Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brownie points amassed
Bought this as part of my daughter in laws Xmas present, she was delighted with it and I patiently wait my turn to read it
Published 18 months ago by Jill Didymus

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing
I have read four recent books by David Loades and it seems he is turning into the male Elizabeth Norton of Amberley Publishing; releasing three or so, in my opinion, lightweight books a year while the publisher ticks off from their wish list of Tudor personalities they would like written about. This is even more disappointing when you consider someone of Loades'...
Published on 5 Jun 2012 by K. J. Greenland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing, 5 Jun 2012
By 
K. J. Greenland "kevinthegerbil" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Rose (Hardcover)
I have read four recent books by David Loades and it seems he is turning into the male Elizabeth Norton of Amberley Publishing; releasing three or so, in my opinion, lightweight books a year while the publisher ticks off from their wish list of Tudor personalities they would like written about. This is even more disappointing when you consider someone of Loades' reputation.

On the one hand the book is not badly written but it does not engage you either. Loades just does enough to keep your interest. The main problem is that there is not enough known about Mary Rose to justify a biography solely about her. True, Loades describes her being a pawn played by her elder brother Henry VIII in European politics with her betrothal to Charles of Castile, later Charles V, and marriage to Louis XII of France but after her marriage to Charles Brandon, Duke of Suffolk, she takes a backseat. Charles is now the centre of the book, albeit influenced by Mary Rose in his pro-French policy. You are treated to brief family histories and Mary Rose's view on her brother's divorce from Catherine of Aragon and marriage to Anne Boleyn. Again, he just writes enough.

The last book written on Mary Rose was Maria Perry's 'Sisters to the King' which Loades dismisses as 'popular'. You would expect then that Loades would write a more scholarly effort. He hasn't really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Satisfactory Biography Of A Fascinating Tudor Princess, 20 May 2013
By 
Simon Davis (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Rose (Hardcover)
Being a lover of anything to do with Tudor England, whether it be its rich history, its fascinating characters, or the inbuilt drama that seems to go with anything Tudor, I really wanted to love this book. The Princess Mary Tudor , often mistaken for her niece of the same name was without doubt one of the acclaimed beauties of the Tudor court, best loved sister of the larger than life Henry VIII and a woman who packed alot of living into her sadly short life. David Loades biography is certainly well written and covers all the facts that we know about Mary's life. It is all there, from spoilt darling and chief jewel of her brothers court, her being the best friend of Queen Katherine of Aragon, her role as political bride for the much older French King Louis XII, her dramatic second marriage to Charles Brandon against the wishes of her unpredictable brother, through to her well documented intyense dislike for Anne Boleyn. The book certainly is well researched and informs the reader as much as is possible about Mary's life however it tended to lack that depth and examination which might have possibly told us more about Mary as a person. What was mary really like? What were her thoughts about her first marriage to Louis XII? Information of this kind about royal personages dead for many hundreds of years is of course extremely difficult to obtain from anything other than primary sources so if you are looking for in depth character analysis of Mary the individual you wont find it here. I have a particular interest in Mary's brief three month marriage to King Louis XII of France but nothing really new is raised to fill in some of the blanks about what the marriage, brief as it was, was really like for both parties involved. The book has beautiful illustrations however there is a surprising omission of any portrait of Louis XII which in itself is strange as the best known existing portrait of him is in Queen Elizabeth's collection and surely could have been reproduced here. In this field this biography does appear a bit rushed and I felt more attention to details such as this were needed to make the work more effective and complete.
Apart from this a good introduction to the life of this fascinating Princess but I do look forward to the new biography being released later this year on Mary's life titled "The Tudor Rose: Princess Mary Rose, Henry VIII's Sister" by Jennifer Kewley Draskau which hopefully will reveal some new facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brownie points amassed, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Rose (Hardcover)
Bought this as part of my daughter in laws Xmas present, she was delighted with it and I patiently wait my turn to read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I wish David Loades had properly written about the DUKE of Suffolk, 21 Jun 2012
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Rose (Hardcover)
David Loades starts with stating that royal princess are always interesting, especially in a strong personal monarchy, and it is justified having a new look who Mary Rose was.

Well, maybe but what do we learn more from this book than we aleady new? I feel nothing. Mary's five minute of fame was her three month marriage to the elderly King of France and her quick remarriage to Charles Brandon, the Duke of Suffolk. This help to cement Charles Brandon's position as what one could possibly claim the closest personal freindship with Henry VIII. Mary was from this point the royal court beauty, an ornament of the court, but of no consequence whatsoever.

Chapter by chapter the book reveals that as there are tons of information on the time, the events and ceremonies and only for good measures throwns in - as this book is on Mary - that she was there and participated. One does not learn about her real opinions, her friendships, her role as Duchess or as mother. However one does learn an awful lot about her husband, the Duke of Suffolk and his role at the court of Hernry VIII. To be very frank I wished the author would have written a proper biography on the Duke of Suffolk. Here really lies a huge gap.

All in all, I share the previous reviewer's disappointment. The book never takes off or really engages the reader. It is party boring, partly extremenly lightweight. It seems indeed quickly assembled in order to meet a publishing deadline. Foir me not worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This is a pleasant, readable biography, but suffers ..., 8 July 2014
This is a pleasant, readable biography, but suffers from a lack of detailed information about the subject. Its modest length is achieved only by an introduction describing how the Tudors took the throne from the Yorkists, and a conclusion outlining events such as the Lady Jane Grey conspiracy which occurred 20 years after Mary Rose's death. I agree with another reviewer that a new study of her husband Charles Brandon would have made for a more worthwhile book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary Rose
Mary Rose by David Loades (Hardcover - 10 May 2012)
£13.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews