Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tudor Treasure
Take a historical tour of 16th Century England through the eyes and experiences of one of the best known individuals of the Tudor era. Each place that Anne Boleyn (the unfortunate 2nd wife of King Henry VIII), would have visited is included. I was astonished at how many places! The great thing about this book, though, is the chronological organisation of each entry...
Published 18 months ago by Nimrod

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Canterbury Places
This is a wonderful idea for a book, but although previous reviewers have said "well researched" and "attention to detail", the first thing I noticed (always look for where you live) is that Mercery Lane in Canterbury is incorrectly identified as Butchery Lane in the photograph. Call me picky if you like, but that sort of thing always makes me wonder what...
Published 9 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tudor Treasure, 25 Nov. 2013
This review is from: In the Footsteps of Anne Boleyn (Hardcover)
Take a historical tour of 16th Century England through the eyes and experiences of one of the best known individuals of the Tudor era. Each place that Anne Boleyn (the unfortunate 2nd wife of King Henry VIII), would have visited is included. I was astonished at how many places! The great thing about this book, though, is the chronological organisation of each entry. Rather than presenting a piecemeal coverage of those places that Anne Boleyn would have experienced, it organises them around her life story, so there is an ongoing narrative present through the book. Having said that, things are divided up into helpful sections, for instance part 1. Early Years, Part 2. The Courting Years, and so on. AB's time spent during her youth in France - and though much of this has, by necessity, to be speculative, is also covered.

Even though a good many of the buildings are no longer as they were in AB's time, or else have completely vanished, the authors do a great job at `reconstructing' in the mind of their readers an approximation of how they would have been using historic records. Others, such as The Tower or Hever Castle are very much on the tourist map, of course, and these popular venues are treated extensively. For each site, you get notes on background and history and how the place fits in with the facts that are known of AB's life. There are over 100 photos and illustrations, with references to documents the artefacts, nearby attractions and, most importantly, visitor information so you can plan your visit. The whole book is very well designed and set out neatly and generously on the page.

It might be tempting to expect this book to deal only with a narrow, specialised area - since it is, after all, focused on the life and experiences of one person - but it goes much further than that. The short life of Anne Boleyn provides us with a snapshot of one of the most important and transforming (for good or ill) periods of English history - the Early days of the Reformation, the dissolution of monasteries and the break of the Church of England with Rome. Her life was inextricably bound up with all of this upheaval. Not only is this a must acquisition for any Anne Boleyn devotee, therefore, it is also a source of reference material for anyone interested in Tudor times.

I can't think of a better or more descriptive title: In the Footsteps of Anne Boleyn - and the authors have left no stone unturned in their quest to include every place of significance. There are touches of humour and warmth, and it is clear that the authors have a deep and abiding love of their subject. A book not only to dip into, but one to use for research, to accompany you on your journey to historic places or to plan your long-haul visits to England if you are a history-tourist coming from overseas. A modern day Tudor treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really well researched and informative, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Footsteps of Anne Boleyn (Hardcover)
This is an absorbing account of Anne Boleyn's travels in France and England during her lifetime. The book catalogues each place, gives a detailed history of what occurred there, and details about opening times etc. Uniquely, it also gives the authors' views about the sites mentioned which brings it even more to life. There are photos and maps to illustrate. Evidently a lot of research and work has gone into accuracy in this book, and it is hugely enjoyable - either to dip into or read cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must read' for all Anne Boleyn fans, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Footsteps of Anne Boleyn (Hardcover)
What a fantastic book - so enjoyed reading it.
The research that was done for this book is amazing as well as the attention to detail.
Love the idea that buildings that no longer exist made it into the book - with the authors description of what was once there you truly get a feel of the original building. This is a complete tour guide for any Anne Boleyn fan. This is a 'must read'.
Congratulations Sarah & Natalie - wishing you both every success with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book for any Tudor fan!, 28 Dec. 2013
This review is from: In the Footsteps of Anne Boleyn (Hardcover)
When I first heard that this book was going to be written I have to admit that I became rather excited. To my knowledge there has not been another book written which looks at the places that Anne Boleyn visited within her lifetime. I was eager for this book as while I know about the more well-known places such as Hever Castle where she lived as a young child and the Tower of London where she spent her final days, I did not know about the lesser known places such as palaces within France that she would have visited during her time as a Lady in Waiting to Queen Claude of France or about the manors and houses that Anne visited during royal progresses.

I am happy to say that this book did not disappoint! There is such a wealth of information within this book that once I picked it up I honestly had a hard time putting it down! Sarah and Natalie give a slightly different layout of Anne Boleyn's life. Rather than writing about her life according to the different events that happened to her, the authors chart her life in regards to the different places that Anne would have lived in or visited during her years.

What I truly love about this book is the amount of information and detail that is given about each place. The reader is able to gain a wonderful insight into what the houses, places, manors etc. would have looked like in Anne Boleyn's day, where she would have slept, eaten and her happenings at each place. The authors explain why Anne Boleyn would have been at each location and approximately how long she stayed or how many visits she made. They then move on to talk about what the location looks like in modern times, if it survives, or what part of the building still stands. At the end of each location the authors provide a fantastic addition called `Visitors Information' which outlines addresses, contact details, visitor information and any other little bits and pieces vistors may need to know. This is a wonderful addition as it gives the reader valuable information if they wish to visit the site.

I also loved the maps that were included at the beginning of the book. While I have travelled to England I have not been to many parts of the country and the maps provide a wonderful addition as they help the reader plot out where each location was in both England and in Europe. There is also a Boleyn family tree included in the front of the book which allows the reader to see the other members of Anne's family.

One of my favourite additions to the book are the multitude of high quality photos, paintings, manor layouts and images of the different places that are described and detailed within the book. These are a fantastic edition as they allow the reader to not only read about each location but to also look at a picture or painting and gain an idea of what it looks like in today's times or even better what it would have looked like during Anne's life. These are fantastic images, clear and very beautiful and I have to say I spent a great deal of time studying each image and imagining Anne Boleyn walking through the gardens or halls of each location.

I believe this book is a celebration of Anne Boleyn's Life. Often books about Anne Boleyn focus on her downfall and the tragic events of her death which although important, can also be quite heavy. Sarah and Natalie's book however felt like they were celebrating Anne's life, giving the reader an insight as to what her life would have been like and the places that she would have known and visited. The wonderful thing about this book is that it gives people the information that if they wish they can follow in the footsteps of Anne Boleyn and visit places Anne would have known. The only thing that really separates the reader from Anne is the expanse of time.

I adored this book and found it a wonderful and refreshing look not only at the places Anne Boleyn visited and lived but also at her life. The only thing I think that would make this book any better is if it came in a paperback version, which would be lighter to carry around in a backpack as you are retracting the footsteps of Anne Boleyn! This book is certainly a must have for any lover of Anne Boleyn or in fact anyone interested in Tudor history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!!, 19 Sept. 2013
By 
Mrs. Rosalind A. Brennan "Roz" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Footsteps of Anne Boleyn (Hardcover)
I have been looking forward to this book since I was first able to pre order it and heard about it on the author's Facebook page. I'm not disappointed! A brilliant and extremely interesting aspect to Anne Boleyn and her life. The pictures are really good and its such an interesting read! This is a book I can read time and time again and still love it! A big thank you to the authors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic. Perfect for anyone with an interest in Anne, Tudor or Architectural history., 12 Dec. 2013
By 
James (Guildford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Footsteps of Anne Boleyn (Hardcover)
This book is absolutely fantastic, it will really take you as far into the world of Anne Boleyn as you are ever going to get. Here you learn about every Palace, Castle, Stately home, Church, Abbey etc that Anne ever visited, and with as much information as possible. Many places do not survive and have been long forgotten, but this book will really bring them back to life. It is perfect not just for those fascinated by Anne Boleyn and Tudor history in general, but also for those who love architectural history as well. Personally i think it's a great shame that something like this has not been done for more historical figures as imagine how many other long lost buildings would get brought back to life. I personally cannot wait to go exploring all these fascinating places now, and to walk in the footsteps of Anne and the Tudor court.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Canterbury Places, 17 Aug. 2014
This is a wonderful idea for a book, but although previous reviewers have said "well researched" and "attention to detail", the first thing I noticed (always look for where you live) is that Mercery Lane in Canterbury is incorrectly identified as Butchery Lane in the photograph. Call me picky if you like, but that sort of thing always makes me wonder what else the authors have got wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect companion, 12 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
‘In the Footsteps of Anne Boleyn’ is the perfect companion for those wanting to visit places linked to Henry VIII’s second wife. As well as covering the well-known locations such as The Tower of London and Hever Castle, you can also follow Anne on the royal progress she made with Henry in 1535.

For each location the authors have included its history, how it links to Anne, what remains of the place today and important visitor information. The treasure trove section is a wonderful bonus. It is fascinating to find out about items belonging to or relating to Anne that have survived, even though hardly any are on public display.

Thanks to this book, I have already had a very enjoyable trip to The Vyne, a place I never knew had links to Anne and look forward to planning many more.

By following in the footsteps of Anne, you can also follow in those of Lady Jane Grey. Jane also had links to a number of the places mentioned: Tower of London, Durham House, Sudeley Castle and Palace of Beaulieu (New Hall). The church where Jane’s mother was christened is also mentioned.

I would say that the only thing missing from this book is an index.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The next best thing to a time machine, 21 Jan. 2014
This review is from: In the Footsteps of Anne Boleyn (Hardcover)
I recommend this book to anyone interested in the life of Anne Boleyn. It is both well-written and well-researched. The authors have compiled a list of the "must-see" sites for Anne Boleyn fans. They've also put details into the history behind each place they've included. Researching the primary sources, they have brought to life the Tudor era in places that no longer look as they did at the time, allowing the visitor to recreate Anne's journey in his/her mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for Boleyn obsessives..., 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Footsteps of Anne Boleyn (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book, but strictly for Anne fanatics as it can get a little samey if you're anything other than an obsessive Boleyn fan! It has a nice photo section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In the Footsteps of Anne Boleyn
In the Footsteps of Anne Boleyn by Natalie Grueninger (Hardcover - 6 Sept. 2013)
Used & New from: £849.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews