Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one query
well-written = author sticking to his topic/ person he wants us to know (more) about. most shocking to me was the fact she received no funding/pension for her work from the British government.
the author repeatedly states Eileen had no other sources of income - my main question afterwards was, how did she manage to cope with this situation ; where did she get any...
Published 13 months ago by carla irene risseeuw

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Much Supposition
How very disappointing. Having studied SOE (particularly F Section) for over 40 years, I am quite surprised that this book was published, with the author seeming to have such limited knowledge and researched so little. If he hadn't been able to refer to and quote Leo Marks, Maurice Buckmaster and one or two others I don't quite know what he would have done...
Published 23 months ago by Sue


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Much Supposition, 30 Dec 2012
How very disappointing. Having studied SOE (particularly F Section) for over 40 years, I am quite surprised that this book was published, with the author seeming to have such limited knowledge and researched so little. If he hadn't been able to refer to and quote Leo Marks, Maurice Buckmaster and one or two others I don't quite know what he would have done!

£20 is rather a lot to pay, although I will say I was glad to see more photos of Didi. But no, I'm sorry - this is not a good read, nor is it a good point of reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ja good story but with many errors, 17 Mar 2013
By 
L. J. Turner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst I enjoyed reading this book I did find several errors in its text,
I found errors in RAF ranks, men were given femail ranks, at that time only the ATA had women pilots. Flight officer was the female equivalent of the male Flying Officer.
Also there were many errors though out the book such as on page 86 which were as followes, and i quote, "Exacty how was he was involved" these errors I can only put down to poor proof reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed., 5 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have bought and read all of Bernad oconnors books and this one isnt all that good.There just isnt enough information on this special lady ,should have come out in paper back as there is not to much about this lady in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one query, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
well-written = author sticking to his topic/ person he wants us to know (more) about. most shocking to me was the fact she received no funding/pension for her work from the British government.
the author repeatedly states Eileen had no other sources of income - my main question afterwards was, how did she manage to cope with this situation ; where did she get any money from to live ? before her niece started taking an interest in her ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too little about a heroine., 12 Mar 2013
By 
G. M. Nuttall (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first heard of Eileen Nearne on the TV programme Heir Hunters. So when I saw this book I was eager to learn more about her. The book is slim and only one third is about Eileen. A lot of her war records have been lost. But there is no question she was exceedingly brave. If you want to know, in great detail, how agents were prepared for their work overseas, then this is the book for you. Maybe Eileen would be relieved her secrets have gone with her to the grave, enough she is now remembered in Torquay for her courage during the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agent Rose: The True Spy Story of Eileen Nearne, Britain's Forgotten Wartime Heroine (Paperback)
very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agent Rose, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is interesting to know what went on during WWII other than that which we have been aware of - that is the ground and aerial warfare. These people were so committed and are only in recent years is this becoming public and their commitment (and in some cases sacrifices) being honoured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agent Rose, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a war agent ! a woman! it s got to be exciting. haven't
read it yet but I will let you know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a very good story. As she lived in Torquay it is very relevant to this area. Have read the story of her sister so this made
the book very intersting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book and well written. A proper page turner, thoroughly enjoyed this book, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
True heroine, inspired by her determination and bravery. A normal family with a big love for life, showing from a very
Young age their interest in the war effort and making a difference, nothing straight forward ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Agent Rose: The True Spy Story of Eileen Nearne, Britain's Forgotten Wartime Heroine
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews