scarpetta - men (young and old) want her - they idolise her, they desire her (how old is she supposed to be now?); women want to be her or to destroy her - to usurp her position, to undermine her, to steal her husband, and so on. She is always the victim.

She is only interested in other people as her conquests or her enemies. In fact, it would appear that, even her beloved Benton is barely tolerated and niece Lucy is not to be trusted. Midlife crisis anyone?

She has become a bully and takes pleasure in demeaning others, especially for what she perceives to be betrayals or personal affronts; both of which are met with the demeaning and destruction of the transgressor for her own self-gratification. It is here where her lack of empathy shows at its greatest form.

Her true interest, however, is in the "game" - the murder.

It has become apparent that the Kay Scarpetta character is a psychopath.

Benton seems to spend as much time away from her as possible and it would appear that he has become somewhat downtrodden and definitely not the strong FBI agent that he used to be.

Lucy is almost as arrogant as her auntie Kay - which is a little strange. Don't get me wrong she's always been an annoyingly arrogant and bratty character, it's just that I used to see it as the other way round - Lucy worse than her aunt.

Even Marino, the hard as nails ex-cop, has become an even more unpleasant character. There were times during a seemingly never ending conversation between Scarpetta and him that I wanted to tell them both to shut up. Worse is the fact he is now a racist, anti-Semite and general bigot to go on top of the other sins he has committed in the previous couple of stories.

This was not a return to the "original Scarpetta" as the bumph states but the further degeneration of a character that I once liked.

Sadly I will probably try the next one as Scarpetta has been a feature of my reading life for such a long time; it is just a shame that she is not the Kay of old but an unpleasantness that I hope will change for the better rather than continue this decline into psychopathy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cornwell takes the scenic route at 10mph to nowhere in particular, 26 Feb. 2013
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bone Bed (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
More recently in the news for the mystery of her disappearing fortune (she claims her manager mismanaged it, he claims she can't stop spending it), there's the feeling of taking a trip to the bank to top up her account before the credit card bill arrives about Patricia Cornwell's latest Kay Scarpetta novel. Sure, she talks to you on the drive, but rather than spinning an intriguing yarn that leaves you wondering what will happen next or how its cast of characters will be affected by events she seems more interested in telling you about the places she's visited and getting sidetracked by more technical details than you really need to hear. And boy does she take the scenic route, so much so that you wonder if she really knows where she's going or if she's just doggedly keeping on driving in the hope that sooner or later she'll come to a sign that'll point her in the right direction.

The reason Hollywood has yet to get round to her heroine despite her prolific output and huge readership is the same reason that makes her novels less than gripping affairs for casual readers - the plots are very thin and the books feel padded out with diversions and observations that feel either self-indulgent or just designed to bump up the page count: get rid of the padding and there's not that much left. And, as her fame and sales grew, any chance of editing out all the dead wood or a publisher tactfully suggesting that the manuscript could stand some revisions before publication has long gone. The end result has too often been a flabby soap opera about an increasingly uninteresting heroine whose hold on the reader's affections is probably more historic than down to anything newly put on the page: without investing in the earlier books when the character wasn't quite so uninvolving it's doubtful you'd stick with her. That The Bone Bed is a very clumsily plotted book doesn't help, feeling a bit of a grab bag of randomly thrown together ideas that are never convincingly woven together and all too often stopped dead in their tracks so Cornwell can trot out her research at occasionally agonising length: she doesn't really do brevity anymore. The result strains the patience all too often, making this one for the dogged Scarpetta completist who's grateful for another fix - and even some of them may feel they're just getting Methadone instead of the good stuff.

Where the very first Cornwell audiobooks released were abridged versions read by Elizabeth McGovern, AudioGo's 10 CD set is an unabridged reading by Lorelei King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bone Bed
The Bone Bed by Patricia Cornwell (Audio CD - 25 Oct. 2012)
Used & New from: £1.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews