Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh to be as erudite as Tom... I know a few people who deserve letters like these!, 30 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Wrigglesworth's Open Letters Series 1 (Audio CD)
Last year, BBC Radio 4 continued in its fine tradition of comedy by introducing us to Tom Wrigglesworth and his letters. The premise was simple and effective; each week he would read a letter that he had apparently sent to various representatives of specific service industries. These were for estate agents, banks, public utilities and wheel clampers.

There have been many topic-based stand up shows on BBC Radio. The vast majority of these intersperse the comedy monologue with sketches and interaction with the audience. Jason Byrne's show on Radio 2 is an example of how to do that really well.

Tom's approach is different - it is almost entirely one long monologue delivered by Tom. A structure like this in lesser hands can get dull very quickly. However, the essay is structured in such a way that it is both captivating, entertaining, and very VERY funny.

Each essay would include personal examples of grief that he or his close friends had experienced, and suggestions about what could be done. My particular favourite was regarding an encounter with a wheel clamper, and the karma that was delivered unto the boss.

He would also read the responses that he had received from fake letters he had sent out to various councils, letting agencies and the like. These were supposedly sent by an elderly relative, under pretext such as parking at an expired parking meter, but not receiving a ticket, so "could they send me the fine?" Guess how many councils told her not to worry about it? The answer, as delivered by Tom, was simultaneously depressing and hilarious!

I would thoroughly recommend this CD, and I hope it won't be too much longer before he returns to Radio 4 with a new series. Only this time, instead of commissioning 4 episodes, I hope that the BBC ask for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality laughs, 27 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Wrigglesworth's Open Letters Series 1 (Audio CD)
The previous reviewer provided an excellent description.
I'll just add - you'll be hard pushed to find any other such good, quality entertainment for so little money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny guy, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Wrigglesworth's Open Letters Series 1 (Audio CD)
I heard Tom's parking letter on the radio and had to get the CD so I could play it to my wife... Just fab. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Wrigglesworth's Open Letters Series 1, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Wrigglesworth's Open Letters Series 1 (Audio CD)
My wife heard an extract on the radio and asked me to get the CD. We ordered it through Amazon and it was delivered well packed within the estimated delivery date. His open letters are extremely funny and very much to the point. Though how often we will listen to them is a matter for conjecture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Wrigglesworth's Open Letters Series 1 (Audio CD)
I love an "observational ranting comedian" such as Tom. Turns everyday petty annoyances into hilarious anecdotes. I'd recommend this CD to anyone who's ever fallen foul of those pompous jobsworths who, when challenged, just quote "Company Policy" like a parrot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very witty comedien, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Wrigglesworth's Open Letters Series 1 (Audio CD)
After listening to Tom Wrigglesworth on Radio 4, I decided to buy his CD. He was very funny and I would recommend buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Funny, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Wrigglesworth's Open Letters Series 1 (Audio CD)
I bought for my husband who has the same overall views on the establishment as Tom. He really appreciates its humour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I heard this on radio 4 originally and loved it. Very funny and cant wait for his ..., 2 Aug 2014
By 
Jim Doc (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Wrigglesworth's Open Letters Series 1 (Audio CD)
I heard this on radio 4 originally and loved it. Very funny and cant wait for his telephone calls CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comic genius, 9 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Wrigglesworth's Open Letters Series 1 (Audio CD)
Great item and quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tom Wrigglesworth's Open Letters Series 1
Tom Wrigglesworth's Open Letters Series 1 by Tom Wrigglesworth (Audio CD - 23 Feb 2012)
£5.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews